Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia articles about Sun Ra
Historical Dictionary of Jazz by
Publication Date: 2012-09-13
The Historical Dictionary of Jazz covers the history of Jazz through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,500 cross-referenced entries on significant jazz performers, band leaders, bands, venues, record labels, recordings, and the different styles of jazz.
Jazz : from its origins to the present by
Call Number: ML3506 .P66 1992
Publication Date: 1992-12-01
This entertaining one-volume comprehensive history of jazz and the artists who made it popular contains musical examples so that students who do not read music will not be inhibited.
The Complete Encyclopedia of African American History by
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
The Complete Encyclopedia of African American History chronicles 400 years of African American history. This comprehensive resource explores the past, the progress, and the present of African Americans in four volumes, each building, complementing, and expanding on the previous volume.
Encyclopedia of African History by
Call Number: DT20 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2004-11-22
With entries ranging from the earliest evolution of human beings in Africa to the beginning of the twenty-first century, this comprehensive three volume encyclopedia is the first reference work of this scale and scope.