The Food Activist Handbook: Big & Small Things You Can Do to Help Provide Fresh, Healthy Food for Your Community by
Small steps can create big changes in your community's food quality and food security, helping to get more healthy food to more people and support a better food system. Ali Berlow shows you dozens of things that anyone can do, from creating a neighborhood kitchen for preserving fresh food to mapping farmland, connecting food pantries with food producers, starting a school garden, and organizing a community composting initiative.
The Black Panther Party: Service to the People Programs by
The Party pioneered free social service programs that are now in the mainstream of American life. The Party's Sickle Cell Anemia Research Foundation, operated with Oakland's Children's Hospital, was among the nation's first such testing programs. Its Free Breakfast Program served as a model for national programs. Other initiatives included free clinics, grocery giveaways, school and education programs, senior programs, and legal aid programs.
Food Activism: Agency, Democracy and Economy by
Anthropologists explore food activism across the globe to show how people speak to, negotiate, or cope with power through food. Who are the actors of food activism and what forms of agency do they enact? What kinds of economy, exchanges, and market relations do they practice and promote? How are they organized and what are their scales of political action and power relations?
Defiant Daughters: 21 Women on Art, Activism, Animals, and the Sexual Politics of Meat by
When The Sexual Politics of Meat: A Feminist-Vegetarian Critical Theory by Carol J. Adams was published more than twenty years ago, it caused an immediate stir among writers and thinkers, feminists and animal rights activists alike. Never before had the relationship between patriarchy and meat eating been drawn so clearly, the idea that there lies a strong connection between the consumption of women and animals so plainly asserted. But, as the 21 personal stories in this anthology show, the impact of this provocative text on women's lives continues to this day, and it is as diverse as it is revelatory.
Plowed Under: Food Policy Protests and Performance in New Deal America by
During the Great Depression, with thousands on bread lines, farmers were instructed by the New Deal Agricultural Adjustment Act to produce less food in order to stabilize food prices and restore the market economy. Fruit was left to rot on trees, crops were plowed under, and millions of piglets and sows were slaughtered and discarded. Many Americans saw the government action as a senseless waste of food that left the hungry to starve, initiating public protests against food and farm policy.
The Gastronomica Reader by
Gastronomica: The Journal of Food and Culture is a quarterly feast of writing on food. The Gastronomica Reader now offers a sampling from the journal’s pages―including essays, poetry, interviews, memoirs, and a selection of the artwork.
Eat, Memory: Great Writers at the Table: a Collection of Essays from the New York Times by
Food editor Hesser has showcased the food-inspired recollections of some of America's leading writers. "Eat, Memory" collects the 26 best stories and recipes from some of the playwrights, novelists, and journalists featured in her column.
Food in the USA: A Reader by
From Thanksgiving to fast food to the Passover seder, Food in the USA brings together the essential readings on these topics. Essay topics include the globalization of U.S. food; the dangers of the meatpacking industry; the rise of Italian-American food; the meaning of Soul food; the anorexia epidemic; and the omnipotence of Coca-Cola. Together, the collection provides a look at how and why we Americans are what we eat.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by
Nearly 200 authors bring together in 770 entries the scholarship on wide-ranging topics from airline and funeral food to fad diets and fast food; drinks like lemonade, Kool-Aid, and Tang; foodstuffs like Jell-O, Twinkies, and Spam; and Dagwood, hoagie, and Sloppy Joe sandwiches.
The Oxford Companion to Food by
The great quality of this Companion is the way it includes both an exhaustive catalogue of the foods that nourish humankind - whether they be fruit from tropical forests, mosses scraped from adamantine granite in Siberian wastes, or body parts such as eyeballs and testicles - and a richly allusive commentary on the culture of food, whether expressed in literature and cookery books, or as dishes peculiar to a country or community.
Larousse Gastronomique by
Larousse Gastronomique has been the foremost resource of culinary knowledge since its initial publication in 1938. Long revered for its encyclopedic entries on everything from cooking techniques, ingredients, and recipes to equipment, food histories, and culinary biographies, it is the one book every professional chef and avid home cook must have on his or her kitchen shelf.
Food and Feasting in Art by
Food in the figurative context -- From allegory to still life -- The places and rituals of dining -- Food and drink -- The dining table and its furnishings.
They Draw and Cook: 107 Recipes Illustrated by Artists from Around the World by
After starting their blog in February of 2010, Nate and Salli received hundreds of illustrated recipes from artists all over the world, which they decided to turn into a book. This book contains a sample of 107 of those illustrations that range in style from cute to goofy to absolutely gorgeous. The illustration styles range from elegant to cheeky, the recipes from drinks to desserts and everyday to extraordinary.
