Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Play Reviews
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Select "Advanced Search" and select "Entertainment Review" under Document Type. In the search box type in the title of the play, performer, venue, or playwright.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Select "Advanced Search" In the search box type in the title of the play, performer, venue, or playwright. Under document type check the box "Reviews"
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
In the search box type in the title of the play, performer, venue, or playwright. Click on "Advanced Options" and select "Theatre Reviews" Click Apply. Click Search.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Select "Advanced Search" Type the name of the play, performer, venue, or playwright and then under "Select Document Types" chose "Theater Review" You can also limit to Full Text Only.
Finding Drama Articles
women dramatists, women playwrights, 20th century, american drama, american theatre
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary source of more than 10,000 full-text journals and magazines of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an excellent source of full-text articles in scholarly journals encompassing a wide range of disciplines including but not limited to Anthropology, Architecture, Art & Art History, Biological Sciences, Environmental Studies, History, International Relations, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Music, Peace & Conflict Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, and Sociology.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowGale’s premier periodical resource, Academic OneFile offers access to more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 8,000 in full text. In addition to scholarly content, Academic OneFile also includes the full text of The Economist from 1988 to the present, full text of The New York Times from 1985 to the present, and podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN.
An online database of Broadway theater production information from 1930 to present, created and operated by Playbill. Provides Playbill cover images; Broadway casts; who’s who biographies; awards; production credits, photos and videos; actor head shots; and box office data.
Internet Off-Broadway Database (Lortel Archives)
Also known as the Lortel Archives, includes information about off-Broadway productions going back to 1958.