Realizing the Impossible: Art Against Authority
by
Exploring the close relationship between aesthetics and politics in anti-authoritarian social movements, 'Realizing the Impossible' discusses an influence which has been felt in both directions - from cubism and surrealism to political resistance and activism.
Graphic Agitation: Social and Political Graphics Since the Sixties
by
From the revolutionary Sixties to the present day, this book explores the many ways graphic art and design have addressed social and political issues. The book covers a broad range of subject areas including war, peace, national politics, ecology, health, civil rights and sexual politics.
Graphic Agitation 2: Social and Political Graphics in the Digital Age
by
Graphic Agitation 2, a follow-up volume to the hugely successful Graphic Agitation, is a survey of social and political graphics since the early 1990s.
The Design of Dissent
by
With the world's economy in a slump, the Middle East's never ending conflict, and the on-going war on terrorism, there is a heightened awareness in the world community of the many sides of the numerous issues that both directly and indirectly affect our lives. Increasingly, people are feeling powerless and underrepresented because they have no voice. Designers, however, have a voice.
Delirium and Resistance : Activist Art and the Crisis of Capitalism
by
Capitalist crises do not begin within art, but art reflects and even amplifies their effects. The dizzying prices achieved by artists who pander to the financial elites, the proliferation of museums that contribute to the global competition between cities to attract capital, and the strange relationship between art and the rampant gentrification that restructures the urban landscape: these are the obvious features of art's subservience to capitalism.
Seeing Power: Art and Activism in the 21st century
by
Cultural production makes a world -- The didactic and the ambiguous in the paranoiac age of reception -- Seeing power in infrastructures of resonance -- Seeing through the haze of social and cultural capital -- Seeing power -- Seeing power in spaces -- Seeing power in space.
Whitewalling: Art, Race, and Protest in 3 Acts
by
Whitewalling takes a critical and intimate look at three "acts" in the history of the American art scene and ask: when we speak of artistic freedom and the freedom of speech, who, exactly, is free to speak?
Raymond Pettibon: Here's Your Irony Back: Political Works, 1975-2013
by
Since the late 1970s, as a pioneer of Southern California underground culture, Raymond Pettibon has blurred the boundaries of "high" and "low," from the deviations of marginal youth to art history, literature, sports, religion, politics and sexuality. Rich in detail, his obsessively worked drawings pull freely from myriad sources spanning the cultural spectrum. The resulting, highly poetic constructions function as acute reflections of contemporary society.
Black Panther: the Revolutionary Art of Emory Douglas
by
Discusses Douglas's seminal role in the crafting of the party's visual identity and cultural programs and his lasting influence on generations of artists and designers.
Jenny Holzer
by
Exhibition: Jenny Holzer: Protect Protect, co-organized by the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago and the Fondation Beyeler, Riehen/Basel. Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago, October 25, 2008 - February 1, 2009. Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, March 12, 2009 - May 31, 2009. Fondation Beyeler, Riehen/Basel, November 1, 2009 - January 24, 2010.
Theaster Gates: My Labor Is My Protest
by
Published on the occasion of the exhibition Theaster Gates : my labor is my protest, held at the White Cube, London, Sept. 7-Nov. 11, 2012.
An-My Lê: Events Ashore
by
Events Ashore continues her exploration of the American military, a pursuit both personal and civic. With this body of work, however, Lê emerges as a master colorist, employing the compositional precision and subtlety of palette of the large-format color negative to render the kaleidoscopic shifts of terrain and sudden intrusions of beauty, atmosphere and psychology within her observations of the military at work.
The Art of Mary Beth Edelson
Timeline, 1933-2000 / by Mary Beth Edelson and Amelia M. Trevelyan -- Shifting signs : on the art of Mary Beth Edelson / by Laura Cottingham -- The posters and collages -- Activism & community -- Humor and masquerade : the transformative art of Mary Beth Edelson
Martha Wilson Sourcebook
by
Martha Wilson sourcebook offers perspective on social, political, and cultural issues inspiring the artist's practices. It is comprised of articles, letters, newspaper cuttings, extracts from books, and images that she selected from her own archive and annotates with personal commentaries on the themes that arise.
Ai Weiwei
by
Weiwei's work is a blend of old and new, Western and Eastern, serious and irreverent. He has translated the readymade into a new artistic language, fusing neolithic pottery, fourteenth-century doors and seventeenth-century temple beams into sculptures. He has documented his disdain for authority by giving the finger to the Tiananmen in Beijing, the Reichstag in Berlin and the White House in Washington.
Ofrenda: Liliana Wilson's Art of Dissidence and Dreams
by
Liliana Wilson's art of resistance and protest, dissidence and dreams, consistently calls attention to injustice.Wilson belongs to a group of Chilean artists who were intimately shaped by the political turmoil and repression in Chile in the 1970s and 1980s and who have become self-exiled artists working outside of Chile but who are still tied to the political period and to its issues and concerns.