Tastes and Temptations by
Fruits and vegetables as erotic metaphors in still life paintings, the Florentine Baptistery replicated in sausage and cheese by Andrea del Sarto, an Ovidian scene found at the bottom of a soup bowl - this book explores interplay between art and cuisine during the Italian Renaissance. Exploring an array of artworks and drawing from period recipes and menus, Varriano considers the ways that cooks and artists converged and drew from one another's worlds.
Artists' Books
Artists' books, simply defined, are books made by artists or works of art in book form. Unlike most of Crossett's collections, the artists' books are not in the open shelves, so if there is an artists' book you would like to see let us know and we will get it for you.
Murrain by 
Pie is an Ancient Practice by 
Pickles I Have Known: a Journey through Vinegared Delights by 
The Gourmet Pocket Guide to Natural History by 
Reggae Sauce: A Cabin-Time: Pokey Creek Cookbook by 
Climate Change: a Very Short Introduction by
Climate change is one of the most important and controversial issues of the 21st century. This Very Short Introduction provides a concise and accessible guide to how and why climate change is happening, and explores what might happen in the future. Previously titled Global Warming: A Very Short Introduction, this new edition reflects a key change in the terminology over the past decade.
Climate Change As Social Drama: Global Warming in the Public Sphere by
Climate change is not just a scientific fact, nor merely a social and political problem. It is also a set of stories and characters that amount to a social drama. This drama, as much as hard scientific or political realities, shapes perception of the problem. Drs Smith and Howe use the perspective of cultural sociology and Aristotle's timeless theories about narrative and rhetoric to explore this meaningful and visible surface of climate change in the public sphere. Whereas most research wants to explain barriers to awareness, here we switch the agenda to look at the moments when global warming actually gets attention. Chapters consider struggles over apocalyptic scenarios, explain the success of Al Gore and An Inconvenient Truth, unpack the deeper social meanings of the climate conference and 'Climategate', critique failed advertising campaigns and climate art, and question the much touted transformative potential of natural disasters such as Superstorm Sandy.
Facing the Challenges of Climate Change and Food Security by
The study report is based on case studies from Bangladesh, Bolivia, DR Congo and Ghana which were carried out with the purpose of assessing needs and gaps with regard to the provision of innovation support services for climate change adaptation. Research results showed that climate change adds urgency to the need for adaptation in its widest sense in the natural resources sphere (agriculture, forestry, natural resources management, livestock and fisheries).
The Science and Politics of Global Climate Change: a Guide to the Debate by
Global climate change : a new type of environmental problem. Background on climate and climate change. Background on climate-change policy. Plan of the book Science, politics, and science in politics. Justifications for action : positive statements and normative statements
The Atlas of Climate Change by 
Groundbreaking Food Gardens: 73 Plans That Will Change the Way You Grow Your Garden by
Every plan is accompanied by full-color illustrations, growing tips, and tweakable lists of crop possibilities
Food Not Lawns: How to Turn Your Yard into a Garden and Your Neighborhood into a Community by
Combines practical wisdom on ecological design and community-building with a fresh, green perspective on an age-old subject.
Rebuilding the Foodshed: How to Create Local, Sustainable, and Secure Food Systems by
Changing our foodscapes raises a host of questions. How far away is local? How do you decide the size and geography of a regional foodshed? How do you tackle tough issues that plague food systems large and small--issues like inefficient transportation, high energy demands, and rampant food waste? How do you grow what you need with minimum environmental impact?
Grow Great Grub: Organic Food from Small Spaces by
Presents advice for home gardeners on how to grow one's own food in limited spaces, providing coverage of such topics as container plants, organic pest control, and preserving home-grown foods.
One Magic Square: the Easy, Organic Way to Grow Your Own Food on a 3-Foot Square by
Information on how to turn small plots of land into sources of nourishing, inexpensive, organic food with illustrated, annotated plans for 30 plots with different themes
They Leave Their Kidneys in the Fields: Illness, Injury and Illegality Among U.S. Farmworkers by
They Leave Their Kidneys in the Fields takes the reader on an ethnographic tour of the melon and corn harvesting fields in California's Central Valley to understand why farmworkers die at work each summer. Laden with captivating detail of farmworkers' daily work and home lives, Horton examines how U.S. immigration policy and the historic exclusion of farmworkers from the promises of liberalism has made migrant farmworkers what she calls 'exceptional workers.'
Behind the Kitchen Door by
Uncovers the inequities of restaurant labor in the United States, from low wages and poor employee benefits to sexual harassment, unsafe working conditions, and the hypocrisy of ethical, free-trade restuarants.
