Images - 19th Century - Historical Dress - LibGuides at Bennington College

ArtStor

Searching in ArtStor is a great way to get visual inspiration for your designs through objects and art. One advantage of ArtStor is you can zoom in very closely on the image and look at the details.

Advanced Search idea:

Set dates to 1800 - 1900 | Set Collection to Fashion, Costume and Jewelry | Set Geography to Europe.

Museum Collections

V&A Museum
Searchover 700,000 images from the V&A's collections- the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world. Key items in the collection include rare 17th century gowns, 18th century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear and post-war couture.
Costume Institute - Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Costume Institute's collection of more than 35,000 costumes and accessories represents five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress, regional costumes, and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Metropolitan Museum’s collection.
Europeana Fashion
Search images from 25 institutions in 12 European countries. Online content includes historical costumes, fashion and accessories, textiles, photos, videos, biographies, drawings, catalogs. The aim is twofold: to disseminate the European fashion heritage and preserve it for future generations.

See the Details in ArtStor

Dress, Evening c1875

Charles Frederick Worth

Dress, Evening c1875

Charles Frederick Worth

Dress, Evening c1875

Charles Frederick Worth

Historical Dress: Images - 19th Century

ArtStor

Museum Collections

See the Details in ArtStor

Dress, Evening c1875

Dress, Evening c1875

Dress, Evening c1875