David Wojnarowicz: History Keeps Me Awake at Night
by
A revealing and gripping investigation into how social media platforms police what we post online-and the large societal impact of these decisions This engaging and richly illustrated book comprehensively examines the life and art of David Wojnarowicz (1954-1992), who came to prominence in New York's East Village art world of the 1980s, actively embracing all media and forging an expansive range of work both fiercely political and highly personal.
Political Graphics: Art As a Weapon
by
From the early anticlerical leaflets and broadsides of the Renaissance and Reformation to the anti-nuclear and ecology wall posters of today, the production of political graphics has increased like a tidal wave. The printed image-by virtue of its innate power to convince-has replaced the word in mass communication and virtually become the language of the modern world.
Design for Obama: Posters for Change
by
Poster Art of the Obama '08 Electoral Campaign: Graphic innovation that helped make history Hundreds of artists and designers expressed support for the Obama candidacy by designing posters and submitting them to designforobama.org for free download. This selection of the very best--curated by Spike Lee and Aaron Perry-Zucker--is a visual document of the most inspirational U.S. presidential campaign in living history. From its inception, the Barack Obama campaign was destined to make history. Its message of inclusion and empowerment was spread by thousands of volunteers, a grassroots organization of unprecedented size and enthusiasm. Design for Obama built on this spirit with an online forum where artists, designers and supporters could upload their artworks and download others. Shepard Fairey's social realist "Hope" poster became 2008's enduring image, inspiring scores of designs that appeared on the streets, at rallies and registration drives, and in homes and offices around the country. Edited by designforobama.org founder Aaron Perry-Zucker and filmmaker Spike Lee, this collection showcases over 200 of the best pro-Obama posters. Contributors range from prominent graphic and street artists to young up-and-comers. With essays by Spike Lee, Perry-Zucker, and design historian Steven Heller, this outstanding collection serves as a matchless historical document of the widespread visual creativity that helped spur Obama to victory. Text in English, French, German, and Spanish
Angry Graphics: Protest Posters of the Reagan/Bush era
by
A survey of political protest posters from the 1980s.
Art for Obama: Designing Manifest Hope and the Campaign for Change
by
Composed of paintings, collages, sculptures, photo composites, prints, murals, clothing designs, needlework, and computer-generated pieces from the Manifest Hope gallery exhibitions
Visions of Peace and Justice
by
Visions of Peace & Justice contains over 400 full color reproductions of political posters from the archives of Inkworks Press. Inkworks has an archive of posters from the American Indian Movement, Latin American Solidarity campaigns, Women's Liberation, community-based struggles against environmental racism, the current efforts to end the war in Iraq, or a broad range of other post-1960s US social movement.
Make Art Not War: Political Protest Posters from the Twentieth Century
by
Ralph Young has compiled an extraordinarily collection of posters that represent the progressive protest movements of the twentieth Century: labor, civil rights, the Vietnam War, LGBT rights, feminism and other minority rights.
Street Art and the War on Terror
by
Bringing together an array of antiwar, anti-Bush, and anti-Blair graffiti from the United States, Canada, Europe, Middle East, Japan, and Australia, this collection captures many unique images which have survived only a few hours between execution and clean-up. Including a chronology of opposition to the war organized by continent, and commentaries by the graffiti artists themselves.
The Art of Rebellion 2: World of Urban Art Activism
by
The Art of Rebellion 2 features an up to the minute international survey of street art, spotlighting dozens of new and unknown protagonists alongside many well known and respected artists who have been at it for years. Since the publication of the first volume, there has been a surge in street art activity and a growing awareness of the art form in the public eye; this volume takes the reader on a lush visual journey through that artistic explosion and features tons of new work with original styles, techniques and intent. T
Walls of Freedom: Street Art of the Egyptian Revolution
by
Walls of Freedom is a powerful portrayal of the Egyptian Revolution, telling the story with striking images of art that turned Egypt's walls into a visual testimony of bravery and resistance. This survey of Egyptian street art is also enriched by images of the revolution taken by acclaimed photographers and activists. Spanning major Egyptian cities like Cairo, Alexandria and Luxor, it is a day-to-day reflection of the volatile and fast-shifting political situation.
Aerosol Kingdom: Subway Painters of New York City
by
From a vast array of inherited traditions and gritty urban lifestyles talented and renegade young New Yorkers spawned a culture of their own, a balloon-lettered shout heralding the coming of hip-hop. Though helpless in checking its spreading appeal, city fathers immediately went on the attack and denounced it as vandalism. Many aficionados, however, recognized its trendy aesthetic immediately. By the 1980s spray-paint art hit the mainstream, and subway painters, mostly from marginal barrios of the city, became art world darlings. Their proliferating, ephemeral art was spotlighted in downtown galleries, in the media, and thereafter throughout the land.
Banksy: You are an Acceptable Level of Threat and If You Were Not You Would Know About It
by
A collection of photographs of Banksy's street work. You Are An Acceptable Level of Threat concentrates on this singular artist's imagery, spanning the late '90s up until the end of 2011.
