One of our most significant databases, and most frequently used, ArtStor offers off-campus access with an account. To create a FREE account, you need to access the database from on-campus*. On the top right of the opening ArtStor screen is a link to "Register." Create an account and you can access from off-campus. If you have a JSTOR account, you can use those login credentials - you do not need a separate account. If you have any questions or difficulties, contact Jared Della Rocca - jdellarocca@bennington.edu.
*If you have already left campus and need access to ArtStor, contact Jared Della Rocca - jdellarocca@bennington.edu
Elsevier's Dictionary of Art History: French/English-English/French by 
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by
The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics is the first reference work to survey the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory.
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media by
This one-volume encyclopedia features around 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries. Thematic essays address selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art offers the most comprehensive, up-to-date information on all aspects of this fundamental area of the visual arts. This reference work provides fascinating historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
Historical Dictionary of Animation and Cartoons by 
Historical Dictionary of Film Noir by 
Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema by 
Historical Dictionary of Neoclassical Art and Architecture by 
Historical Dictionary of Surrealism by 
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph by
Compiled by an international team of over 140 contributors, this is the first Oxford Companion to deal with the subject of photography. It appears at a watershed in the medium's history, as digital imaging increasingly dominates the global photography scene.
The Oxford Companion to Western Art by
he Oxford Companion to Western Art, written by over 100 distinguished art historians and specialists, provides in-depth coverage of Western Art with entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms, combined with more modern methodologies, focused on patronage, taste, theory, and criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques.
Also available in print under call number N33 .O923 2001
The Oxford Dictionary of Art by
The Oxford Dictionary of Art is the unrivalled one-volume guide to the art of the Western world. It provides a careful balance of fact and critical appraisal, ranging across painting, sculpture, and the graphic arts from classical times to the present.
The Oxford Dictionary of Christian Art and Architecture by
This dictionary is a fascinating guide to the broad range of terms used in the study of the history of Christian art and architecture, including themes, artists, and movements. The long-awaited new edition includes entries by over a dozen expert contributors, bringing it up to date for the 21st century.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance by 
