Ain't I a Woman: Black Women and Feminism
by
A groundbreaking work of feminst history and theory analyzing the complex relations between various forms of oppression. Ain't I a Woman examines the impact of sexism on black women during slavery, the historic devaluation of black womanhood, black male sexism, racism within the recent women's movement, and black women's involvement with feminsim.
Black Queer Freedom: Spaces of Injury and Paths of Desire
by
Whether engaged in same-sex desire or gender nonconformity, black queer individuals live with being perceived as a threat while simultaneously being subjected to the threat of physical, psychological, and socioeconomical injury. Attending to and challenging threats has become a defining element in queer black artists'work throughout the black diaspora.
Black Queer Studies: A Critical Anthology
by
While over the past decade a number of scholars have done significant work on questions of black lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered identities, this volume is the first to collect this work and make black queer studies visible as a developing field of study in the United States. Bringing together essays by established and emergent scholars, this collection assesses the strengths and weaknesses of prior work on race and sexuality and highlights the theoretical and political issues at stake in the field of black queer studies.
Crip Theory: Cultural Signs of Queerness and Disability
by
Crip Theory attends to the contemporary cultures of disability and queerness that are coming out all over. Both disability studies and queer theory are centrally concerned with how bodies, pleasures, and identities are represented as “normal” or as abject, but Crip Theory is the first book to analyze thoroughly the ways in which these interdisciplinary fields inform each other.
Excluded : Making Feminist and Queer Movements More Inclusive
by
While many feminist and queer movements are designed to challenge sexism, they often simultaneously police gender and sexuality. Among LGBTQ activists, there is a long history of dismissing bisexuals, transgender people, and other gender and sexual minorities. In each case, exclusion is based on the premise that certain ways of being gendered or sexual are more legitimate, natural, or righteous than others.
Ezili's Mirrors: Imagining Black Queer Genders
by
From the dagger mistress Ezili Je Wouj and the gender-bending mermaid Lasiren to the beautiful femme queen Ezili Freda, the Ezili pantheon of Vodoun spirits represents the divine forces of love, sexuality, prosperity, pleasure, maternity, creativity, and fertility. Drawing on her background as a literary critic Tinsley theorizes black Atlantic sexuality by tracing how contemporary queer Caribbean and African American writers and performers evoke Ezili.
Healing Sex: A Mind-Body Approach to Healing Sexual Trauma
by
The first encouraging, sex-positive guide for all women survivors of sexual assault ― heterosexual, bisexual, lesbian, coupled, and single ― who want to reclaim their sex lives. While most books on the topic broach sexuality only to reassure women that it is all right to say “no” to unwanted sex, Healing Sex encourages women to learn how to say “yes” ― to their own desires and on their own terms.
LGBTQ Stats: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer People by the Numbers
by
LGBTQ Stats chronicles the ongoing LGBTQ revolution, providing the critical statistics, and draws upon and synthesizes newly collected data. Deschamps and Singer - whose previous books and films on LGBTQ topics have won numerous awards and found audiences around the globe - provide chapters on family and marriage, workplace discrimination, education, youth, criminal justice, and immigration, as well as evolving policies and laws affecting LGBTQ communities.
No Tea, No Shade: New Writings in Black Queer Studies
by
The follow-up to the groundbreaking Black Queer Studies, the edited collection No Tea, No Shade brings together nineteen essays from the next generation of scholars, activists, and community leaders doing work on black gender and sexuality. Building on the foundations laid by the earlier volume, this collection's contributors speak new truths about the black queer experience while exemplifying the codification of black queer studies as a rigorous and important field of study.
