Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding books at Crossett Library and beyond
Depending on your need, you can access our catalog in one of two different ways. If you are looking for physical items (books, DVDs, CDs, scores, etc.) accessible in either Crossett Library or Jennings Music Library, you can use the following search box. Alternatively, you can leave the box blank and click search for more search options, such as limiting your search by material type (for example, books or DVDs), by location (Crossett only, nothing from Jennings Music Library) or by language.
Search the library catalog only.
You can search more broadly, using the following search box below. This search uses Ebsco Discovery Services, and contains all the physical items in our library, as well as all journals and articles that we receive through our various databases. This is a much more broad and extensive search, and can be modified to search only full-text items, specific date ranges, languages, peer-reviewed, etc.
Search the catalog, databases, journals & articles.
To find materials in other libraries, try using Worldcat. If you find a title in Worldcat that is not held by Bennington College, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the "Request Item" button. Your book will be shipped from the lending library to Crossett Library, and you will receive an e-mail when it is ready for pickup.
If you have never used Interlibrary Loan before, you need to set up an account here.
Books at Crossett Library
Global Politics by The extensively revised new edition of Global Politics provides a systematic and integrated analysis of the theory and practice of contemporary international relations. Written with outstanding clarity and drawing on an exceptionally wide range of theoretical perspectives throughout, each chapter is packed with innovative features to aid study and reinforce learning: * Full-page case studies of Global Politics in Action, the majority entirely new to this edition, look behind the headlines to illuminate major events in world affairs * Global Actor case studies consider the nature and significance of key players on the world stage, from Google to the G-20 * Focus and Debating features look closer at issues and approaches to promote critical thinking * Photographs and biographies of influential theorists introduce the people, as well as the ideas, that have shaped the subject. This second edition is fully updated to cover key developments, from the Arab Spring to the global financial crisis, and provides enhanced coverage of issues like international migration. An entirely new chapter on theory at the end of the book revisits key perspectives, and addresses deeper questions about the nature and purpose of theory in international relations.
Call Number: JZ1310 .H49 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
The Globalization of World Politics by Now in its fifth edition, this internationally successful title has been fully revised and updated in light of recent developments in world politics. New chapters on postcolonialism and poststructuralism as well as increased emphasis on the global financial crisis, forced migration, diplomacy,and religion ensure The Globalization of World Politics remains the most comprehensive introduction to International Relations available. Expert contributors provide accessible but stimulating insights into the history, theory, structures, and key issues in IR, which are ideally suited to thosecoming to the subject for the first time.
Call Number: JZ1242 .G58 2011
Publication Date: 2011-01-29
International Politics by The introductions to each section of this text set the intellectual context of the following material, surveying the major points that will be made. The readings reflect the major debate in international relations concerning the possible diminishing role of the state.
Call Number: JZ1242 .I574 2013
Publication Date: 2012-02-10
International Organization by The newly revised and updated edition of International Organization is an introduction to the study of international organizations in the field of International Relations intended for students in the discipline. It looks at the different ways in which IOs are studied and then applies these different modes to a variety of specific case studies.
Call Number: JZ1308 .B37 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-13
Rethinking World Politics by Rethinking World Politics is a major intervention into a central debate in international relations: how has globalization transformed world politics? Most work on world politics still presumes the following: in domestic affairs, individual states function as essentially unified entities, andin international affairs, stable nation-states interact with each other. In this scholarship, the state lies at the center; it is what politics is all about. However, Philip Cerny contends that recent experience suggests another process at work: "transnational neopluralism." In the old version ofpluralist theory, the state is less a cohesive and unified entity than a varyingly stable amalgam of competing and cross-cutting interest groups that surround and populate it. Cerny explains that contemporary world politics is subject to similar pressures from a wide variety of sub- andsupra-national actors, many of which are organized transnationally rather than nationally. In recent years, the ability of transnational governance bodies, NGOs, and transnational firms to shape world politics has steadily grown. Importantly, the rapidly growing transnational linkages among groupsand the emergence of increasingly influential, even powerful, cross-border interest and value groups is new. These processes are not replacing nation-states, but they are forging new transnational webs of power. States, he argues, are themselves increasingly trapped in these webs. After mapping outthe dynamics behind contemporary world politics, Cerny closes by prognosticating where this might all lead. Sweeping in its scope, Rethinking World Politics is a landmark work of international relations theory that upends much of our received wisdom about how world politics works and offers us newways to think about the forces shaping the contemporary world.