With These Hands: the Hidden World of Migrant Farmworkers Today by
With These Hands documents the farm labor system through the presentation of a collection of voices—workers who labor in the fields, growers who manage the multi-billion dollar agricultural industry, contractors who link workers with growers, coyotes who smuggle people across the border, union organizers, lobbyists, physicians, workers' families in Mexico, farmworker children and others.
Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies: Migrant Farmworkers in the United States by
Based on five years of research in the field (including berry-picking and traveling with migrants back and forth from Oaxaca up the West Coast), Holmes, an anthropologist and MD in the mold of Paul Farmer and Didier Fassin, uncovers how market forces, anti-immigrant sentiment, and racism undermine health and health care
The Empty Ocean: Plundering the World's Marine Life by
In The Empty Ocean, acclaimed author and artist Richard Ellis tells the story of our continued plunder of life in the sea and weighs the chances for its recovery. Through fascinating portraits of a wide array of creatures, he introduces us to the many forms of sea life that humans have fished, hunted, and collected over the centuries, from charismatic whales and dolphins to the lowly menhaden, from sea turtles to cod, tuna, and coral.
Global Atlas of Marine Fisheries: A Critical Appraisal of Catches and Ecosystem Impacts by
While it has long been clear that the world's oceans are in trouble, the lack of reliable data on fishery catches has obscured the scale, and nuances, of the crisis. The atlas shows that, globally, catches have declined rapidly since the 1980s, signaling an even more critical situation than previously understood. The Global Atlas of Marine Fisheries provides a comprehensive picture of our current predicament and steps that can be taken to ease it.
The Oyster Wars: the True Story of a Small Farm, Big Politics, and the Future of Wilderness in America by
Environmentalists, national politicians, scientists, and the Department of the Interior all joined a protracted battle for the Drakes Estero estuary. Were the oyster farmers environmental criminals, or victims of government fraud? Fought against a backdrop of fear of government corruption and the specter of climate change, the battle struck a national nerve, pitting nature against agriculture and science against politics.
Four Fish: the Future of the Last Wild Food by
Four Fish gives us a culinary history of the four fish that dominate our menus - salmon, sea bass, cod, and tuna - and investigates where each stands at this critical moment in time.
Cultivating Food Justice: Race, Class, and Sustainability by
A growing food movement urges us to support sustainable agriculture by eating fresh food produced on local family farms. But many low-income neighborhoods and communities of color have been systematically deprived of access to healthy and sustainable food. These communities have been actively prevented from producing their own food and often live in "food deserts" where fast food is more common than fresh food. Bringing together insights from studies of environmental justice, sustainable agriculture, critical race theory, and food studies, highlights the ways race and class inequalities permeate the food system, from production to distribution to consumption.
Beyond the Kale: Urban Agriculture and Social Justice Activism in New York City by
Urban agriculture is increasingly considered an important part of creating just and sustainable cities. Yet the benefits that many people attribute to urban agriculture—fresh food, green space, educational opportunities—can mask structural inequities,thereby making political transformation harder to achieve. Realizing social and environmental justice requires moving beyond food production to address deeper issues such as structural racism, gender inequity, and economic disparities.
Just Food: Where Locavores Get it Wrong and How We Can Truly Eat Responsibly by
From the Golden Age to the Golden mean of food production. -- Food miles or friendly miles? : beyond the "farm to fork" paradigm of production -- Organic panic : discovering agriculture's golden mean -- Frankenfood? : a case for genetically modified crops -- Meat : the new caviar : saying "no," or at least "not as much," to eating land-based animals -- The blue revolution : ecological aquaculture and the future of floating protein -- Merging ecology and economy : perverse subsidies, rational incentives, and the path to fair trade
A Bun in the Oven: How the Food and Birth Movements Resist Industrialization by
The book explores the tension throughout all of these eras between the industrial demands of mass-management and profit-making, and the social movements—composed largely of women coming together from very different feminist sensibilities—which are working to expose the harmful consequences of industrialization, and make birth and food both meaningful and healthy.
Just Food: Philosophy, Justice and Food by
Just Food: Philosophy, Justice and Food presents thirteen new philosophical essays that explore the causes and consequences of the inequities of our contemporary food system. The book looks at how food insecurity tracks other social injustices, covering topics such as race, gender and property, as well as food sovereignty, food deserts, and locavorism.
California Cuisine and Just Food by
The authors show that progress toward food democracy in the Bay area has been significant: innovators have built on familiar yet quite radical understandings of regional cuisine to generate new, broadly shared expectations about food quality, and activists have targeted the problems that the conventional food system creates. But, they caution despite the Bay Area's favorable climate, progressive politics, and food culture many challenges remain.
Food Systems and Health by
Food Systems and Health brings cutting-edge sociological research to bear on these multiple dimensions of food systems and their impacts on individual and population health. This volume will highlight how food systems matter for health policy, health politics, and the lived experiences and life chances of individuals and communities.