Street Art Cookbook
by
The Street Art Cookbook is a guide to the materials and techniques used within today's most creative and progressive art movement. In hundreds of pictures and illustrations and a dozen of interviews with some of the world's most famous artists, the authors show how street art is made. From stencils and stickers to laser tagging and guerrilla gardening, the Street Art Cookbook takes us on a trip around the world in the search of the tricks and trades of street artists.
Re-Writing the Streets : The International Language of Stickers
by
Street art stickers have emerged as a provocative vehicle for self-expression and an effective way to engage passersby. Stickers may be used to “tag” a space and make it temporarily one’s own, to sell products or services, to publicize social media sites, or to offer social and political commentary and critique. As one of the most democratic art forms, stickers can be hand-drawn or printed on paper or vinyl as silkscreens, stencils, linocuts, Xeroxes, and offset lithographs.
Keith Haring
by
Aims to capture the spirit of Keith Haring's art, from his quick-draw graffiti art on black paper covering unsold advertising spaces in New York subways, to his large-scale canvases/murals and decorative and pop art output. Contributors to the text include William Burroughs and Timothy Leary.
See Red: Women's Workshop
by
Founded in 1974, See Red Women's Workshop grew out of a shared desire to combat sexist images of women and to create positive and challenging alternatives. Women from different backgrounds came together to make posters and calendars that tackled issues of sexuality, identity and oppression. Written by See Red members, detailing the group's history, the book features all of their original screenprints, alongside posters commissioned for radical groups and campaigns.
Zapantera Negra: an Artistic Encounter Between Black Panthers and Zapatistas
by
"What is the role of revolutionary art in times of distress? When Emory Douglas, former Minister of Culture of the Black Panther Party, accepted an invitation from the art collective EDELO and Rigo 23 to meet with autonomous and Indigenous and Zapatista communities in Chiapas, Mexico, they addressed just this question. Zapantera Negra is the result of their encounter.
AIDS Demo Graphics
by
In what the authors call a "do-it-yourself manual, showing how to make propaganda work in the fight against AIDS," they depict a history of demonstrations, sit-ins and similar steps taken by ACT UP and other groups. The volume is illustrated with photos of the protests as well as graphics used in conjunction with them.
Art of Engagement: Visual Politics in California and Beyond
by
Coverage includes: Bay Area's Free Speech Movement of 1964, the birth of Beat and hippie countercultures, the Chicano labor movement in the San Joaquin Valley, the beginning of the Black Panther Party in Oakland, and some of the most radical manifestations of the women's movement, gay liberation, Red Power, environmental activism, 9/11, and the war in Iraq
We Wanted a Revolution: Black Radical Women, 1965-85: a Sourcebook
by
Focusing on the work of black women artists, We Wanted a Revolution: Black Radical Women, 1965-85 examines the political, social, cultural, and aesthetic priorities of women of color during the emergence of second-wave feminism. It is the first exhibition to highlight the voices and experiences of women of color--distinct from the primarily white, middle-class mainstream feminist movement--in order to reorient conversations around race, feminism, political action, art production, and art history in this significant historical period.
We Wanted a Revolution: Black Radical Women, 1965-85, New Perspectives
by
Illustrated volume to accompany an exhibition at the Brooklyn Museum opening April 2017, including an introduction by the exhibition co-curators; three scholarly critical essays; remarks from a symposium held in conjunction with the exhibition on April 21, 2017, consisting of personal reminiscences of the theater group Rodeo Caldonia.
Soul of a Nation: Art in the Age of Black Power
by
In the period of radical change that was 1963-1983, young black artists at the beginning of their careers in the USA confronted key questions and pressures. How could they make art that would stand as innovative, original, formally and materially complex, while also making work that reflected their concerns and experience as black Americans? T
Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985
by
A series of thematic essays, arranged by country, address the cultural and political contexts in which these radical artists worked, while other essays address key issues such as feminism, art history, and the political body. Drawing its design and feel from the radical underground pamphlets, catalogs, and posters of the era, this is the first examination of a highly influential period in 20th-century art history.
Occupy Nation: the Roots, the Spirit, and the Promise of Occupy Wall Street
by
Provides a better understanding of the Occupy Wall Street movement by exploring its origins, spirit, uniqueness, predecessors, and inner tensions, while discussing the role it's likely to play in future political culture.
Resistance Art in South Africa
by
Resistance Art" was Sue Williamson’s classic account of the visual art against apartheid.
Strike Art: Contemporary Art and the Post-Occupy Condition
by
The collision of activism and contemporary art, from the Seattle protests to Occupy and beyond The collision of activism and contemporary art, from the Seattle protests to Occupy and beyond What is the relation of art to the practice of radical politics today? Strike Art explores this question through the historical lens of Occupy, an event that had artists at its core. Precarious, indebted, and radicalized, artists redirected their creativity from servicing the artworld into an expanded field of organizing in order to construct of a new--if internally fraught--political imaginary set off against the common enemy of the 1%. In the process, they called the bluff of a contemporary art system torn between ideals of radical critique, on the one hand, and an increasing proximity to Wall Street on the other--oftentimes directly targeting major art institutions themselves as sites of action. Tracking the work of groups including MTL, Not an Alternative, the Illuminator, the Rolling Jubilee, and G.U.L.F, Strike Art shows how Occupy ushered in a new era of artistically-oriented direct action that continues to ramify far beyond the initial act of occupation itself into ongoing struggles surrounding labor, debt, and climate justice, concluding with a consideration of the overlaps between such work and the aesthetic practices of the Black Lives Matter movement. Art after Occupy, McKee suggests, contains great potentials of imagination and action for a renewed left project that are still only beginning to ripen, at once shaking up and taking flight from the art system as we know it.
