Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for articles in a database
These are just a few of the many databases available through the Crossett Library web site. Click here to see the complete list of databases.
EBSCO Discovery Services
An amalgam of the various databases to which we subscribe, as well as our e-book and physical book collection.
EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary source of more than 10,000 full-text journals and magazines of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers full-text access to almost 2,000 journals.
Academic OneFile from Gale
Database covering social sciences, the humanities, science and technology, national news, and general interest magazines.
Omnifile Full-Text Select
Full text-only database containing a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
Journal Articles (Critical Writings)
Literary echoes of postmodernism.
Presents the address of the American Academy of Religion (AAR) president concerning postmodernism in literature as reflected in William Butler Yeats' poem `The Second Coming.' Transition from modernism to postmodernism; Elusive terms in the postmodernist vocabulary; Derridean concept of difference; Concept of resurrection; Sense of the ending of a civilization and its prophecy of the coming of a new destructive god.
W. B. Yeats's Poetry of Aging.
An essay is presented which discusses the theme of aging in the poetry of William Butler Yeats, with particular focus given to the persistence of references to old age and aging throughout his life as a writer. The evolution of Yeats' poetic technique is examined, and examples of his poetry discussing aging are provided.
'Chosen Comrades': Yeats's Romantic Rhymes.
Yeats's acute sense of the poet's labour, a labour that makes rhyme one of those 'befitting emblems of adversity' ('My House', Meditations in Time of Civil War, 30) energises his poetry. Rather than constricting poetry, rhyme can engender, if paradoxically, a kind of freedom for the poet; Yeats's choice of form reveals his Romantic influences while demonstrating his independence.
To Never See Death: Yeats, Reincarnation, and Resolving the Antinomies of the Body-Soul Dilemma.
This essay addresses the ideas and schemas of reincarnation as used in the poetry and prose of William Butler Yeats, with particular focus on the two editions of A Vision. It contrasts the metaphysical system as given in A Vision (1937) with a number of inconsistencies found in Yeats's poetic corpus, with an emphasis on how one might interpolate an escape from the cycle of lives, in at least one possibility while still maintaining corporality.
What rough beast? Yeats, Nietzsche and historical rhetoric in `The Second Coming'.
An essay is presented which looks at the poem "The Second Coming" by W.B. Yeats and how it reflects the poet's view of history. Discussing the imagery and language used by Yeats, the author attempts to identify the natural and logical thought process used in creating the poem. Particular attention is given to the influence of the element of paradox as introduced by the philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche, as well as Yeats' and Nietzsche's views on Christianity.
Find a great source we don't own? Try Interlibrary Loan!
You're working through the databases, searching the Internet, or using Worldcat and come across a great resource that has the perfect title and summary. You check our catalog and our other databases and unfortunately this book/article/music score/CD-ROM/8-Track is not owned by Bennington College. Don't worry, we have a plan for these cases - you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. In our databases you can click on the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button, or by filling in the article, book, or other materials request form in Interlibrary Loan. Your item will either be scanned and e-mailed to you, sent to your ILL account, or sent to our library. You will then receive an e-mail when the item is available, and you can begin your celebratory dance. If you have never used Interlibrary Loan before to request an Interlibrary Loan, you can get information and set up an account here.
Try Google Scholar for more possibilities