LibGuides: Remote Teaching and Learning: Cultural Studies and Languages

Selected Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary source of more than 10,000 full-text journals and magazines of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is an excellent source of full-text articles in scholarly journals encompassing a wide range of disciplines including but not limited to Anthropology, Architecture, Art & Art History, Biological Sciences, Environmental Studies, History, International Relations, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Music, Peace & Conflict Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, and Sociology. *For off-campus access, choose Login and login with Google using your Bennington credentials*
*For off-campus access, choose Login and login with Google using your Bennington credentials*
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window The online version of Encyclopedia Britannica combines the authoritative content of the traditional print version, updated by contemporary scholars. It includes the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary as well as links to web sites vetted by the editors of the Britannica.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, you'll find the history of individual words—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature to film scripts and cookery books. You'll also find the present-day meaning of words.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference offers a single cross-searchable resource of over 50 titles on a variety of topics.
Ebsco E-Books This link opens in a new window This is a database of digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, as well as 3,400 publicly-accessible titles.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Articles from newspaper, magazine, business, and legal sources.
Access World News This link opens in a new window This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national or international levels. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Includes more than 80 Spanish language newspapers.
New York Times Historical (1851 - 2020) This link opens in a new window Digital version of the New York Times in print from 1851 to 2020. Note: some images are blocked due to copyright.
Biological Science This link opens in a new window This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides over 3,000 full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
Proceedings of the National Academy of the Sciences This link opens in a new window PNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, it continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and Society, Culture, and Thought.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window This resource contains citation information and author-written abstracts for 560 journals in all major fields of philosophy from 1940 to the present.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Search PsycARTICLES for full text of articles from APA journals and EPF (Educational Publishing Foundation) journals, most from 1985 to the present.
Annual Reviews of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Annual reviews of 15 social science topics: Anthropology, Clinical Psychology, Criminology, Economics, Environment and Resources, Financial Economics, Law and Social Sciences, Linguistics, Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Resources Economics, Sociology, and Science and Its Application.

Free Resources (Temporary)

JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It is now offering access to ALL collections as well as 25,000 ebooks.
Ebsco OER "Faculty Select
EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020.
Annual Reviews
To assist the many students, faculty, and researchers who are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic, effective today, Annual Reviews has made our journals available to all (without access control) through Thursday April 30, 2020.
Harvard Business Review Press E-book Collection
This ground-breaking collection includes the complete catalog of e-books published by Harvard Business Review Press. Contains 600 e-books including 400+ monographs plus newly published e-books and seminal works.
National Emergency Library
A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
more...less...
http://blog.archive.org/2020/03/24/announcing-a-national-emergency-library-to-provide-digitized-books-to-students-and-the-public/
Oxford University Press
Oxford University Press provides a number of free resources that will help you and your students experience as little disruption as possible as you move to online teaching and learning.
Drama Online with expanded content
Now through May 31, includes the Core Collection, Nick Hern Books, and the RSC Live Collection.
University of Florida
Discover free and openly available resources (OERs)
VitalSource
VitalSource and Publishers to Provide Free Access to eTextbooks to Students Affected by COVID-19 Campus Closures
RedShelf
In collaboration with the academic publishing community, RedShelf is providing students with free, convenient access to their learning materials. Students need to create a free log-in to access.
Cambridge University Press
Cambridge University Press is making higher education textbooks in HTML format free to access online during the coronavirus outbreak. Over 700 textbooks, published and currently available, on Cambridge Core are available regardless of whether textbooks were previously purchased. Free access is available until the end of May 2020.
Project MUSE
Among the publishers currently opting to make content free on Project MUSE are Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books).
Kanopy
Kanopy has put together a collection of (15 films, to start) that your campus can watch at no cost for the next 30 days (through April 12). PDF with links to the Films: http://bit.ly/KanopyFreeCOVID-19
Bloomsbury Digital Resources
Bloomsbury Digital Resources are available to institutions, free upon request, through the end of May. If you would like access to a particular collection, email library @bennington.edu and we will request access.
Cengage
Cengage is offering free unlimited access to all of its online textbooks. Students will be asked to create an account and will have a 14-day free trial (renewable at the end as long as the college is remote teaching.)
Student Access to Cengage (PDF)
Instructions for accessing free Cengage textbooks

eBooks by Language

ArtStor

One of our most significant databases, and most frequently used, ArtStor offers off-campus access with an account. To create a FREE account, you need to access the database from on-campus*. On the top right of the opening ArtStor screen is a link to "Register." Create an account and you can access from off-campus. If you have a JSTOR account, you can use those login credentials - you do not need a separate account. If you have any questions or difficulties, contact Jared Della Rocca - jdellarocca@bennington.edu.

*If you have already left campus and need access to ArtStor, contact Jared Della Rocca - jdellarocca@bennington.edu