Protest: the Aesthetics of Resistance
by
Published in conjunction with the exhibition Protest! Widerstand im Plakat (Protest! Resistence Posters), held at the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, in 2018.
Signs of Resistance: a Visual History of Protest in America
by
In hundreds of iconic, smart, angry, clever, unforgettable images, Signs of Resistance chronicles what truly makes America great: citizens unafraid of speaking truth to power.Two hundred and forty images from British rule and women's suffrage to the civil rights movement and the Vietnam War; from women's equality and Black Lives Matter
4973: Berkeley protest posters 1970
by
Posters produced by students in a Political Poster Workshop in May of 1970 at the University of California at Berkeley
Decade of Protest: Political Posters from the United States, Vietnam, and Cuba, 1965-1975
by
Exhibition and catalogue organized with the Center for the Study of Political Graphics
Notes Toward a Performative Theory of Assembly
by
Judith Butler elucidates the dynamics of public assembly under prevailing economic and political conditions, analyzing what they signify and how. Understanding assemblies as plural forms of perfomative action, Butler extends her theory of performativity to argue that precarity - the destruction of the conditions of livability - has been a galvanizing force and theme in today's highly visible protests.
At War with War: 5,000 Years of Conquests, Invasions, and Terrorist Attacks
by
At War with War visualizes humanity's 5,000-year-long state of conflict, chaos, and violence on a continuous timeline. Seventy pages of stark black-and-white pen-and-ink drawings and woodcuts illustrate history's most notorious battles - from 3300 BCE to the present day. Seymour Chwast is a design legend who led a revolution in graphic design in the 60s and 70s, pushing the limits of nearly every visual medium.
Peace Signs: the Anti-War Movement Illustrated
by
Peace Signs is the ultimate collection of posters and graphics from the war in Iraq—uncensored, political, and thought-provoking. It includes over 200 full color posters from artists and designers from over 22 countries worldwide, featuring artwork by the prominent American poster artists Seth Tobocman, Shepard Fairey, Winston Smith, Chuck Sperry, Sue Coe, Ward Sutton, Nicole Schuman, and Mike Flugennock.
Posters for Peace: Visual Rhetoric & Civic Action
by
A rhetorical history of Vietnam War era posters produced at the University of California, Berkeley, in the spring of 1970. Places the posters in the contexts of the politics of the 1960s and the history of political graphics
Global Activism: Art and Conflict in the 21st Century
by
Art is emerging as a public space in which the individual can claim the promises of constitutional and state democracy. Activism may be the first new art form of the twenty-first century. Global Activism describes and documents politically inspired art - global art practices that draw attention to grievances and demand the transformation of existing conditions through actions, demonstrations, and performances in public space.
Heartfield Versus Hitler
by
Born in Berlin in 1891, John Heartfield grew up in Germany during the formative years of the main modern movements: Expressionism, Cubism, Futurism, each of which contributed recognisably to the photomontages for which he would become famous. Sharply critical of the Weimar Republic in which he flourished, in Germany his work was banned for the duration of Hitler's Third Reich. In London, where he lived as an anti-Fascist exile throughout the Second World War, he remained an outsider till after his return to East Germany in 1950, It is only since the 1970s that he has become a European, if not a world figure
Artists in Times of War
by
Artists in times of war -- Emma Goldman, anarchism, and war resistance -- Stories Hollywood never tells -- Pamphleteering in America.
Revolucion! Cuban Poster Art
by
The poster was the popular art form in Cuba following the Cuban Revolution, when the government sponsored some 10,000 public posters on a fascinating range of cultural, social, and political themes. Revolucin!, produced with unprecedented access to Cuban national archives, assembles nearly 150 of these powerful but little--seen works of popular art.
Stories for Little Comrades: Revolutionary Artists and the Making of Early Soviet Children's Books
by
In the Soviet Union of the 1920s, the most prominent avant-garde artists were eager children's book illustrators. Reaching a mass audience of unformed, malleable young people appealed to their commitment to an art manifesto based on the creation of a new kind of person for the revolutionary age. At the same time, the opportunity to work for good pay along with a low risk of censorship were practical attractions. The Constructivist artists drew considerable attention in the West for their brilliant creativity in using geometric designs, machine-age forms, and an architectural sense of space in their approach to the visual arts. Rejecting easel painting as a pass#65533; bourgeois preoccupation, they turned to designing and mythologizing objects of everyday use. In a major reassessment of their work, Evgeny Steiner forcefully demonstrates that the Constructivists were as committed to implementing Utopia'regardless of the human cost'as their establishment counterparts. Basing his work almost completely on primary sources?Russian picture books from the Russian State Library, private collections, and publishers? archives?Evgeny Steiner tells his story in deft prose with a wry sense of humor. The solidness of his sources, the range of his interests, and the depth of his understanding of Russian life combine to make this an unusually perceptive book on a fascinating cultural issue that combines the visual arts, literature, and politics.