The Bottom Line or Public Health: Tactics Corporations Use to Influence Health and Health Policy, and What We Can Do to Counter Them by
This book deconstructs some of the tactics at play - public relations, political influence, legal maneuvering, and financial power, food and agriculture. There is a growing global movement to counter this corporate force. The book discusses the role of non-governmental organizations, indigenous peoples' groups, health advocates, and social justice activists, and the ways in which they are working to reduce corporate power.
SNAP Matters: How Food Stamps Affect Health and Well-Being by
The volume concludes that SNAP is highly responsive to macroeconomic pressures and is one of the most effective antipoverty programs in the safety net, but the volume also encourages policymakers, students, and researchers to continue examining this major pillar of social assistance in America.
A Big Fat Crisis: The Hidden Forces Behind the Obesity Epidemic - and How We Can End It by
A Big Fat Crisis offers concrete recommendations and sweeping policy changesincluding implementing smart and effective regulations and constructing a more balanced food environment that represent nothing less than a blueprint for defeating the obesity epidemic once and for all.
A Framework for Assessing Effects of the Food System by
The challenges of improving the food system in the 21st century will require systemic approaches that take full account of social, economic, ecological, and evolutionary factors. Policy or business interventions involving a segment of the food system often have consequences beyond the original issue the intervention was meant to address. This work develops an analytical framework for assessing the ways in which food is grown, processed, distributed, marketed, retailed, and consumed in the US.
Fat Land: How Americans Became the Fattest People in the World by
Fat land highlights the groundbreaking research that implicates cheap fats and sugars as the alarming new metabolic factor making our calories stick and shows how and why children are too often the chief metabolic victims of such foods. No one else writing on fat America takes as hard a line as Critser on the institutionalized lies we've been telling ourselves about how much we can eat and how little we can exercise. His expose of the Los Angeles schools' opening of the nutritional floodgates in the lunchroom and his examination of the political and cultural forces that have set the bar on American fitness low and then lower, are both discerning reporting and impassioned wake-up calls.
Food Politics: What Everyone Needs to Know by
Food Politics: What Everyone Needs to Know examines and explains the most important issues on today's global food landscape, including international food prices, famines, chronic hunger, the Malthusian race between food production and population growth, international food aid,'green revolution'farming, obesity, farm subsidies, agriculture and the environment, agribusiness, food safety, fast food, slow food, organic food, local food, and genetically engineered food.
Embodied Food Politics by
This book is about the materializations of food politics;'materializations', in this case, referring to our embodied, sensuous, and physical connectivities to food production and consumption. It is through these materializations, argues Carolan, that we know food (and the food system more generally), others and ourselves.
The Politics of the Pantry: Stories, Food, and Social Change by
Mikulak examines competing narratives of food, pleasure, sustainability, and value that have emerged from the growing sustainable food movement as well as food's past and present relationship to environmentalism in order to understand the potential and the limits of food politics. He also considers whether or not sustainable food practices can address questions about health, environmental sustainability, and local economic development, while at the same time articulating an ethical globalization.
Food: Key Concepts by
Food: The Key Concepts presents an exciting, coherent and interdisciplinary introduction to food studies for the beginning reader. Food Studies is an increasingly complex field, drawing on disciplines as diverse as Sociology, Anthropology and Cultural Studies at one end and Economics, Politics and Agricultural Science at the other. In order to clarify the issues, Food: The Key Concepts distills food choices down to three competing considerations.
Food Studies: an Introduction to Research Methods by
This title is a guide to doing research in the burgeoning field of food studies. Designed for the classroom as well as for the independent scholar, the book details the predominant research methods in the field, provides a series of interactive questions and templates to help guide a project, and includes suggestions for food-specific resources
Food by
As the slow food movement meets fast food nation and eating locally collides with on-demand arugula, our food habits are shifting: writers and artists examine and imagine these changes, from the idea of a farm in a skyscraper to a map of fruit that falls on public property, from the genealogy of an organic bento box to a tale of chop suey and egg rolls.
The Oxford Companion to Food by
The study of food and food history is a new discipline, but one that has developed exponentially in the last twenty years. There are now university departments, international societies, learned journals, and a wide-ranging literature exploring the meaning of food in the daily lives of people around the world, and seeking to introduce food and the process of nourishment into our understanding of almost every compartment of human life, whether politics, high culture, street life, agriculture, or life and death issues such as conflict and war.
Conversations in Food Studies by
Widely diverse essays, ranging from the meaning of milk, to the bring-your-own-wine movement, to urban household waste, are the product of collaborating teams of interdisciplinary authors. Readers are invited to engage and reflect on the theories and practices underlying some of the most important issues facing the emerging field of food studies today.
