Members of the local community are welcome to check out books from the Bennington College Library! To set up a free library account please visit Crossett Library Mon - Fri 8:30 am - 4:00 pm or email us.
Farmer John's Cookbook: the real dirt on vegetables by John Peterson
Call Number: TX801 .P494 2006
Recipes, cooking tips, serving suggestions, and new ways to use a surplus of basil, cabbage, tomatoes, or whatever veggie is plentiful.
Seasonal Fruit Desserts by Deborah Madison
Call Number: TX811 .M23 2010
More than 175 recipes highlighting healthy and flavorful fruit pairings for any season.
Berries by Roger Yepsen
Call Number: TX813.B4 Y47 2006
Berries includes almost a hundred recipes: blueberry buckle, raspberry soup, elderberry wine, and black currant crepes.
Franny's: simple seasonal Italian by Andrew Feinberg; Francine Stephens
Call Number: TX723 .F43 2013
Vibrant reinterpretations of modern Southern Italian recipes
True Food: seasonal, sustainable, simple, pure by Andrew Weil
Call Number: TX741 .W454 2012
Showcasing fresh, high-quality ingredients and simple preparations with robust, satisfying flavors, this book demonstrates how easy it is to eat well at home.
The Art of Simple Food by Alice Waters
Call Number: TX714 .W277 2007
Seasonal inspired meals all year long that are balanced in texture, color, and flavor, to embrace the seasons' bounty.
Forks over Knives - The Cookbook: : over 300 recipes for plant-based eating all through the year by Del Sroufe
Publication Date: TX837 .S717 2012
Classic and unexpected, globally and seasonally inspired, and for every meal of the day, all through the year:
Full Moon Feast by Jessica Prentice
Call Number: TX741 .P74 2006
The book follows the thirteen lunar cycles of an agrarian year, from the midwinter Hunger Moon and the springtime sweetness of the Sap Moon to the bounty of the Moon When Salmon Return to Earth in autumn. Each chapter includes recipes that display the richly satisfying flavors of foods tied to the ancient rhythm of the seasons.
Tart and Sweet: 101 canning and pickling recipes for the modern kitchen by Kelly Geary; Jessie Knadler
Call Number: TX603 .G43 2010
The craft of canning has undergone a renaissance, becoming a cornerstone of the artisanal food movement. This manual provides a modern tutorial on small-batch canning.
Saving the Season: a cook's guide to home canning, pickling, and preserving by Kevin West
Publication Date: TX601 .W47 2013
More than one hundred recipes, organized by season, for sweet preserves and savory pickles; easy-to-can vegetables and fruits; condiments such as relishes, chutneys, and salsas.
The Best Little Book of Preserves and Pickles: easy jams & jellies, chutneys & condiments, sauces, spreads & syrup by Judith Choate
Call Number: TX819.A1 C496 2011
Cooking with Flowers: sweet and savory recipes with rose petals, lilacs, lavender, and other edible flowers by Miche Bacher
Call Number: TX814.5.F5 B33 2013
More than 100 recipes along with tips for finding, cleaning, and preparing edible blossoms
The Herbal Palate Cookbook by Maggie Oster
Call Number: TX819.H4 O8797 1996
Recipes and directions for growing a wide range of herbs and explanations on how to use them in a variety of culinary creations.
Sauces and Salsas by Oded Schwartz
Call Number: TX819.S29 S38 1999
This cookbook contains over 250 recipes for sweet & savory, classic & contemporary sauces & salsas.
Mustards, Ketchups and Vinegars: Mustards, ketchups & vinegars : making the most of seasonal abundance by Carol W. Costenbader
Call Number: TX819.C56 M8 1996
The New Moosewood Cookbook by Mollie Katzen
Call Number: TX837 .K2594 2000
Traditional cooking styles and cuisines are reflected in an updated collection of vegetarian recipes served at the Moosewood
How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman
Call Number: TX837 .B5284 2007
More than two thousand different recipes and variations for simple meatless meals, including salads, soups, eggs and dairy, vegetables and fruit, pasta, grains, legumes, tofu and other meat substitutes.
Passionate Vegetarian by Crescent Dragonwagon
Call Number: TX837 .D73 2002
1,000 recipes cover all the bases of meatless cooking
Classic Vegetarian Cooking from the Middle East and North Africa by Habeeb Salloum
Call Number: TX837 .S243 2000
Highlighting the cuisine of the Middle East and North Africa this book contains over 300 vegetarian recipes.
The Heart of the Plate: vegetarian recipes for a new generation by Mollie Katzen
Call Number: TX837 .K25925 2013
A collection of new recipes for unfussy dishes that are light, simple, and modular.
Meatless: more than 200 of the very best vegetarian recipes
Call Number: TX837 .M473 2013
A guide to vegetarian cooking features an overview of items that build flavors and add protein and presents an array of recipes--including burgers, sandwiches, tacos, and pizzas--that can satisfy vegetarians and meat-eaters alike.
Veganomicon: the ultimate vegan cookbook by Isa Chandra Moskowitz; Terry Hope Romero
Call Number: TX837 .M754 2007
The cookbook offers 250 recipes and menus for all occasions and covers gluten-free and tofu-free options.
Afro-Vegan: farm-fresh African, Caribbean & Southern flavors remixed by Bryant Terry
Call Number: TX837 .T4337 2014
A cookbook from chef-activist Bryant Terry, drawing from African, Afro-Caribbean, and Southern food to create over 100 vegan dishes
Vegan Planet: 400 irresistible recipes with fantastic flavors from home and around the world by Robin Robertson
Call Number: TX837 .R6253 2003
A guide to meat-free, dairy-free, and egg-free cooking
Kansha: celebrating Japan's vegan & vegetarian traditions by Elizabeth Andoh
Call Number: TX724.5.J3 A525 2010
Japanese vegetarian and vegan cooking with a wide range of recipes.
Herbcrafts: practical inspirations for natural gifts, country crafts and decorative displays by Tessa Evelegh
Call Number: TT157 .E94 1997
Papermaking with Plants: creative recipes and projects using herbs, flowers, grasses, and leaves by Helen Hiebert
Call Number: TS1124.5.H54 P3 1998
The Herbal Home Remedy Book: simple recipes for tinctures, teas, salves, tonics, and syrups by Joyce A. Wardwell
Call Number: RM666.W36 H4 1998
Wild Color: the complete guide to making and using natural dyes by Jenny Dean; Karen Diadick Casselman
Call Number: TT854.3 .D43 2010
Information on current environmentally friendly dyeing techniques and more than 65 species of plants and natural dyestuffs.