Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Photography: Digital and Print Photography Collections

A Guide to Crossett's Special Collections in Photography

Bennington Print and Digitized Photography Collections

Bennington College Photography Portfolios

The collection contains portfolios of photography by Ansel Adams, Édouard Boubat, Manuel Alvarez Bravo, Robert Doisneau, Elliott Erwitt, Walker Evans, Lee Friedlander, Ralph Gibson, Phillippe Halsman, Lotte Jacobi, Alen MacWeeney, Eva Rubenstein, Naomi Savage, Alfred Stieglitz, Paul Strand, Brett Weston, Edward Weston, and Garry Winogrand. The collection also includes individual photographs by Harold Edgerton, Fay Godwin, Nathan Lerner, Sol Lewitt, Aaron Siskind, and others. The photographs are exhibited in the library, 3-5 at a time, in rotation. Faculty members can schedule a class visit to view the portfolios and anyone can schedule an individual session to view the portfolios.

Carolyn Crossett Rowland Collection

Carolyn Crossett Rowland ’37 is Bennington College’s founding photographer. She set up the College’s first darkroom, with equipment she donated, in the upper level of the main Commons building. She recalled having to cover small holes in the roof with black paper so light would not seep through. Rowland represents the beginning of a lineage of significant women photographers who have studied at Bennington, which more recently includes Sally Mann and Anna Gaskell.  This collection includes photographs she took during workshops with Ansel Adams, including several portraits she took of him. The photographs, taken between the early 1930s-1941, include her student work, scenes of southern Vermont, Cape Cod, California, Europe, and Guatemala.

 

Bennington Photographs in the Digital Archive

Historical photographs of Bennington College's buildings, campus, faculty members, students and more can be found in the Digital Archive

You can limit your search results to only images by selecting "images" under Document Type on the left side navigation bar.

Search the Bennington College Archive

Search the Bennington Digital Archive & Repository