LibGuides: Hip Hop Archaeology: Finding Articles & News

Select Journals

Billboard
The international newsweekly of music, video and home entertainment; profiles, commentary, album ratings, feature articles, marketing and reviews.
Black Music Research Journal
Black Music Research Journal includes articles about the philosophy, aesthetics, history, and criticism of black music.
Journal of Popular Music Education
Journal of Popular Music Education features scholarship and practice and disseminates critique and other forms of scholarship related to the field.
Journal of Popular Music Studies
Dedicated to research on popular music throughout the world and approached from a variety of positions.

Access World News This link opens in a new window This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national or international levels. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Includes more than 80 Spanish language newspapers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Articles from newspaper, magazine, business, and legal sources.
America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window America’s Historical Newspapers offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of newspapers from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the early 20th century.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
To set up a full access account:
Step 1: Navigate to www.accessnyt.com
Step 2: Search for and select “ Bennington College – Bennington, VT”
Step 3: Click "Create Account" and complete fields; you must use your (username@bennington.edu) email address.
Step 4: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)

These are just a few of the many databases available through the Crossett Library web site. Click here to see the complete list of databases.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers full-text access to almost 2,000 journals.
Academic OneFile from Gale
Database covering social sciences, the humanities, science and technology, national news, and general interest magazines.
Omnifile Full-Text Select
Full text-only database containing a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.