Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Artists' Books by the Artist's Last Name F-G
Call Number: Artists' Books N7433.4.F387 A55 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Letterpress with French sans serif extra wide wood type circa 1925 and printed on obsolete sea charts by Dikko Faust. Design by Esther K Smith. One folded continuous sheet of obsolete sea charts. Faust used extra-wide French wood type, circa 1925, to letterpress print the alphabet, printing both upper and lower case of each letter. 3" x 2 .5" closed, extends to 104.25"; 32 pages including self-wraps. Edition of 40. Signed.
Call Number: Artists' Books NX652.G38 F54 2008
Publication Date: Printed Matter, 2008
Active in New York City from 1991 to 1995, fierce pussy was composed of a fluid and often-shifting cadre of dykes. Core members included Pam Brandt, Nancy Brooks Brody, Joy Episalla, Alison Froling, Zoe Leonard, Suzanne Wright, and Carrie Yamaoka. Adamantly low-tech, fast and low-budget, fierce pussy relied on modest resources: old typewriters, found photographs, their own baby pictures, and whatever material they could get donated. Much of the work was produced using the equipment at their day jobs. Emerging during a decade steeped in the AIDS crisis, activism, and queer identity politics, fierce pussy brought lesbian identity directly out into the streets in a manner characterized by the urgency of those years. Published on the occasion of the collective's 2008 exhibition at Printed Matter, this poster book reproduces 16 classic posters from fierce pussy in an over-sized format with spiral binding. Offset Printed. Edition Size 1000. Pages
17 p. Dimensions 43.5 x 28 cm.
Will Happiness Find Me? by
Call Number: Artists' Books N7433.4.F572 W5 2003
Publication Date: 2003-08-02
An artist's book by the Swiss duo dedicated to the questions that everyone asks themselves once in a while: Can something be unbelievable? Should I get drunk? Could I be Japanese? Is the freedom of birds overrated? Am I a farmer in winter? Does unease grow by itself? Should I crawl into my bed and stop producing things all the time?
Lettres à Giorgio, 1967-1975 by
Call Number: Artists' Books ND1950.F64 A33 1975
43 facsimiles of color envelopes decorated by Jean-Michel Folon, addressed to his Italian friend Giorgio Soavi. 24 x 12 cm. Perfect binding.
On the Other Side by
Call Number: Artists' Books N7433.4 .S65 O6 2016
Publication Date: Women's Studio Workshop, 2016
On the Other Side is a collaborative work between French artist Claire Fouquet and American book artist Patty Smith that addresses issues of emigration. The concept originated as a response to the fences built by the United States to keep out illegal immigrants and by the French government’s policy on immigration. The book is a two-sided accordion with the recto side listing the fears that might be experienced by the emigrant. The cut windows entice the viewer to turn the concertina inside out. The verso side describes potential advantages, opportunities, and joys that might lead one “to appreciate the unfamiliar”. The work is also a comment on internal anxiety that prevents us from moving forward in our personal lives. Some obstacles, seemingly threatening and impossible to surmount, may be the product of our fear of failure or the unfamiliar. These illusions, manufactured by uncertainty, can be transcended through personal resolve and collective effort. 4 " x 5 1/2 ". Edition of 50. Crossett own number 24. Silkscreen. Folded paper enclosure. Binding: Accordion.
Seven Stories by
Call Number: Artists' Books TR269.F73 S4 2009
After completing The Americans in 1958, Robert Frank has worked almost exclusively with Polaroids, exploring the collage and assemblage possibilities of the instant photograph. Seven Stories brings together sequences of single images Frank has been compiling to create books of new work. As always the photographs and stories relate to Frank’s life and milieu, his homes in Mabou and New York, or a trip to China or Spain. This collection of small books is a new stage in the practice of this remarkable artist who continually challenges the limits of photography and film and strives to avoid repeating himself. 7 paperbound photobooks of reproductions of polaroid photographs by Robert Frank. 7 volumes in slipcase; 11 x 14 cm.
Bestiary / Bestiaro by
Call Number: Artists' Books PQ8097.N4 B4 1965
Publication Date: 1965
A poem by Pablo Neruda translated by Elsa Neuberger illustrated with woodcuts by Antonio Frasconi. Tipped in frontispiece print on handmade Goyu paper and signed by Frasconi in pencil. Printed at the Spiral Press under the direction of Joseph Blumenthal; signed by Frasconi and Blumenthal in the colophon. Type: Emerson. Paper: Rives mouldmade. Slip case with label. Signed edition of 300. Crossett owns number 182.
Beach Boxes by
Call Number: Artists' Books N7433.3.O54 2004d
Publication Date: Nazraeli Press 2004
"Philadelphia artist Judy Gelles ﬁrst encountered the beach boxes of Melbourne, Australia in 2001. These structures, passed down for generations, have distinct compositions and colors identifying speciﬁc family ownership. Gelles’ photographic documentation of the beach boxes investigates their vernacular architecture and pays homage to the historical and artistic beauty they convey. The artist begins with a straight photograph, then digitally removes the color from the background, heightening the color of the boxes and delivering an eerie and beautiful composition." "One Picture Book series was conceived in 1998 as a way to make original artwork affordable. The series consists of uniformly designed, modestly-sized hardcover books, comprising 16 pages that serve as a “canvas” for the artist to display one cohesive body of work. Each One Picture Book is published in an edition of 500 numbered copies, and each contains an original tipped-in photograph, signed on the verso by the artist; hence the name of the series." 19 cm. Edition of 500. Crossett owns number 315.
