Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Asian American Students in Higher Education by Asian American Students in Higher Education offers the first comprehensive analysis and synthesis of existing theory and research related to Asian American students' experiences in postsecondary education. Providing practical and insightful recommendations, this sourcebook covers a range of topics including critical historical and demographic contexts, the complexity of Asian American student identities, and factors that facilitate and hinder Asian American students' success in college.
Call Number: LC2633.6 .M87 2014
Publication Date: 2013-11-08
Class and Campus Life: Managing and Experiencing Inequality at an Elite College by Class markers aren't always visible from a distance, but socioeconomic differences permeate campus life--and the inner experiences of students--in real and sometimes unexpected ways. In Class and Campus Life, Elizabeth M. Lee shows how class differences are enacted and negotiated by students, faculty, and administrators at an elite liberal arts college for women located in the Northeast.
Call Number: LC1756 .L39 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-10
Creating Campus Cultures: Fostering Success Among Racially Diverse Student Populations by Provides insights into how campus cultures can and do shape the experiences and outcomes of their increasingly diverse college student populations. By cultivating values, beliefs, and assumptions that focus on including, validating, and creating equitable outcomes among diverse undergraduate students, an institution can increase their success.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011-12-13
Creating Inclusive Campus Environments for Cross-Cultural Learning and Student Engagement by Diversity, multiculturalism, and inclusion are values espoused by most colleges and universities; yet many educators, including those in student affairs, expect students to "magically" interact with peers from different cultural backgrounds on their own. With recent calls for accountability in higher education, it is more important than ever for educators to reconsider ways in which they prepare students for participation in a diverse democracy.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .C743 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
A Different Mirror by A presentation of American history from a multi-cultural perspective, focusing on a broader and comparative approach to enhance the possibility of understanding and appreciating America's racial and cultural diversity.
Call Number: E184.A1 T335 1993
Publication Date: 1993-06-01
Disability in Higher Education by Most books on disability in institutional settings approach the subject from a highly theoretical perspective, or they focus narrowly on legal issues. Drawing upon multiple theoretical frameworks, scholarly research and direct experience, the authors develop a unique, social-justice-based framework that takes into consideration the lived experiences of students, faculty, and staff with disabilities. They offer proven strategies for addressing ableism within a variety of settings, including classrooms, residence halls, admissions and orientation, student organizations, career development, and counseling
Call Number: LC4813 .E83 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-06
Diversity's Promise for Higher Education: Making It Work by Daryl G. Smith's career has been devoted to studying and fostering diversity in higher education. She has witnessed and encouraged the evolution of diversity from an issue addressed sporadically on college campuses to an imperative if institutions want to succeed. In this second edition of Diversity's Promise for Higher Education, Smith emphasizes a transdisciplinary approach to the topic of diversity, drawing on an updated list of sources from a wealth of literatures and fields.
Call Number: LC3727 .S65 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-17
Ebony and Ivy: Race, Slavery, and the Troubled History of America's Universities by A leading African American historian of race in America exposes the uncomfortable truths about race, slavery, and the American academy, revealing that leading universities, dependent on human bondage, became breeding grounds for the racist ideas that sustained it.
Call Number: LC212.42 .W53 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-21
Faculty of Color: Teaching in Predominantly White Colleges and Universities by The knowledge and insights gained from the experiences of faculty of color helpful strategies for recruitment and retention. Topic including teaching, administration, institutional climate, mentoring, recruitment, relationships with colleagues and students, and research. Includes recommendations that predominantly white colleges and universities can continue to ensure change in substantive ways.
Call Number: LB2332.6 .F33 2006
Publication Date: 2006-06-15
The Fire This Time: A New Generation Speaks about Race by National Book Award-winner Jesmyn Ward takes James Baldwin's 1963 examination of race in America, The Fire Next Time, as a jumping off point for this groundbreaking collection of essays and poems about race from the most important voices of her generation and our time.
Call Number: E185.615 .F526 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-02
Multiculturalism on Campus by Resources to guide students of education, faculty, higher education administrators, and student affairs leaders in creating an inclusive environment for under-represented groups on campus. It is intended as a guide to gaining a deeper understanding of the various multicultural groups on college campuses, for faculty in the classroom and professional staff who desire to understand the complexity of the students they serve, as well as reflect on their own values and motivations.
