Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Artists and Archives
The Big Archive: Art from Bureaucracy by The typewriter, the card index, and the filing cabinet: these are technologies and modalities of the archive. To the bureaucrat, archives contain little more than garbage, paperwork no longer needed; to the historian, on the other hand, the archive’s content stands as a quasi-objective correlative of the “living” past. Twentieth-century art made use of the archive in a variety of ways—from what Spieker calls Marcel Duchamp’s “anemic archive” of readymades and El Lissitzky’s Demonstration Rooms to the compilations of photographs made by such postwar artists as Susan Hiller and Gerhard Richter. In The Big Archive, Sven Spieker investigates the archive—as both bureaucratic institution and index of evolving attitudes toward contingent time in science and art—and finds it to be a crucible of twentieth-century modernism.
Call Number: N6490 .S646 2008
Archive Fever: Uses of the Document in Contemporary Art by Organized and written by renowned scholar and ICP Adjunct Curator Okwui Enwezor, and taking its title from Jacques Derrida's book of the same name, Archive Fever gathers leading contemporary artists who use archival materials in the fabrication of their work. The works take many forms, including physical archives arranged by bizarre cataloguing methods, imagined biographies of fictitious persons, collections of found and anonymous photographs, film versions of photographic albums and photomontages composed from historical photographs. These images offer a wide-ranging subject matter, but are linked by the artists' shared meditation on photography and film as the quintessential media of the archive.
Call Number: TR820.5 .E58 2008
The Archive (Whitechapel: Documents of Contemporary Art) by In the modern era, the archive -- official or personal -- has become the most significant means by which historical knowledge and memory are collected, stored, and recovered. The archive has thus emerged as a key site of inquiry in such fields as anthropology, critical theory, history, and, especially, recent art. Traces and testimonies of such events as World War II and ensuing conflicts, the emergence of the postcolonial era, and the fall of communism have each provoked a reconsideration of the authority given the archive -- no longer viewed as a neutral, transparent site of record but as a contested subject and medium in itself.
Call Number: CD971 .A715 2006
Disassembling the Archive by Exceptionally well designed, engaging and mysterious, Disassembling the Archive is a quasi-fictional correspondence with the Amsterdam-based, Indonesia-born artist Fiona Tan. It departs from interpretations of postcolonial identity issues in Tan's work to trace the implications of the archival housing of photographs and moving images. By way of a detour through Siegfried Kracrauer's writing on photography and Jacques Derrida's writing on the Freudian impression, we witness--right before our eyes--the disintegrative and destructive effect of photography on the archive.
Call Number: Main Lvl N6953.T36 A4 2007
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
Finding Resources at Crossett
Search the library catalog only.
Search the catalog, databases, journals & articles.
Getting Books Crossett Doesn't Own
If Crossett doesn't already own the book you want you can request that we purchase it and add it to the collection. You will receive an e-mail when it is ready for pickup.
You can find books in other libraries using Worldcat. If you find a title in Worldcat that is not held by Bennington College, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the "Request through Illiad" button. Your book will be shipped from the lending library to Crossett Library, and you will receive an e-mail when it is ready for pickup.
If you have never used Illiad before to request an Interlibrary Loan, you need to set up an Illiad account here.