From Farm to Fork: Perspectives on Growing Sustainable Food Systems in the Twenty-First Century by
This book addresses the importance of creating food systems that are sustainable by bringing together a number of experts in the fields of law, economics, nutrition, and social sciences, as well as farmers and advocates. These experts share their perspectives on some of the pressing issues related to sustainable food systems and offer solutions for achieving healthy, sustainable, and equitable food systems in the future.
No One Eats Alone: Food As a Social Enterprise by
Carolan argues that building community is the key to healthy, equitable, and sustainable food. While researching No One Eats Alone, he interviewed more than 250 individuals, from flavorists to Fortune 500 executives, politicians to feedlot managers, low-income families to crop scientists, who play a role in the life of food. Carolan contends that real change only happens when we start acting like citizens first and consumers second. This is a book about becoming better food citizens.
Alternative Food Geographies: Representation and Practice by
Since the late 1990s, agro-food researchers have identified attempts to re-configure food provision around more ethically sound, economically and ecologically sustainable relationships between food producers, processors and consumers. Largely in the context of developed market economies, notions of relocalization and the quality turn have figured prominently in discussions about these alternative food geographies. Emerging empirical research, however, is now challenging some of the assumptions embedded within such discussions.
Remaking the North American Food System by
Food and agriculture are in the news daily. Stories in the media highlight issues of abundance, deprivation, pleasure, risk, health, community, and identity. Remaking the North American Food System examines the resurgence of interest in rebuilding the links between agricultural production and food consumption as a way to overcome some of the negative implications of industrial and globalizing trends in the food and agricultural system.
The Third Plate: Field Notes on the Future of Food by
Chef Dan Barber explores the evolution of American food from the "first plate," or industrially-produced, meat-heavy dishes, to the "second plate" of grass-fed meat and organic greens, and says that both of these approaches are ultimately neither sustainable nor healthy. Instead, Barber proposes Americans should move to the "third plate," a cuisine rooted in seasonal productivity, natural livestock rhythms, whole-grains, and small portions of free-range meat.
Local Food Systems: Background, Federal Policies and Programs by
This book provides background information on many of the type of operations engaged in the U.S. local and regional food system; highlights some of the available resources within existing federal programs administered by USDA and other agencies; and discusses some of the legislative options that have been previously proposed by Congress and intended to broaden support for local and regional food systems.
The Town That Food Saved: How One Community Found Vitality in Local Food by
The captivating story of a small town coming back to life, grounded in an idea that will revolutionize the way we eat. Over the past 3 years, Hardwick, Vermont, a typical hardscrabble farming community of 3,000 residents, has jump-started its economy and redefined its self-image through a local, self-sustaining food system unlike anything else in America.
Food Lovers' Guide to Vermont and New Hampshire: The Best Restaurants, Markets & Local Culinary Offerings by
Vermont and New Hampshire are two sides of the same northern New England climate—the high landscapes of the Green Mountains and the White Mountains, glued together by the Connecticut River Valley. The classic flavors of Vermont and New Hampshire—apples, maple syrup, and cheddar cheese—have grown into an artisanal revolution, and each state produces world-class culinary specialties
Vermont Farm Women by
Photographs and text of farm women - dairy, pigs, sheep, goats, emus, christmas trees, horses, beef cattle, cheese who work the small farm as owners and are passionate about their responsibility to the land, the animals and their community.
Ben and Jerry's - The Inside Scoop by
In 1978, with a total investment of $12,000, Ben Cohen and Jerry Greenfield opened a homemade ice cream parlor in an abandoned gas station in Burlington, Vermont, and set out to serve the best ice cream they could make. Ben & Jerry's is now recognized as one of the most progressive, socially active corporations in America.
The Vermont Farm Table Cookbook by
Includes a directory of farms (recipe sources), an index of recipes and ingredients and an index of people and places.
Bread, Beer and the Seeds of Change: Agriculture’s Imprint on World History by
The history of humankind is tied to the history of agriculture : societies rose, persisted and waned in parallel with their food supply systems. Describing what crops were grown, the constraints on their production and the foods that were obtained, this book traces the impact of cropping and food preparation in ten societies that were among the most influential in history, detailing how technology varied and developed as it related directly to agriculture and food production.
Krazy Kids' Food! by
This work looks at amusing, eye-grabbing, and sometimes disturbing junk food packaging aimed at catching kids' attention.
Uncommon Grounds: the History of Coffee and How it Transformed our World by
The definitive history of coffee-from its discovery on an Ethiopian mountainside to the age of Starbucks and the coffee crisis of the twenty-first century. A sweeping epic, Uncommon Grounds uses coffee production, trade, and consumption as a window through which to view broad historical themes: the clash and blending of cultures, slavery, the rise of brand marketing, global inequities, fair trade, revolutions, health scares, environmental issues, and the rediscovery of quality.