Call Number: JZ1310 .C47 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-24
The Use of Force by The Use of Force, long considered a classic in its own right, brings together enduring and influential works on the role of military power in foreign policy and international politics. Now in its seventh edition, the reader includes ten new selections to take account of key current international issues. Meticulously chosen and edited by leading scholars Robert J. Art and Kenneth N. Waltz, the selections are grouped under three headings: theories, key case studies, and contemporary issues. The first section includes essays that cover the security dilemma, terrorism, the sources of military doctrine, the nuclear revolution, and the fungibility of force. The second section includes case studies in the use of force that span the period from World War I through the war in Iraq. The final section considers issues concerning the projection of U.S. military power, the spread of biological and nuclear weapons, intervention in internal conflicts, and coping with terrorism and insurgencies. Continuing the tradition of previous editions, this fully updated reader collects the best analysis by influential thinkers on the use of force in international affairs. Contributions by: Bruce J. Allyn, Robert J. Art, James G. Blight, McGeorge Bundy, Audrey Kurth Cronin, David M. Edelstein, Benjamin H. Friedman, John Lewis Gaddis, Alexander L. George, Morton H. Halperin, Robert Jervis, Chaim Kaufmann, David Kilcullen, Gregory Koblentz, Christopher Layne, John J. Mearsheimer, Louis Morton, Michael O'Hanlon, Robert A. Pape, Paul R. Pillar, Barry R. Posen, Christopher Preble, Ehsaneh I. Sadr, Scott D. Sagan, Sir George Sansom, Harvey M. Sapolsky, Jack L. Snyder, Stephen M. Walt, Barbara F. Walter, Kenneth N. Waltz, and David Welch
Call Number: JZ1310 .U83 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-16
Deliberative Global Politics by Contending discourses underlie many of the worlds most intractable conflicts, producing misery and violence. This is especially true in the post-9/11 world. However, contending discourses can also open the way to greater dialogue in global civil society and across states and international organizations. This possibility holds even for the most murderous sorts of conflicts in deeply divided societies. In this timely and original book, John Dryzek examines major contemporary conflicts in terms of clashing discourses. Topics covered include the alleged clash of civilizations; societies divided by ethnicity, nationality, or religion; economic globalization versus resistance; plus an in-depth discussion of the 'war on terror'. Dryzek concludes by highlighting the limitations of current neoconservative and cosmopolitan approaches, arguing that only deliberative global politics offers unprecedented new possibilities for democratic engagement in the international system. This book will be of interest to students and scholars of international relations, politics, philosophy, and sociology.
Call Number: JZ1305 .D79 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-20
Online Reference Sources and E-books
Introduction to International and Global Studies by This innovative introduction to international and global studies, updated and revised in a new edition, offers instructors in the social sciences and humanities a core textbook for teaching undergraduates in this rapidly growing field. Encompassing the latest scholarship in what is a markedly interdisciplinary endeavor, Shawn Smallman and Kimberley Brown introduce key concepts, themes, and issues and then examine each in lively chapters on essential topics that include the history of globalization; economic, political, and cultural globalization; security, energy, and development; health; agriculture and food; and the environment. Within these topics, the authors explore such timely and pressing subjects as commodity chains, labor (including present-day slavery), human rights, multinational corporations, and the connections among them. New to this edition: * The latest research on debates over privacy rights and surveillance since Edward Snowden's disclosures * Updates on significant political and economic developments throughout the world, including a new case study of European Union, Icelandic, and Greek responses to the 2008 fiscal crisis * The newest information about the rise of fracking, the Fukushima nuclear disaster, the decline of the Peak Oil movement, and climate change, including the latter's effects on the Arctic and Antarctica * A dedicated website with authors' blog and a teaching tab with syllabi, class activities, and well-designed, classroom-tested resources * An updated teacher's manual available online, including sample examination questions, additional resources for each chapter, and special assistance for teaching ESL students * Updated career advice for international studies majors
Publication Date: 2015-01-05
International Relations by Today, more than ever, we are buffeted by forces that originate from beyond our shores. Whether it's war, economics, politics, or law, we live in a global world influenced by a complex landscape of international transactions. Esteemed academic Charles Jones ably provides the building blocks to understand the history of these interactions, outlining all the key actors -- from the United States and China to the IMF and Google -- and the competing theories that attempt to explainthem. Arguing that the strength of international relations lies in its contradictions -- it's not a single discipline but a fascinating mess of history, politics, economics, sociology, law, anthropology, and cultural studies -- this guide provides a lively discussion of the limitations of the field, as well as an explanation of why it is so essential. Covering globalization, conflict, history, and theory, this is the perfect primer for students of international relations, workersin an international context, and citizens across the globe.