Hope Hill Road by
Call Number: Artists' Books N7433.4 .E867 2012
Publication Date: The Esopus Foundation, 2012
Esopus asked artist Robert Gober if he would consider creating a multiple for the publication. After several months of deliberation, Gober decided to create a piece that not only fit within the custom cardboard mailer we use to mail copies of Esopus; he actually made the mailer itself a part of the work. 5-color lithograph printed with light-fast, color-sensitive inks on acid free paper, mounted to archival board.
The Testament Project Vol. 1 by
Call Number: Artists' Books TR681.A33 G728 2016
Publication Date: 2016
"The Testament Project is an exploration and re-conception of the contemporary black experience in America. The first part of this series deals with black men, who are portrayed in the extreme- either as very rich or very poor, they are demonized, infantilized, ridiculed, idolized or hyper-sexualized; and within the art canon there is a noticeable scarcity of black male representation. I give control of the color and lighting to my subjects, in order to create a space that is participatory and empowered. By including my subjects in the creation of the scene in the use of color, I seek to create photographs that portray individuality in addition to their blackness. In the more traditionally lit studio portraits, the subjects are named for their professions to emphasize the depth of their identities, beyond race." Kris Graves. 64 p. Paperback.Perfect Binding. Edition of 200.
The Testament Project Vol. 3 by
Call Number: Artists' Books TR681.A33 G728 2016
The Testament Project is an exploration and re-conception of the contemporary black experience in America. More often than not, black people are portrayed in the extreme—either as very rich or very poor, they are demonized, infantilized, ridiculed, idolized or hyper-sexualized; and within the art canon there is a noticeable scarcity of black representation. "In these glowing portraits, control of the colored lighting is given to my subjects, in order to create a space that is participatory and empowered. By including subjects in the creation of the scene and the altering of color, I seek to create photographs that portray individuality in addition to their blackness." Kris Graves.  p. Perfect Binding
The Map of Neighboring Bodies by
Call Number: N7433.4.G734 M37 2017
Publication Date: Women's Studio Workshop, 2017
The Map of Neighboring Bodies is a book of invented iconography related to bodies of water. The artist plays with the definition of territory by breaking down boundaries across an open sea and systematically rebuilding them with pictograms. With these symbols, the book maps the natural, political, historical, and fantastic regions across five environments. The result is a reflection on the utility of maps as fictional devices and our longstanding need to create boundaries in order to make sense of the world around us. Graham’s interest in symbolic imagery hearkens back to an early affinity for 8-bit video games and ancient cartography. Designed to be cyclical, the book connects along a seamless path that wraps horizontally around the entire book. A key is provided on the front side to help the reader decipher the environments.17 cm x 14.6 cm x 2.54 cm  p. Silkscreen. Accordion fold. Edition of 65. Crossett owns number 15.
Cold Snaps by
Call Number: N7433.3.G73 C6 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Vanessa Graham’s comics function as puzzle-like intersections of image and text that carve out rituals through personal iconographies. Her bold sense of design and composition allow each spread to stand alone, weaving graphic elements together and apart across its curious vertical layout, which references the turnings of a calendar, measurements of the interminable and ritualistic passage of time. The book opens with a warning—“It’s a very very very narrow world”—accompanying its visual table of contents, or “Spell Index.” The titles listed seem to resonate with the spreads but don’t quite correspond with them; their subtle disjunctions give the sense of putting something together, making thematic connections that may not be entirely there. The graphic motif of the contents is answered in the figure of a woman painting her face with the phrase, “You’re going down.” Indeed, the book is an inexorable plummeting downward, the motion mirrored in the composition and the action enacted in the page turnings. But the bleakness of the theme here is a far cry from the tone of the visuals, whose soft color and intimate linework are inviting and at times even comforting. 28 unnumbered pages. 28 x 21 cm. Staple Bound. Risograph printed.
Flip-Pack : Series of Six Kinetic Books by
Call Number: Artists' Books NC1766.C32 M4 1981
1. Family of Four by Sara Petty 2. Booklings by Kathy Rose 3. Peepin' and a-Hidin' by Tony Eastman 4. Barrelhouse Bop by George Griffin 5. Wipes2 by Paul Glabick 6. Flowering by Roger Kukes. 6 volumes; 13 x 8 cm. Flip book. Perfect bound.
L'age Door by
Call Number: Artists' Books N7433.3.G851 L3
Flip book of 200 images about how to open and close a door and what it all means. Listed in Franklin Furnace Archive artists book bibliography, 1977-1979. Franklin Furnace Archive artists book bibliography. 13 cm, in box (14 x 9 x 9 cm). Printing: Offset. Binding: Post. Signed edition of 100. Crossett owns number 44.
5 Windows by
Call Number: Artists' Books N7433.4.G851 F56 1970z
Referenced in Franklin Furnace Archive artists book bibliography, 1977-1979.  p. 28 x 11 cm. Post binding.
Dancing Black Butterflies by
Call Number: Artists' Books N7433.4.G76 M3 2015
Publication Date: 2015
A pocket size catalogue showing full views and detail images of Mark Grotjahn's work Untitled (Dancing Black Butterflies, Drawing in 9 parts). 18 p. Hardcover. Accordion. 3.25 x 4.75 inches. Edition of 1,500