LibGuides: Research Resources at Crossett: Databases and Online Resources

Search for articles in a database

These are just a few of the multidisciplinary databases available through the Crossett Library web site. Click here to see the complete list of databases.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, et cetera.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers full-text access to almost 2,000 journals.
Omnifile Full-Text Select
Full text-only database containing a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.

Try Google Scholar for more possibilities

Google Scholar provides peer-reviewed abstracts, citations, and articles. It combines the simplicity of a Google search with the resources of an academic database.

News Sources

U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspaper, magazine, business, and legal sources.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
To set up a full access account:
Step 1: Navigate to www.accessnyt.com
Step 2: Search for and select “ Bennington College – Bennington, VT”
Step 3: Click "Create Account" and complete fields; you must use your (username@bennington.edu) email address.
Step 4: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)

Full text not available? Try Interlibrary Loan

If you find a title in a database or Google Scholar that is not held by Bennington College, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button, or by filling in the article request form in ILL. Your article will be scanned by another library and sent electronically to your ILL account. You will receive an e-mail when the article is available. If you have never used Illiad before to request an Interlibrary Loan, you need to set up an ILL account here.