Not That Bad: Dispatches from Rape Culture
by
In this valuable and revealing anthology, cultural critic and bestselling author Roxane Gay collects original and previously published pieces that address what it means to live in a world where women have to measure the harassment, violence, and aggression they face, and where they are "routinely second-guessed, blown off, discredited, denigrated, besmirched, belittled, patronized, mocked, shamed, gaslit, insulted, bullied" for speaking out. Highlighting the stories of well-known actors, writers, and experts, as well as new voices being published for the first time, Not That Bad covers a wide range of topics and experiences, from an exploration of the rape epidemic embedded in the refugee crisis to first-person accounts of child molestation and street harassment. Often deeply personal and always unflinchingly honest, this provocative collection both reflects the world we live in and offers a call to arms insisting that "not that bad" must no longer be good enough.
Pleasure Activism: the Politics of Feeling Good
by
Please activism is a politics of healing and happiness that explodes the dour myth that changing the world is just another form of work. Drawing on the black feminist tradition, she challenges us to rethink the ground rules of activism. Her mindset-altering essays are interwoven with conversations and insights from other feminist thinkers, including Audre Lorde, Joan Morgan, Cara Page, Sonya Renee Taylor, and Alexis Pauline Gumbs.
Sex and the Citadel: Intimate Life in a Changing Arab World
by
As political change sweeps the Arab world, journalist Shereen El Feki has long been looking at upheaval a little closer to home, in the sexual lives of men and women in Egypt and across the region. The result is an account of a highly sensitive, and still largely secret, aspect of Arab society. Sex is entwined in religion and tradition, politics and economics, gender and generations, so it makes a perfect lens for examining the region's complex social landscape.
Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches
by
Notes from a trip to Russia -- Poetry is not a luxury -- The transformation of silence into language and action -- Scratching the surface : some notes on barriers to women and loving -- Uses of the erotic : the erotic as power -- Sexism : an American disease in blackface -- An open letter to Mary Daly -- Man child : a black lesbian feminist's response -- An interview : Audre Lorde and Adrienne Rich -- The Master's tools will never dismantle the Master's house -- Age, race, class, and sex : women redefining difference
A Taste for Brown Bodies: Gay Modernity and Cosmopolitan Desire
by
In A Taste for Brown Bodies, Hiram Pérez traces the development of gay modernity and its continued romanticization of the brown body. Focusing in particular on three figures with elusive queer histories—the sailor, the soldier, and the cowboy— Pérez unpacks how each has been memorialized and desired for their heroic masculinity while at the same time functioning as agents for the expansion of the US borders and neocolonial zones of influence.
Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice
by
A sourcebook of theoretical foundations, pedagogical and design frameworks, and curricular models for social justice teaching practice. Covers the most relevant issues and controversies in social justice education in a practical, hands-on format. Includes activities and discussion questions, providing an accessible pedagogical approach to issues of oppression in classrooms. Also focuses on providing students the tools needed to apply their learning about these issues.
This Bridge Called My Back: Writings by Radical Women of Color
by
Originally released in 1981, This Bridge Called My Back is a testimony to women of color feminism as it emerged in the last quarter of the twentieth century. Through personal essays, criticism, interviews, testimonials, poetry, and visual art, the collection explores, as coeditor Cherríe Moraga writes, “the complex confluence of identities—race, class, gender, and sexuality—systemic to women of color oppression and liberation.”
Visible: a Femmethology
by
Authors, spoken-word artists, and new voices come together to challenge conventional ideas of how disability, class, nationality, race, aesthetics, sexual orientation, gender identity and body type intersect with each contributor's concrete notion of femmedom.
The Will to Change: Men, Masculinity, and Love
by
Everyone needs to love and be loved -- even men. But to know love, men must be able to look at the ways that patriarchal culture keeps them from knowing themselves, from being in touch with their feelings, from loving. In The Will to Change, bell hooks gets to the heart of the matter and shows men how to express the emotions that are a fundamental part of who they are -- whatever their age, marital status, ethnicity, or sexual orientation.
Yes Means Yes!: Visions of Female Sexual Power & a World Without Rape
by
A modern analysis of rape by the activist author of Full Frontal Feminism calls for a greater understanding of and respect for female sexual pleasure as part of a societal effort to end rape by having men see women as equal collaborators instead of sexual conquests.