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Divided Nations by With rapid globalization, the world is more deeply interconnected than ever before. While this has its advantages, it also brings with it systemic risks that are only just being identified and understood. Rapid urbanization, together with technological leaps, such as the Internet, mean that weare now physically and virtually closer than ever in humanity's history. We face a number of international challenges - climate change, pandemics, cyber security, and migration - which spill over national boundaries. It is becoming increasingly apparent that the UN, the IMF, the World Bank - bodies created in a very different world, more than 60 years ago - areinadequate for the task of managing such risk in the 21st century. Ian Goldin explores whether the answer is to reform the existing structures, or to consider a new and radical approach. By setting out the nature of the problems and the various approaches to global governance, Goldin highlights the challenges that we are to overcome and considers a road map for thefuture.
Publication Date: 2013-03-22
New Explorations into International Relations by Choi looks at ten widely cited empirical studies that represent research programs in international relations. His discussions address such statistical and theoretical issues as endogeneity bias, model specification error, fixed effects, theoretical predictability, outliers, normality of regression residuals, and choice of estimation techniques.
Publication Date: 2016-03-15
Inquiry, Logic, and International Politics by Through the use of logic, simulation, and empirical data, Benjamin A. Most and Harvey Starr develop and demonstrate a nuanced and more appropriate conceptualization of explanation in international relations and foreign policy in Inquiry, Logic, and International Politics. They demonstrate that a concern with the logical underpinnings of research raises a series of theoretical, conceptual, and epistemological issues that must be addressed if theory and research design are to meet the challenges of cumulation in the study of international relations (or any area of social science). The authors argue for understanding the critical, yet subtle, interplay of the elements with a research triad composed of theory, logic, and method.
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Global Governance, Global Government by Puts commentators on Global government in conversation about their often provocative global institutional visions.
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
World Politics at the Edge of Chaos by Comprehensive overview of the inroads made by Complexity Thinking approaches and ideas in the study and practice of world politics.
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Appeasement in International Politics by Since the 1930s, appeasement has been labeled as a futile and possibly dangerous policy. In this landmark study, Stephen Rock seeks to restore appeasement to its proper place as a legitimate--and potentially successful--diplomatic strategy. Appeasement was discredited by Neville Chamberlain's disastrous attempt to satisfy Adolf Hitler's territorial ambitions and avoid war in 1938. Rock argues, however, that there is very little evidence to support the belief that dissatisfied states and their leaders cannot be appeased or that appeasement undermines a state's credibility in later attempts at deterrence. Rock looks at five case studies from the past 100 years, revealing under what conditions appeasement can achieve its goals. From British appeasement of the United States near the beginning of the twentieth century to American conciliation of North Korea in the early 1990s, Rock concludes that appeasement succeeds or fails depending on the nature of the adversary, the nature of the inducements used on the antagonist, and the existence of other incentives for the adversary to acquiesce. Appeasement in International Politics suggests the type of appeasement strategy most appropriate for various situations. The options range from pure inducements, reciprocity, to a mixture of inducements and threats. In addition to this theoretical framework, Rock's explicit comparison of appeasement and deterrence offers important guidelines for policymakers on when and how to implement a strategy of appeasement. At a time when the strategy of engagement plays an increasingly central--and controversial--role in U.S. foreign policy, Appeasement in International Politics reestablishes the long-discredited use of inducements as an effective means of preventing conflict.
Publication Date: 2000-06-30