Candyfreak: A Journey Through the Chocolate Underbelly of America by
A tour of the American candy business which explores the role candy plays in our lives as both source of pleasure and escape from pain.
The Most Important Fish in the Sea: Menhaden and America by
Franklin shows how menhaden have shaped America’s national—and natural—history, and why reckless overfishing now threatens their place in both. The decline of a once ubiquitous fish becomes an adventure story, an exploration of the U.S. political economy, a groundbreaking history of America’s emerging ecological consciousness, and an inspiring vision of a growing alliance between environmentalists and recreational anglers.
Food and Culture: A Reader by
This reader reveals how food habits and beliefs both present a microcosm of any culture and contribute to our understanding of human behaviour. Particular attention is given to how men and women define themselves differently through food choices.
97 Orchard: An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement by
ocial history is, most elementally, food history. Jane Ziegelman had the great idea to zero in on one Lower East Side tenement building, and through it she has crafted a unique and aromatic narrative of New York’s immigrant culture: with bread in the oven, steam rising from pots, and the family gathering round.
The Jemima Code: Two Centuries of African American Cookbooks by
These cookbooks offer firsthand evidence that African Americans cooked creative masterpieces from meager provisions, educated young chefs, operated food businesses, and nourished the African American community through the long struggle for human rights.
Italian American Women, Food, and Identity: Stories at the Table by
In these narratives, food represents home, loss, and longing. Food also stands in for race, class, gender, sexuality, immigration, region, place, and space. The authors highlight how food is about family and tradition, as well as choice and change. These women's narratives reveal that food is related to celebration, love, power, and shame.
The Color of Food: Stories of Race, Resilience and Farming by
By recognizing the critical issues that lie at the intersection of race and food, this collection of portraits and stories challenges the status quo of agrarian identity. Bowens's quest to explore her own roots in the soil leads her to unearth a larger story, weaving together the seemingly forgotten history of agriculture for people of color, the issues they face today, and the culture and resilience they bring to food and farming.
32 Yolks: From My Mother's Table to Working the Line by
Like Jacques Pepin's classic memoir The Apprentice, Eric Ripert's is a coming of age story about how he learned to cook and finally found his place in the kitchen.
Blood, Bones and Butter: the Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef by
Blood, Bones & Butter follows an unconventional journey through the many kitchens Hamilton has inhabited through the years: the rural kitchen of her childhood, where her adored mother stood over the six-burner with an oily wooden spoon in hand; the kitchens of France, Greece, and Turkey, where she was often fed by complete strangers and learned the essence of hospitality; Hamilton’s own kitchen at Prune, with its many unexpected challenges
Coming to My Senses: the Making of a Counterculture Cook by
Interspersed with reflections on the doors that have opened since Chez Panisse changed the trajectory of her life and American food culture, [this book] shows the quiet determination and reckless enthusiasm that inspire Alice's activism, advocacy, and creativity.
The Cooking Gene: a Journey Through African American Culinary History in the Old South by
Culinary historian Michael W. Twitty brings a fresh perspective to our most divisive cultural issue, race, in this illuminating memoir of Southern cuisine and food culture that traces his ancestry--both black and white--through food, from Africa to America and from slavery to freedom. Southern food is integral to the American culinary tradition, yet the question of who "owns" it is one of the most provocative touchpoints in our ongoing struggles over race.
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly by
A New York City chef who is also a novelist recounts his experiences in the restaurant business, and exposes abuses of power, sexual promiscuity, drug use, and other secrets of life behind kitchen doors.
A Year Right Here: Adventures with Food and Family in the Great Nearby by
Seattle-based writer and cookbook author Jess Thomson sets out to spend a year exploring the food of the Pacific Northwest with her family.
$2.00 a Day: Living on Almost Nothing in America by
After two decades of research on American poverty, Kathryn Edin noticed something she hadn't seen since the mid-1990s -- households surviving on virtually no income. Edin teamed with Luke Shaefer, an expert on calculating incomes of the poor, to discover that the number of American families living on $2.00 per person, per day, has skyrocketed to 1.5 million American households, including about 3 million children. Where do these families live? How did they get so desperately poor?
Changing Poverty, Changing Policies by
This volume examines changing poverty and changing antipoverty policies in the United States since the early 1970s
Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by
Based on years of embedded fieldwork and painstakingly gathered data, this masterful book transforms our understanding of extreme poverty and economic exploitation while providing fresh ideas for solving a devastating, uniquely American problem. Its unforgettable scenes of hope and loss remind us of the centrality of home, without which nothing else is possible.