Art in Turmoil: the Chinese Cultural Revolution, 1966-76
by
Forty years after the Cultural Revolution, Art in Turmoil revisits the visual and performing arts of the period - the paintings, propaganda posters, political cartoons, sculpture, folk arts, private sketchbooks, opera, and ballet. Probing deeply, it examines what these vibrant, militant, often gaudy images meant to artists, their patrons, and their audiences at the time, and what they mean now, both in their original forms and as revolutionary icons reworked for a new market-oriented age.
Art and Revolution: Transversal Activism in the Long Twentieth Century
by
Extending the postculturalist theory of revolution to the nexus of art and activism, Gerald Raunig explores cultural legacy of activism in the 20th century.
Art and Revolution in Latin America, 1910-1990
by
Craven investigates the extraordinary impact of three Latin American revolutions on the visual arts and on cultural policy. The three great upheavals - in Mexico (1910-40), in Cuba (1959-89), and in Nicaragua (1979-90) - were defining moments in twentieth-century life in the Americas.
Future Imperfect: A Blade of Grass, 2014-15
by
Future Imperfect weaves together accessible scholarship and leading examples of socially engaged art, including artist projects by Mel Chin, Brett Cook, Pablo Helguera, Fran Ilich, Norene Leddy & Liz Slagus, Jan Mun and Jody Wood.
Beautiful Trouble: a Toolbox for Revolution
by
An invaluable activist resource, Beautiful Trouble assembles the best ideas of 10 groundbreaking organizations and over 70 troublemakers into a set of interlocking design principles. Use it to instigate anything from a flash mob to a revolution.
Art Against the Law
by
Art Against the Law examines the creative tactics of the city's activist artists and their ways of addressing the broad definitions of the law - from responses to excessive policing to inequities in public policy. These include creative forms of protest, rebellion against the law through illegal art practices, and using the political system itself as an art medium to alter existing laws. T
Art and Social Change: A Critical Reader
by
This reader gathers together an international selection of artists' proposals, manifestos, theoretical texts and public declarations that focus on the question of political engagement and the possibility of social change
The Revolution Will Not Be Funded: Beyond the Non-Profit Industrial Complex
by
e Revolution Will Not Be Funded gathers essays by radical activists, educators, and non-profit staff from around the globe who critically rethink the long-term consequences of what they call the "non-profit industrial complex." Drawing on their own experiences, the contributors track the history of non-profits and provide strategies to transform and work outside them.
Facilitator's Guide to Participatory Decision-Making
by
The third edition of this book continues to advance its mission to support groups to do their best thinking. It demonstrates that meetings can be much more than merely an occasion for solving a problem or creating a plan. Every well-facilitated meeting is also an opportunity to stretch and develop the perspectives of the individual members, thereby building the strength and capacity of the group as a whole.
Where Is Ana Mendieta?
by
The book shows how Mendieta used exile as a discursive position from which to disrupt dominant categories, analyzing as well Mendieta's use of mythology and anthropology, the ephemeral nature of her media, and the debates over her ethnic, gender, and national identities.
Blacktino Queer Performance
by
Staging an important new conversation between performers and critics, Blacktino Queer Performance approaches the interrelations of blackness and Latinidad through a stimulating mix of theory and art.
No Billionaire Left Behind: Satirical Activism in America
by
No Billionaire Left Behind is an investigation into how satirical activists tackle two topics in contemporary American political culture: the division of wealth in America, and the role of big money in electoral politics. Haugerud charts the evolution of a group named the Billionaires--a network of satirists and activists who make a mockery of wealth in America--along with other satirical groups and figures to puzzle out their impact on politics and public opinion.
Radical Presence: Black Performance in Contemporary Art
by
Comprehensive survey of performance art by black artists working from the perspective of the visual arts from the 1960s to the present.
Disidentifications: Queers of Color and the Performance of Politics
by
José Esteban Muñoz looks at how those outside the racial and sexual mainstream negotiate majority culture--not by aligning themselves with or against exclusionary works but rather by transforming these works for their own cultural purposes. Muñoz calls this process "disidentification," and through a study of its workings, he develops a new perspective on minority performance, survival, and activism.
Curatorial Activism: Towards an Ethics of Curating
by
Arranged in thematic sections focusing on feminism, race, and sexuality, Curatorial Activism examines and illustrates pioneering examples of exhibitions that have broken down boundaries and demonstrated that new approaches are possible.
Institutional Critique: An Anthology of Artists' Writings
by
An anthology of writings & projects by artists from across Europe & the Americas who have developed & expanded the genre of institutional critique. This is an artistic practice that reflects critically on its own housing in galleries & museums & on the concept & social function of art itself.
