LibGuides: Library City: Practicing Curiosity: Digital Collections

Digital Collections - Cities

Atlanta - GSU
Includes manuscripts, photographs, periodicals, newspapers, oral histories, sound recordings, maps, and printed materials
Berlin
Digital colelctions from Landesbibliothek Berlin
Birmingham - BPL
Birmingham Public Library digital collections including photographs, maps, newspapers & more.
Boston - BPL
Digital collections from the Boston Public Library.
Boston - MHS
Digital collections from the Massachusetts Historical Society.
Chicago - Chicago History Museum
Highlights from the museum's collection of artifacts related to Chicago history
Chicago - Chicago Public Library
Digital collections related to Chicago Renaissance, theater, and city infrastructure
Barcelona
Digital collections from Biblioteca Digital Hispánica

Dallas - Portal to Texas History
Newspapers, images, and documents related to Dallas
Detroit - Detroit Public Library
Extensive digital collection of photographs and postcards of Detroit
Houston - Houston Area Digital Archives
Online access to the collections of the Houston Public Library and other community archives
Indianapolis - Indianapolis Public Library
Digital archive reflecting Indianapolis' history, people, events, organizations, and places
Jacksonville - Jacksonville HIstorical Society
Jacksonville HIstorical Society's digital collections of printed matter, photography, and documents

Los Angeles - LAPL
Los Angeles Public Library digital photography collection
Los Angeles - USC
Photographs, post cards, architecture and ephemera
Memphis
The Digital Archive of the Memphis Public Library & Information Center
Miami - University of Miami
Digital resources include correspondence, manuscripts, scrapbooks, photographs, maps, & posters
Montreal
Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec collection includes images, maps, and city directories
Lexington
Lexington Public Library's digital collection includes postcards, directories, photographs and more.
Madrid
Digital collections from Biblioteca Digital Hispánica

New Orleans - Tulane Digital
New Orleans and Louisiana history and architecture
New York - Museum of the City of New York
Over 100,000 images of New York City
New York - New York Historical Society
Photographs of New York City, manuscripts, maps, and broadsides
New York - NYPL
Digital collections about New York from the New York Public Library
Paris
Digital collections from Le Site des Archives de Paris
Philadelphia - Philadelphia Free Library
Historical Images of Philadelphia digital collection
Philadelphia - Urban Archive Temple
Temple University’s Urban Archives documents the social, economic, political, and physical development of the greater Philadelphia region
Portland - City of Portland Archives
City of Portland Archives historic photographs collection

San Antonio UTSA
Collection of personal papers, photographs, and other primary resources related to San Antonio and South Texas
San Diego - San Diego Public Library
Includes a large collection of photography and images of San Diego
San Francisco - SFPL
Extensive colletion of photography & maps
San Jose
Collections document the history of the Santa Clara Valley and San Jose
São Paulo
Digital collections from the repository for São Paulo
Seattle -SPL
Digital collections from the Seattle Public Library including the Seattle neighborhood project.
Seatle - Municipal Archives
Seattle Municipal Archives Digital Documents Collection

Tokyo Archive「東京都立図書館・東京アーカイブ」
Tokyo Metropolitan Library - the collection includes maps of pre-modern Tokyo.
Toronto - Toronto Public Library
Toronto history including includes rare historical pictures, maps, & ephemera
Washington, D.C.
DC Public Library photos, maps, & oral histories documenting the history of Washington D.C.