African American Newspapers 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years.
To set up a full access account:
Step 1: Navigate to www.accessnyt.com
Step 2: Search for and select â Bennington College â Bennington, VTâ
Step 3: Click "Create Account" and complete fields; you must use your (username@bennington.edu) email address.
Step 4: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.
There are times when you may want to search for a specific journal in our databases. For example, you might have a citation for an article and want to see if we have access to the full text. Or perhaps a professor has recommended a journal, or you’ve found one that closely aligns with your research interests and you’d like to explore what’s been published in it. There are two separate ways to search for and within our journals, without having to go through each database individually.
Searching via the Catalog
1. You can search the main catalog for a particular journal. Enter the journal title in the main search box.
2. On the results page, the left side you can limit Material Type to Journal/Magazine.
3. Click "Access Journal" under your search result and you'll be presented with the list of databases we have that contain that journal and, crucially, the dates of coverage.
4. All databases will allow you to search the particular journal when you access it, but various databases will also allow you to navigate to a particular issue or volume via a issue date drop down.
Searching via the Journals tab
1) You can locate specific titles via the Journals tab on the front page.
2. After clicking Journals, you'll have the option to search for particular articles or journals, via title or ISSN.
3. After performing your search, you'll be given the list of databases with that selected journal and their particular full-text coverage. All databases will allow you to search the particular journal when you access it, but various databases will also allow you to navigate to a particular issue or volume via a issue date drop down.
