Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for articles in a database
These are just a few of the many databases available through the Crossett Library web site. Click here to see the complete list of databases.
EBSCO Discovery Services
An amalgam of the various databases to which we subscribe, as well as our e-book and physical book collection.
EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary source of more than 10,000 full-text journals and magazines of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers full-text access to almost 2,000 journals.
Academic OneFile from Gale
Database covering social sciences, the humanities, science and technology, national news, and general interest magazines.
Omnifile Full-Text Select
Full text-only database containing a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
Try Google Scholar for more possibilities
Find a great source we don't own? Try Interlibrary Loan!
You're working through the databases, searching the Internet, or using Worldcat and come across a great resource that has the perfect title and summary. You check our catalog and our other databases and unfortunately this book/article/music score/CD-ROM/8-Track is not owned by Bennington College. Don't worry, we have a plan for these cases - you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. In our databases you can click on the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button, or by filling in the article, book, or other materials request form in Interlibrary Loan. Your item will either be scanned and e-mailed to you, sent to your ILL account, or sent to our library. You will then receive an e-mail when the item is available, and you can begin your celebratory dance. If you have never used Interlibrary Loan before to request an Interlibrary Loan, you can get information and set up an account here.
Access World News This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national or international levels. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Includes more than 80 Spanish language newspapers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowArticles from newspaper, magazine, business, and legal sources.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new windowDatabase of reproductions of every page from 1851 to 2012.
America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922 This link opens in a new windowAmerica’s Historical Newspapers offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of newspapers from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the early 20th century.