Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Photography: Citation

A Guide to Crossett's Special Collections in Photography

Citation Overview

Properly crediting the creative work of others is an important aspect of belonging to the community of creators. Common examples are listed below. You can also find additional information in the library's Citation Guide.

Cite an Original Photograph

MLA 

Last name, first name. Photograph Title. Year Created. Museum/Institution, Location.

  • Example:

Evans, Walker. Penny Picture Display. 1936. Museum of Modern Art, New York. 


APA

Last name, first name initial. (year created) Title [Type of Work]. Location. Museum Name.

  • Example:

Evans, W. (1936). Penny Picture Display [photograph]. New York, NY: Museum of Modern Art.

Cite a Photograph from a Book

MLA

Last name, first name. Title of Work. year created. Museum/Institution, Location. Book Title. City: Publisher, Year Published. Page(s). 

  • Example

Höfer, Candida. Universitätsbibliothek Innsbruck. 2004. Photograph. Libraries. Schirmer/Mosel, 2005. 145. 

 

APA

Last name, first name initial. (year created) Title of Work, [photograph]. From Book Title (page) by Author, date, City: Publisher.

  • Example

HöferC. (2004) Universitätsbibliothek Innsbruck, [photograph]. From Libraries (p. 145) by Candida Höfer, 2005, MunichSchirmer/Mosel.

 

In-Text Citation or Quote

MLA

  • All visuals that are embedded into the work are labeled Figure or Fig.
  • Refer to the figure in-text and provide an Arabic numeral that corresponds to the figure. Do not capitalize figure or fig.

APA

  • (Artist's last name, Year)

Cite an Photograph from a Website

MLA

Last name, first name. Title of work. Year created. Name of institution/private collection housing artwork. Website Title. URL. Date of access.

  • Example

Modotti, Tina. Federico Marin. 1924. The J. Paul Getty Museum. Explore the Getty. http://www.getty.edu/art/collection/objects/33650/tina-modotti-federico-marin-american-1924/ Accessed 18 August 2017.

APA

Last name, first name initial. (Year). Title of work [Type of work]. Retrieved (date), from (URL)

  • Example

Modotti, T. (1924) Federico Marin. [photograph]. Retrieved August 18, 2017, from http://www.getty.edu/art/collection/objects/33650/tina-modotti-federico-marin-american-1924/

Cite a Photograph from a Database

MLA

Last name, first name. Title of work. Year created. Name of institution/private collection housing artwork. Title of database or website. URL. Date of access.

  • Example:

Iturbide, Graciela. Cementerio. 1988. Ruth Chandler Williamson Gallery, Scripps College. Artstor. http://library.artor.org/library/secure/ViewImages?id+8CJGcgAccessed 2 Jun 2017.


APA

Last name, first name initial. (Year created) Title of work. [format] Name of database. Retrieved (date), from (URL)

  • Example:

Iturbide, G. (1974) Forbidden Games Panama. [photograph] ARTstor. Retrieved August 3, 2017, from http://library.artor.org/library/secure/ViewImages?id=8CJGcg