H. Samy Alim and Geneva Smitherman provide new insights about President Obama and the relationship between language and race in contemporary society. Throughout, they analyze several racially loaded, cultural-linguistic controversies involving the President and his relationship to Hip Hop Culture. Using their analysis of Barack Obama as a point of departure, Alim and Smitherman reveal how major debates about language, race, and educational inequality erupt into moments of racial crisis in America.
Co-Whites discusses race and gender politics and traces the role of women in Western and non-Western political systems. Aniagolu examines the dynamics of race and gender in the United States, starting from the colonial and antebellum periods, leading up to the American Civil War and Reconstruction, through the Civil Rights era of the 1960s, to the present day.
College of the Overwhelmed is a landmark book that explores the stressors that cause so many college students to suffer psychological problems. The book is filled with insights and stories about the current mental health crisis on our nation's campuses and offers a hands-on guide for helping students overcome stress and succeed in a college environment.
For every dollar owned by the average white family in the United States, the average family of color has less than a dime. Wealth, not income alone, may be the most revealing index of inequality in America. The Color of Wealth lays bare the roots of the racial wealth divide and reveals the decisive role government has played in shaping our unequal society.
Provides insights into how campus cultures can and do shape the experiences and outcomes of their increasingly diverse college student populations. By cultivating values, beliefs, and assumptions that focus on including, validating, and creating equitable outcomes among diverse undergraduate students, an institution can increase their success.
Diversity, multiculturalism, and inclusion are values espoused by most colleges and universities; yet many educators, including those in student affairs, expect students to "magically" interact with peers from different cultural backgrounds on their own. With recent calls for accountability in higher education, it is more important than ever for educators to reconsider ways in which they prepare students for participation in a diverse democracy.
Retooling the educational playing field -- The chair's vantage point on diversity -- Building a new taxonomy for diversity in the academic department -- The chair's leadership role in formal and informal organizational processes -- Bridge building : the chair's role in fostering diversity learning outcomes and student identity development -- Developing a departmental action plan for diversity -
Disability in Higher Education
Most books on disability in institutional settings approach the subject from a highly theoretical perspective, or they focus narrowly on legal issues. Drawing upon multiple theoretical frameworks, scholarly research and direct experience, the authors develop a unique, social-justice-based framework that takes into consideration the lived experiences of students, faculty, and staff with disabilities. They offer proven strategies for addressing ableism within a variety of settings, including classrooms, residence halls, admissions and orientation, student organizations, career development, and counseling
Daryl G. Smith's career has been devoted to studying and fostering diversity in higher education. She has witnessed and encouraged the evolution of diversity from an issue addressed sporadically on college campuses to an imperative if institutions want to succeed. In this second edition of Diversity's Promise for Higher Education, Smith emphasizes a transdisciplinary approach to the topic of diversity, drawing on an updated list of sources from a wealth of literatures and fields.
A leading African American historian of race in America exposes the uncomfortable truths about race, slavery, and the American academy, revealing that leading universities, dependent on human bondage, became breeding grounds for the racist ideas that sustained it.
The knowledge and insights gained from the experiences of faculty of color helpful strategies for recruitment and retention. Topic including teaching, administration, institutional climate, mentoring, recruitment, relationships with colleagues and students, and research. Includes recommendations that predominantly white colleges and universities can continue to ensure change in substantive ways.
Resources to guide students of education, faculty, higher education administrators, and student affairs leaders in creating an inclusive environment for under-represented groups on campus. It is intended as a guide to gaining a deeper understanding of the various multicultural groups on college campuses, for faculty in the classroom and professional staff who desire to understand the complexity of the students they serve, as well as reflect on their own values and motivations.
Are you a racist? -- What is racism? -- Do you oppress? -- What is your racial reality and that of white America? -- Isn't racism a white problem? -- What does in mean to be white? -- What is white privilege? -- How do you develop a nonracist white identity? -- What must you do to combat racism? -- What must society do to combat racism? -- What must people of color do to overcome racism?
One of the most sustained and vigorous public debates today is about the value and, crucially, the price of college. But an unspoken, outdated assumption underlies all sides of this debate: if a young person works hard enough, they'll be able to get a college degree and be on the path to a good life. That's simply not true anymore, says Sara Goldrick-Rab. Quite simply, college is far too expensive for many people today, and the confusing mix of federal, state, institutional, and private financial aid leaves countless students without the resources they need to pay for it. Drawing on a study of 3,000 young adults who entered public colleges and universities in Wisconsin in 2008 with the support of federal aid and Pell Grants, Goldrick-Rab reveals the devastating effect of these shortfalls.