Publication Date: 2011-02-03
Paying the Price: College Costs, Financial Aid, and the Betrayal of the American Dream by One of the most sustained and vigorous public debates today is about the value and, crucially, the price of college. But an unspoken, outdated assumption underlies all sides of this debate: if a young person works hard enough, they'll be able to get a college degree and be on the path to a good life. That's simply not true anymore, says Sara Goldrick-Rab. Quite simply, college is far too expensive for many people today, and the confusing mix of federal, state, institutional, and private financial aid leaves countless students without the resources they need to pay for it. Drawing on a study of 3,000 young adults who entered public colleges and universities in Wisconsin in 2008 with the support of federal aid and Pell Grants, Goldrick-Rab reveals the devastating effect of these shortfalls.
Call Number: LB2342.15.W5 G65 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Privilege, Power, and Difference by This brief book is a groundbreaking tool for students and non-students alike to examine systems of privilege and difference in our society. Written in an accessible, conversational style, Johnson links theory with engaging examples in ways that enable readers to see the underlying nature and consequences of privilege and their connection to it.
Call Number: HN90.E4 J64 2006
Publication Date: 2005-02-11
Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence: Understanding and Facilitating Difficult Dialogues on Race by Learn to talk about race openly, honestly, and productively. Most people avoid discussion of race-related topics because of the strong emotions and feelings of discomfort that inevitably accompany such conversations. Rather than endure the conflict of racial realities, many people choose instead to avoid the topic altogether, or remain silent when it is raised. Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence: Understanding and Facilitating Difficult Dialogues on Race puts an end to that dynamic.
Call Number: HM1019 .S84 2015
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Racial Battle Fatigue by [B]rings together a collection of personal stories and critical reflections on the repercussions of doing social justice work in the field and in the university ... [A]ctivists, scholars, activist scholars, and public intellectuals share experiences of microaggressions, racial battle fatigue, and retaliation because of their identities, the people for whom they advocate, and what they study
Call Number: LC212.2 .R325 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-26
Readings for Diversity and Social Justice by Readings for Diversity and Social Justice an anthology to covering social oppression from a social justice standpoint. With sections dedicated to racism, sexism, classism, heterosexism, and ableism, as well as transgenderism, ethno-religious oppression, and adult and ageism. Selections in each section have been chosen to keep topic coverage timely and readings accessible and engaging for students.
Call Number: E184.A1 R386 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice by A sourcebook of theoretical foundations, pedagogical and design frameworks, and curricular models for social justice teaching practice. Covers the most relevant issues and controversies in social justice education in a practical, hands-on format. Includes activities and discussion questions, providing an accessible pedagogical approach to issues of oppression in classrooms. Also focuses on providing students the tools needed to apply their learning about these issues.
Call Number: LC196.5.U6 T43 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Unlikely Allies in the Academy: Women of Color and White Women in Conversation by Unlikely Allies in the Academy brings the voices of women of Color and White women together for much-overdue conversations about race. These well-known contributors use narrative to expose their stories, which are at times messy and always candid. However, the contributors work through the discomfort, confusion, and frustration in order to have honest conversations about race and racism.
Call Number: LC1568 .U55 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Whistling Vivaldi: And Other Clues to How Stereotypes Affect Us by In this work, the author, a social psychologist, addresses one of the most perplexing social issues of our time: the trend of minority underperformance in higher education. With strong evidence showing that the problem involves more than weaker skills, he explores other explanations
Call Number: HM1096 .S736 2010
Publication Date: 2011-04-04
White Guilt: How Blacks and Whites Together Destroyed the Promise of the Civil Rights Era by Steele calls for a new culture of personal responsibility, a commitment to principles that can fill the moral void created by white guilt. White leaders must stop using minorities as a means to establish their moral authority - and black leaders must stop indulging them. The alternative is a dangerous ethical relativism that extends beyond race relations into all parts of American life.
Call Number: E185.615 .S7236 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-29
White Like Me by White Like Me is one-part memoir, one-part polemical essay collection. It is a personal examination of the way in which racial privilege shapes the daily lives of white Americans in every realm: employment, education, housing, criminal justice, and elsewhere.
Call Number: E185.615 .W565 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-21
Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?: And other Conversations About Race by With a discussion guide and a new Epilogue by the author, this is the fifth anniversary edition of the bestselling work on the development of racial identity. Shares real-life examples and current research that support the author's recommendations for "straight talk" about racial identity, identifying practices that contribute to self-segregation in childhood groups.
Call Number: E185.625 .T38 2003