On Value
by
The book is a multifarious conversation about the value of artworks and the labor and bodies that make them, especially as defined by institutions with whom artists have often had fraught relationships.
Mounting Frustration: the Art Museum in the Age of Black Power
by
In Mounting Frustration Susan E. Cahan investigates the strategies African American artists and museum professionals employed as they wrangled over access to and the direction of New York City's elite museums. Drawing on numerous interviews with artists and analyses of internal museum documents, Cahan gives a detailed and at times surprising picture of the institutional and social forces that both drove and inhibited racial justice in New York's museums.
Photography As Activism
by
In Photography as Activism, Michelle Bogre discusses the philosophy and history of photography's role in social reform. Beginning with the invention of the camera, she traces the earliest instances of photographic activism through to today's emerging practices, profiling the most prominent activists of their time and their legendary images.
Art, Activism, and Oppositionality
by
A collection of essays from the influential American journal of film, video and photography, exploring ideologies and institutions of the artworld; current media strategies for producing social change; and topics around gender, race and representation.
Picturing Atrocity: Photography in Crisis
by
This title taps into the widespread interest in, and concern about, photographs of atrocity. The book contains a broad range of atrocity photographs from throughout history and around the world, as well as essays by well-known artists and photographers.
Activestills: Photography as Protest in Palestine/Israel
by
Activestills: Photography as Protest in Palestine/Israel' examines the collective's archive and activity from historical, theoretical, critical, and personal perspectives. It is the result of an in-depth dialogue among members of the collective and activists, journalists, intellectuals, and academics, and stands as the definitive study of the collective's work.
Magnum Stories
by
This book covers a wide range of subjects including the Vietnam War, student protests in Tiananmen Square, Fidel Castro overthrows Cuban dictator in 1959, Picasso, Malcolm X, the French theatre group Thetre du Soleil, the US invasion of Grenada in the early 1980s, and the New York police, Apartheid
In Opposition: Images of American Dissent in the Sixties
by
Photography by Benedict J. Fernandez
Aleksandr Zhitomirsky: Photomontage as a Weapon of World War II and the Cold War
by
The leading Russian propaganda artist Aleksandr Zhitomirsky (1907–1993) made photomontages that were airdropped on German troops during World War II. He later worked for Pravda and other leading publications, satirizing American politics and finance from the Truman through the Reagan eras and educating his public about Egypt, South Africa, Vietnam, and Nicaragua as well.
Read and Riot: a Pussy Riot Guide to Activism
by
Read & Riot is structured around Nadya’s ten rules for revolution (Be a pirate! Make your government shit its pants! Take back the joy!) and illustrated throughout with stunning examples from her extraordinary life and the philosophies of other revolutionary rebels throughout history.
The Mitki and the Art of Postmodern Protest in Russia
by
During the late Soviet period, the art collective known as the Mitki emerged in Leningrad. Producing satirical poetry and prose, pop music, cinema, and conceptual performance art, this group fashioned a playful, emphatically countercultural identity with affinities to European avant-garde and American hippie movements.
The Guerrilla Girls' Bedside Companion to the History of Western Art
by
Take a romp through the last two thousand years of Western Art with the Guerrilla Girls as your guides, and find out the real who, what, when, and why of art history. Who put all those naked men in the classical section of museums? What were the "do's" and "don'ts" for female artists as "civilization" marched across Europe? Why did nuns have more fun in medieval times?
How We Get Free: Black Feminism and the Combahee River Collective
by
The Combahee River Collective, a path-breaking group of radical black feminists, was one of the most important organizations to develop out of the antiracist and women’s liberation movements of the 1960s and 70s. In this collection of essays and interviews edited by activist-scholar Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor, founding members of the organization and contemporary activists reflect on the legacy of its contributions to Black feminism and its impact on today’s struggles.
Pussy Riot! A Punk Prayer For Freedom
by
A history of the Russian feminist punk collective Pussy Riot
Barcelonan Okupas: Squatter Power!
by
The okupas reconfigure the way thoughts, words, images and bodily responses are linked by evoking and communicating the idea of free exchange and openness through art (poetry, music, performance art, the plastic arts, graffiti, urban art and cinema); and by acting out and rehearsing these ideas in the practice of squatting. The okupas challenge society to differentiate the images and representations instituted by state domination or capitalist exploitation from the subversive potential of imagination.
Craftivism: the Art of Craft and Activism
by
Craftivism is a worldwide movement that operates at the intersection where craft and activism meet; Craftivism the book is full of inspiration for crafters who want to create works that add to the greater good. With interviews and profiles of craftivists who are changing the world with their art, and through examples that range from community embroidery projects, stitching in prisons, revolutionary ceramics, AIDS activism, yarn bombing, and crafts that facilitate personal growth.
68 Ways to Make Really Big Puppets:
by
A Patternbook of Parades and Pageants. Bread and Puppet Theater. 10 pgs. Saddle Stitch / Staple binding
Fray: Art + Textile Politics
by
Fray explores textiles and their role at the forefront of debates about process, materiality, gender, and race in times of economic upheaval. Closely examining how amateurs and fine artists in the United States and Chile turned to sewing, braiding, knotting, and quilting amid the rise of global manufacturing, Julia Bryan-Wilson argues that textiles unravel the high/low divide and urges us to think flexibly about what the politics of textiles might be.