Blaming the Poor: The Long Shadow of the Moynihan Report on Cruel Images about Poverty by
Drawing on extensive scholarship, Greenbaum highlights the flaws in Moynihan's analysis. She reveals how his questionable ideas have been used to redirect blame for substandard schools, low wages, and the scarcity of jobs away from the societal forces that cause these problems, while simultaneously reinforcing stereotypes about African Americans. Greenbaum also critiques current policy issues that are directly affected by the tangle of pathology mindset--the demonization and destruction of public housing; the criminalization of black youth; and the continued humiliation of the poor by entrepreneurs who become rich consulting to teachers, non-profits, and social service personnel.
The Color of Wealth: the Story Behind the U.S. Racial Wealth Divide by
For every dollar owned by the average white family in the United States, the average family of color has less than a dime. Wealth, not income alone, may be the most revealing index of inequality in America. The Color of Wealth lays bare the roots of the racial wealth divide and reveals the decisive role government has played in shaping our unequal society.
Systems Thinking for Social Change: a Practical Guide to Solving Complex Problems, Avoiding Unintended Consequences, and Achieving Lasting Results by
By applying conventional thinking to complex social problems, we often perpetuate the very problems we try so hard to solve, but it is possible to think differently, and get different results. Systems Thinking for Social Change enables readers to contribute more effectively to society by helping them understand what systems thinking is and why it is so important in their work.
Change by Design: How Design Thinking Can Transform Organizations and Inspire Innovation by
Getting under your skin, or how design thinking is about more than style -- Converting need into demand, or putting people first -- A mental matrix, or-"these people have no process!" -- Building to think-the power of prototyping -- Returning to the surface-the design of experiences -- Spreading the message-the importance of storytelling
How to Make Collaboration Work; Powerful Ways to Build Consensus, Solve Problems, and Make Decisions by
The process of human problem solving -- Part II: the principles of collaboration -- Involve the relevant stakeholders -- Build consensus phase by phase -- Design a process map -- Designate a process facilitator -- Harness the power of group memory -- Part III: putting it all together -- Facilitative leadership -- Collaborative organizations
Making Things Work: Solving Complex Problems in a Complex World by
Today, as individuals and as a society, we are faced with highly complex challenges. When we don't solve them correctly they rapidly become crises. This book explains how we can use complex systems research to solve complex problems in: healthcare, education, military conflict, ethnic violence and terrorism, international development.
SNAP Matters: How Food Stamps Affect Health and Well-Being by
The volume concludes that SNAP is highly responsive to macroeconomic pressures and is one of the most effective antipoverty programs in the safety net, but the volume also encourages policymakers, students, and researchers to continue examining this major pillar of social assistance in America.
Feeding the Future: School Lunch Programs As Global Social Policy by
A century ago, only local charities existed to feed children. Today 368 million children receive school lunches in 151 countries, in programs supported by state and national governments. In Feeding the Future, Jennifer Geist Rutledge investigates how and why states have assumed responsibility for feeding children, chronicling the origins and spread of school lunch programs around the world, starting with the adoption of these programs in the United States.
The Black Panther Party: Service to the People Programs by
The Party pioneered free social service programs that are now in the mainstream of American life. The Party's Sickle Cell Anemia Research Foundation, operated with Oakland's Children's Hospital, was among the nation's first such testing programs. Its Free Breakfast Program served as a model for national programs. Other initiatives included free clinics, grocery giveaways, school and education programs, senior programs, and legal aid programs.
More Than Bread: Ethnography of a Soup Kitchen by
The contemporary soup kitchen -- A historical perspective -- The tabernacle soup kitchen -- Field study methods -- Profile of the guest population -- Loneliness -- An ambience of acceptance -- Social networks and social support -- Self-help in the dining room : guests as counselors -- Staff philosophy and the concept of ministry
America's Food: What You Don't Know About What You Eat by
The complete story of what we don't know, and what we should know, about American food production and its effect on health and the environment.We don't think much about how food gets to our tables, or what had to happen to fill our supermarket's produce section with perfectly round red tomatoes and its meat counter with slabs of beautifully marbled steak.
The End of Food by
The author of "The End of Oil" turns his attention to food and finds that the system entrusted with meeting one of the most basic needs is dramatically failing us. With his trademark comprehensive global approach, Roberts investigates the startling truth about the modern food system.
Bet the Farm: How Food Stopped Being Food by
Investigates the hidden connection between global food and global finance by asking the simple question: Why can't delicious, inexpensive, and healthy food be available to everyone on Earth? Reveals that money pouring into the global derivatives market in grain futures is having astonishing consequences that reach far beyond your dinner table.
