It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library City: Practicing Curiosity: Resource List
This is a research guide for Mary Lum's Library City: Practicing Curiosity (VA4113.01) course.
Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary source of more than 10,000 full-text journals and magazines of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
African American CommunitiesThis link opens in a new windowThis online resource showcases a diverse range of primary source material focusing on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas. A vital resource for students, teachers and researchers of African American and American studies.
America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922This link opens in a new windowAmerica’s Historical Newspapers offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of newspapers from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the early 20th century.
Ancestry LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAccess only available from on campus. Ancestry Library Edition delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, as well as immigration records, family histories, military records, legal documents, and more. An intuitive search interface returns data from more than 7,000 databases. Coverage is most extensive for the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.
ArtStorThis link opens in a new windowThe Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with more than two million images from 280 collections supporting teaching and research in nearly every topic imaginable, including Anthropology, Archaeology, Architecture, Art History, Fashion & Costume, Literature, Religion, Theater, World History, and much more.
*To use off-campus, you must create an account while on-campus*
Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsThis link opens in a new windowThe Avery Collection is the only comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. The database includes over 800,000 records from 325 current and 3,080 retrospective U.S. and foreign journals, covering architecture, city planning, conservation and restoration, interior design, museums and sustainable design.
Ebsco E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowThis is a database of digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, as well as 3,400 publicly-accessible titles.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an excellent source of full-text articles in scholarly journals encompassing a wide range of disciplines including but not limited to Anthropology, Architecture, Art & Art History, Biological Sciences, Environmental Studies, History, International Relations, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Music, Peace & Conflict Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, and Sociology.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowArticles from newspaper, magazine, business, and legal sources.
Search the catalog, databases, journals & articles.
Search the Bennington College Archive
Search the Bennington Digital Archive & Repository
Find a great source we don't own? Try Interlibrary Loan!
You're working through the databases, searching the Internet, or using Worldcat and come across a great resource that has the perfect title and summary. You check our catalog and our other databases and unfortunately this book/article/music score/CD-ROM/8-Track is not owned by Bennington College. Don't worry, we have a plan for these cases - you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. In our databases you can click on the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button, or by filling in the article, book, or other materials request form in Interlibrary Loan. Your item will either be scanned and e-mailed to you, sent to your ILL account, or sent to our library. You will then receive an e-mail when the item is available, and you can begin your celebratory dance. If you have never used Interlibrary Loan before to request an Interlibrary Loan, you can get information and set up an account here.