Social Object: Socially Engaged Craft Theory, Practice and Action
by
In Social objects, members of the Socially Engaged Craft Collective and guest contributors investigate socially engaged craft practice through essays, interviews, project descriptions, and calls to action.
Queer Threads: Crafting Identity and Community
by
Loaded with gender connotations and power hierarchies, fiber-based handicrafts such as crochet, embroidery, knitting, macrame, quilting, and sewing provide a fitting platform for examining tastes, roles, and relationships socialized within and around gay and lesbian culture, as well as our reactions to the traditional home and cultures in which we were raised.
Yes Yes Yes Alternative Press 1966-1977, From Provo To Punk
by
The ultimate compendium of counterculture press in the United States and the Netherlands during the heady decades of the 1960s and 70s, this volume includes alternative press magazines and zines.
Adjusted Margin: Xerography, Art, and Activism in the Late Twentieth Century
by
Discusses how xerography democratized print culture by making it convenient and affordable for renegade publishers, zinesters, artists, punks, anarchists, queers, feminists, street activists, and others to publish their work and to get their messages out on the street.
Stolen Sharpie Revolution
by
Sharpie Revolution consists of thoughtful lists and step-by-step how-to guides on everything from definitions of a zine, where to find zines, why they are important, how to make them and how to participate in zine culture.
Stolen Sharpie Revolution 2
by
Topics include: Zine making tips : how to find, make, revise, copyright; Zine layout and printing : templates, affording, binding; Skill share: stencils, block printing, bookbinding, papermaking; and more.
Notes from Underground: Zines and the Politics of Alternative Culture
by
From their origins in early 20th century science fiction cults, their more proximate roots in 1960s counter-culture and their proliferation in the wake of punk rock, Stephen Duncombe pays full due to the political importance of zines as a vital network of popular culture.
Risography: Loving Imperfections
by
Risography is a subculture and a printing method with a very peculiar and unique aesthetic with whom a lot of artist, designers, creatives and bookmakers have fallen in love.
Make a Zine!: When Words and Graphics Collide
by
Topics include: How to make a zine in eight simple steps; Organization; Layout and type; Photos, illustration, and pre-press; Printing and paper; Contributors; Inspiration; Copyright; Compiling back issues; Ethics; Sustainability.
Make a Zine!
by
Hints and leads make this a user--friendly guide to self-publishing - applicable to zine, book, chapbook, or newsletters. Student journalists to activists to editors will find this a comprehensive guide to the small press.
Power to the People: The Graphic Design of the Radical Press and the Rise of the Counter-Culture, 1964-1974
by
Though we think of the 1960s and the early '70s as a time of radical social, cultural, and political upheaval, we tend to picture the action as happening on campuses and in the streets. Yet the rise of the underground newspaper was equally daring and original. Thanks to advances in cheap offset printing, groups involved in antiwar, civil rights, and other social liberation issues began to spread their messages through provocatively designed newspapers and broadsheets. This vibrant new media was essential to the counterculture revolution as a whole--helping to motivate the masses and proliferate ideas. Power to the People presents more than 700 full-color images and excerpts from these astonishing publications, many of which have not been seen since they were first published almost fifty years ago. From the psychedelic pages of the Oracle, Haight-Ashbury's paper of choice, to the fiery editorials of the Black Panther Party Paper, these papers were remarkable for their editors' fervent belief in freedom of expression and their DIY philosophy. They were also extraordinary for their graphic innovations. Experimental typography and wildly inventive layouts reflect an alternative media culture as much informed by the space age, television, and socialism as it was by the great trinity of sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll. Assembled by renowned graphic designer Geoff Kaplan, Power to the People pays homage in its layout to the radical press. Beyond its unparalleled images, Power to the People includes essays by Gwen Allen, Bob Ostertag, and Fred Turner, as well as a series of recollections edited by Pamela M. Lee, all of which comment on the critical impact of the alternative press in the social and popular movements of those turbulent years. Power to the People treats the design practices of that moment as activism in its own right that offers a vehement challenge to the dominance of official media and a critical form of self-representation. No other book surveys in such variety the highly innovative graphic design of the underground press, and certainly no other book captures the era with such an unmatched eye toward its aesthetic and look. Power to the People is not just a major compendium of art from the '60s and '70s--it showcases how the radical media graphically fashioned the image of a countercultural revolution that still resounds to this day.
How Posters Work
by
The book is organized around active design principles. Concepts such as "Simplify," "Focus the eye," "Exploit the diagonal," "Reverse expectations" and "Say two things at once" are illustrated with a diverse range of posters, from avant-garde classics and rarely seen international works to contemporary pieces by today's leading graphic designers.
New Master's of Poster Design
by
The poster has now become a postcard and e-mail blast, leaving many to long for the lost age when posters were not only major promotional vehicles, but also artwork worthy of framing. Some of the world's best designers just could not stand idle while the poster fell by the wayside.