Folks, This Ain't Normal: A Farmer's Advice for Happier Hens, Healthier People, and a Better World by
Farmer Joel Salatin is the 21st century's thinking man's farmer who believes that the answer to rebuilding America is to start with the family farm and for those farms to thrive, we all need to learn how to eat naturally again.
The Takeover: Chicken Farming and the Roots of American Agribusiness by
Drawing on USDA files, oral history, congressional records, and poultry publications, Gisolfi puts a local face on one of the twentieth century's silent agribusiness revolutions.
Tomatoland: How Modern Industrial Agriculture Destroyed Our Most Alluring Fruit by
Investigative food journalist Barry Estabrook reveals the huge human and environmental cost of the $5 billion fresh tomato industry and the price we pay as a society when we take taste and thought out of our food purchases.
In Food We Trust: The Politics of Purity in American Food Regulation by
One of the great myths of contemporary American culture is that the United States'food supply is the safest in the world because the government works to guarantee food safety and enforce certain standards on food producers, processors, and distributors. In reality U.S. food safety administration and oversight have remained essentially the same for more than a century.
Safe Food: Bacteria, Biotechnology, and Bioterrorism by
Marion Nestle, author of Food Politics, argues that ensuring safe food involves more than washing hands or cooking food to higher temperatures. It involves politics. When it comes to food safety, billions of dollars are at stake, and industry, government, and consumers collide over issues of values, economics, and political power - and not always in the public interest.
Biting the Hands That Feed Us: How Fewer, Smarter Laws Would Make Our Food System More Sustainable by
Food waste, hunger, inhumane livestock conditions, disappearing fish stocks—these are exactly the kind of issues we expect food regulations to combat. Yet, today in the United States, laws exist at all levels of government that actually make these problems worse. Baylen Linnekin argues that, too often, government rules handcuff America's most sustainable farmers, producers, sellers, and consumers, while rewarding those whose practices are anything but sustainable.
The Politics of Purity: Harvey Washington Wiley and the Origins of Federal Food Policy by
Spearheaded by Harvey Washington Wiley, the Pure Food and Drugs Act of 1906 launched the federal regulation of food and drugs in the United States. Wiley is often lauded as a champion of public interest for bringing about a law that required healthful ingredients and honest labeling. Clayton Coppin and Jack High demonstrate, however, that Wiley was in fact surreptitiously allied with business firms that would benefit from regulation.
Water 4.0: the Past, Present, and Future of the World's Most Vital Resource by
He then details the development of drinking water and sewage treatment systems--the second and third revolutions in urban water. He offers an insider's look at current systems that rely on reservoirs, underground pipe networks, treatment plants, and storm sewers to provide water that is safe to drink, before addressing how these water systems will have to be reinvented.
Water: the Fate of our Most Precious Resource by
Examines how water has been used to create and destroy civilizations throughout history and discusses the problems that could arise in the future if the world's water supply isn't protected.
Poison Spring: the Secret History of Pollution and the EPA by
Imagine walking into a restaurant and finding chlorinated hydrocarbon pesticides, listed in the description of your entree. They may not be printed in the menu, but many are in your food. These are a few of the millions of pounds of approved synthetic substances dumped into the environment every day, not just in the US but around the world. They seep into our water supply, are carried thousands of miles by wind and rain from the site of application, remain potent long after they are deposited.
Water: the Epic Struggle for Wealth, Power, and Civilization by
This book is an account of how water has shaped human society from the ancient past to the present. Far more than oil, the control of water wealth throughout history has been pivotal to the rise and fall of great powers, the achievements of civilization, the transformations of society's vital habitats, and the quality of ordinary daily lives. Today, freshwater scarcity is one of the twenty-first century's decisive, looming challenges, driving new political, economic, and environmental realities across the globe.
Privatizing Water: Governance Failure and the World's Urban Water Crisis by
Governance failure: reframing the urban water supply "crisis".Material emblems of citizenship: creating "public" water - Watering the thirsty poor: the water privatization debate. Citizens without a city: the techno-politics of urban water governance. Protesting privatization: transnational struggles over the human right to water. Commons versus commodities: the ambiguous merits of community water-supply management. Politics and biopolitics: debating ecological governance.
You're working through the databases, searching the Internet, or using Worldcat and come across a great resource that has the perfect title and summary. You check our catalog and our other databases and unfortunately this book/article/music score/CD-ROM/8-Track is not owned by Bennington College. Don't worry, we have a plan for these cases - you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. In our databases you can click on the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button, or by filling in the article, book, or other materials request form in Interlibrary Loan. Your item will either be scanned and e-mailed to you, sent to your ILL account, or sent to our library. You will then receive an e-mail when the item is available, and you can begin your celebratory dance. If you have never used Interlibrary Loan before to request an Interlibrary Loan, you can get information and set up an account here.