Skip to Main Content

Style in Motion: Costume Design for Dance: Film and Images

A resource guide for Chip Schoonmaker's Style in Motion: Costume Design for Dance course. DRA4310.01

Performance

Split Sides Merce Cunningham Dance Company
Call Number: DVD Performance 5715
Dance for Camera
Call Number: DVD Performance 2985
Dance for Camera 2
Call Number: DVD Performance 3723
Bennington School of the Dance, 1938
Call Number: Stream video
Merce Cunningham Dance Company Robert Rauschenberg Collaborations
Call Number: DVD Performance 4681
The Parsons Dance Company
Call Number: DVD Performance 4273
Cursive II a ballet by Lin Hwai-min for the Cloud Gate Dance Theatre of Taiwan.
Call Number: DVD Performance 4208
Pina
Call Number: DVD Performance 5076
The Hard Nut: Ballet in Two Acts by Mark Morris
Call Number: DVD Performance 4350
The Cost of Living
Call Number: DVD Performance 4359
Martha Graham in Performance
Call Number: DVD Performance 2412
Trisha Brown early works 1966-1979
Call Number: DVD Performance 2931

Documentaries

Tanzträume Pina Bausch
Call Number: DVD Documentary 4527
Ballets Russes
Call Number: DVD Documentary 3036
15 Days of Dance: the Making of "Ghost Light"
Call Number: DVD Documentary 4377
Limón a Life Beyond Words
Call Number: DVD Documentary 3251
Tango: Our Dance
Call Number: DVD Foreign Language 2434
Denishawn the contributions of American dance pioneers Ruth St. Denis and Ted Shawn
Call Number: DVD Documentary 2984
Paul Taylor Dancemaker
Call Number: DVD Documentary 4525
Miss Hill: Making Dance Matter
Call Number: DVD Documentary 6239
Cage Cunningham
Call Number: DVD Documentary 5460

Dance Image Archives Online

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Extensive digital image collections in dance including Denishawn Collection, Joffrey Ballet slides, Merce Cunningham Archive, and Dance Theater Workshop Archive.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Siobhan Davies RePlay
The Siobhan Davies digital archive (Siobhan Davies RePlay) is Europe's first digital archive of dance. The archive launched in 2009 and includes a comprehensive range of audio-visual content, text-based materials and content never before seen in the public domain.
Library of Congress

Dance Video Archives Online

Artstor

ArtStor
The JSTOR image database featuring a range of images from museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It is a image resource for Art History, Anthropology, Architecture, Fashion & Costume, Theater and more.
ArtStor is now hosted at JStor. To login, click "Login" on the top right, and choose "Log in with Google" and sign in with your Bennington credentials.