New Masters of Poster Design, Volume 2
by
This second edition of New Masters of Poster Design features the best poster designers currently working all over the world. This book brings back a handmade aesthetic that was really never lost, but is celebrating a resurgence among designers.
The Phaidon Archive of Graphic Design (pt. 3 Poster Design)
by
The Archive contains 500 works. There are 117 cards in poster design (part 3 of set)
History of the Poster
by
History of the Posteris a landmark account of one of the most prolific visual traditions of our culture. Originally published in 1971, this seminal study is clearly written and richly illustrated.
Hatch Show Print: the History of a Great American Poster Shop
by
In this age of digital media, the handcrafted ethic and aesthetic of a Hatch Show Print poster is beyond compare. Country musicians and magicians, professional wrestlers and rock stars, all have turned to Nashville's historic Hatch Show Print to create showstopping posters. Established in 1879, Hatch preserves the art of traditional printing that has earned a loyal following to this day (including the likes of Beck, Emmylou Harris, and the Beastie Boys). Hatch Show Print: The History of a Great American Poster Shop is the first fully illustrated tour of this iconic print shop and also chronicles the long life and large cast of employees, entertainers, and American legends whose histories are intertwined with it. Complete with 190 illustrations--as well as a special book jacket that unfolds to reveal an original Hatch poster on the reverse--Hatch Show Print is a dazzling document of this legendary institution.
Modern Dog: 20 Years of Poster Art (Not Canine Related)
by
Seattle-based design studio Modern Dog's heady mix of cheeky humor and punk rock aesthetics makes them unique among design firmsand a hell of a lot of fun. Gathered here for the first time is their groundbreaking work in poster design over the past two decades. Posters for theater, events, music, social issues, and self-promotion run the gamut of approaches and attitudes, but always reflects founders Mike Strassbuger and Robynne Raye's distinctive eye. What's moreand unusual in a designmonographtheir text is laugh-out-loud funny on nearly every page. Interviews with Mike and Robynne by design luminaries James Victore and Rick Valicenti and an essay by critic Steven Heller illuminate the working methods of these creators of iconic and irreverent fin-de-sicle design.
Art in the Age of the Internet, 1989 to Today
by
From the fall of the Berlin Wall to Black Lives Matter, the internet's promise to foster communication across borders and democratize information has evolved alongside its rapidly developing technologies. While it has introduced radical changes to how art is made, disseminated, and perceived, the internet has also inspired artists to create inventive and powerful work that addresses new conceptions of community and identity, modes of surveillance, and tactics for resistance.
Democracy Bytes: New Media, New Politics and Generational Change
by
This book presents an optimistic assessment of how digital media supports new and distinctive forms of politics. Four case studies are offered: one of performance art and protest in Russia, another investigates new media campaigns to defend the rights to freedom of speech and copyright in America, one enquires into indigenous art and cartoons as politics in outback Australia and the last explores new forms of student action in schools and the university
Tweets and the Streets: Social Media and Contemporary Activism
by
Examines the relationship between the rise of social media and the emergence of a new protest culture. Social media has been chiefly used as part of a project of re-appropriation of public space, and as a means to exert a form of soft leadership, involved in the 'choreographing' of collective action around symbolic 'occupied squares' from Tahrir to Zuccotti Park.
Digital Activism Decoded
by
The media has covered cases of citizens using digital technologies to push for social and political change. These stories have been published, discussed, extolled, and derided, but have not yet been viewed holistically as a new field of human endeavor. We call this field "digital activism" and its dynamics, practices, misconceptions, and possible futures are presented together for the first time in this book.
Hacker, Hoaxer, Whistleblower, Spy: the Many Faces of Anonymous
by
Hacker, Hoaxer, Whistleblower, Spy is filled with insights into the meaning of digital activism and little understood facets of culture in the Internet age, including the history of "trolling," the ethics and metaphysics of hacking, and the origins and manifold meanings of "the lulz."
Art and the Internet
by
chapters: net.art, Activist Art and Surveillance-Related Work, Internet-Enabled Participatory, Postinternet Art and Social Media Influenced Art and Identity Construction
See Red Women's Workshop
by
"Girls are powerful": the '70s feminist posters of See Red Women's Workshop A feminist silkscreen poster collective founded in London in 1974 by three former art students, the See Red Women's Workshop grew out of a shared desire to combat sexist images of women and to create positive and challenging alternatives. Women from different backgrounds came together to make posters and calendars that tackled issues of sexuality, identity and oppression. With humor and bold, colorful graphics, See Red expressed the personal experiences of women as well as their role in wider struggles for change. Written by See Red members, detailing the group's history up until the closure of the workshop in 1990, and with a foreword by celebrated feminist historian Sheila Rowbotham, See Red Women's Workshop features all of the collective's original screenprints and posters. Confronting negative stereotypes, questioning the role of women in society, and promoting women's self-determination, the power and energy of these images reflect an important and dynamic era of women's liberation--with continued relevance for today.