This brief book is a groundbreaking tool for students and non-students alike to examine systems of privilege and difference in our society. Written in an accessible, conversational style, Johnson links theory with engaging examples in ways that enable readers to see the underlying nature and consequences of privilege and their connection to it.
Learn to talk about race openly, honestly, and productively. Most people avoid discussion of race-related topics because of the strong emotions and feelings of discomfort that inevitably accompany such conversations. Rather than endure the conflict of racial realities, many people choose instead to avoid the topic altogether, or remain silent when it is raised. Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence: Understanding and Facilitating Difficult Dialogues on Race puts an end to that dynamic.
[B]rings together a collection of personal stories and critical reflections on the repercussions of doing social justice work in the field and in the university ... [A]ctivists, scholars, activist scholars, and public intellectuals share experiences of microaggressions, racial battle fatigue, and retaliation because of their identities, the people for whom they advocate, and what they study
Eduardo Bonilla-Silva's aRacism without Racists documents how beneath our contemporary conversation about race lies a full-blown arsenal of arguments, phrases, and stories that whites use to account for--and ultimately justify--racial inequalities. This book explodes the belief that America is now a color-blind society.
Readings for Diversity and Social Justice an anthology to covering social oppression from a social justice standpoint. With sections dedicated to racism, sexism, classism, heterosexism, and ableism, as well as transgenderism, ethno-religious oppression, and adult and ageism. Selections in each section have been chosen to keep topic coverage timely and readings accessible and engaging for students.
In Sisters of the Yam, bell hooks reflects on the ways in which the emotional health of black women has been and continues to be impacted by sexism and racism. Desiring to create a context where black females could both work on their individual efforts for self-actualization while remaining connected to a larger world of collective struggle, hooks articulates the link between self-recovery and political resistance.
Ijeoma Oluo offers a contemporary, accessible take on the racial landscape in America, addressing head-on such issues as privilege, police brutality, intersectionality, micro-aggressions, the Black Lives Matter movement, and the "N" word. Perfectly positioned to bridge the gap between people of color and white Americans struggling with race complexities, Oluo answers the questions readers don't dare ask, and explains the concepts that continue to elude everyday Americans.
Through accessible language and candid discussions, Storytelling for Social Justice explores the stories we tell ourselves and each other about race and racism in our society. Making sense of the racial constructions expressed through the language and images we encounter every day, this book provides strategies for developing a more critical understanding of how racism operates culturally and institutionally in our society.
A sourcebook of theoretical foundations, pedagogical and design frameworks, and curricular models for social justice teaching practice. Covers the most relevant issues and controversies in social justice education in a practical, hands-on format. Includes activities and discussion questions, providing an accessible pedagogical approach to issues of oppression in classrooms. Also focuses on providing students the tools needed to apply their learning about these issues.
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves is widely accessible to the transgender population, providing authoritative information in an inclusive and respectful way and representing the collective knowledge base of dozens of influential experts. Each chapter takes the reader through an important transgender issue, such as race, religion, employment, medical and surgical transition, mental health topics, relationships, sexuality, parenthood, arts and culture, and many more.
Why, despite continued efforts to increase understanding and expand opportunities, do black and white Americans still lead separate lives, continually marked by tension and hostility? In his much-lauded classic, newly updated to reflect the changing realities of race in our nation, Andrew Hacker explains the origins and meaning of racism and clarifies the conflicting theories of equality and inferiority.
Drawing on both her roots in Kentucky and her adventures with Manhattan coop boards, bell hooks provides a successful black woman's reflection, personal, straightforward, and rigorously honest on how our dilemmas of class and race are intertwined, and how we can find ways to think beyond them
In this work, the author, a social psychologist, addresses one of the most perplexing social issues of our time: the trend of minority underperformance in higher education. With strong evidence showing that the problem involves more than weaker skills, he explores other explanations
Steele calls for a new culture of personal responsibility, a commitment to principles that can fill the moral void created by white guilt. White leaders must stop using minorities as a means to establish their moral authority - and black leaders must stop indulging them. The alternative is a dangerous ethical relativism that extends beyond race relations into all parts of American life.
With a discussion guide and a new Epilogue by the author, this is the fifth anniversary edition of the bestselling work on the development of racial identity. Shares real-life examples and current research that support the author's recommendations for "straight talk" about racial identity, identifying practices that contribute to self-segregation in childhood groups.