Members of the local community are welcome to check out books from the Bennington College Library! To set up a free library account please visit Crossett Library Mon - Fri 8:30 am - 4:00 pm or email us.
How to Grow More Vegetables Than You Ever Thought Possible on Less Land Than You Can Imagine by John Jeavons
Call Number: SB324.3 .J43 1991
Shows how to produce a beautiful organic garden with minimal watering and care, whether it's just a few tomatoes in a tiny backyard or enough food to feed a family of four on less than half an acre.
The Backyard Homestead: Produce all the food you need on just a quarter acre! by Carleen Madigan Perkins (Editor); Carleen Madigan (Editor)
Call Number: SB321 .B1434 2009
Suggests organic methods for growing plants and raising animals on a small plot of land, explains how to determine the proper times for planting, and provides tips for using and preserving food.
Rodale's All New Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening by Fern M. Bradley (Editor); Barbara W. Ellis (Editor); Fern Marshall Bradley
Call Number: SB453.5 .R633 1992
Over 400 entries of practical, up-to-date gardening information.
The New Organic Grower: a master's manual of tools and techniques for the home and market gardener by Eliot Coleman; Sheri Amsel; Molly C. Field (Illustrator); Paul Hawken (Foreword by); Chelsea Green (Editor)
Call Number: SB324.3 .C65 1995
Explains simple and sustainable ways of growing top-quality organic vegetables. Practical information on marketing the harvest, on small-scale equipment, and on farming and gardening for the long-term health of the soil.
Gaia's garden : a guide to home-scale permaculture by by Toby Hemenway
Call Number: SB439 .H44 2001
Demonstrates “backyard ecosystem” by assembling communities of plants that can work cooperatively and perform a variety of functions.
Permaculture by Bill Mollison
Call Number: S494.5.P47 M64 1988
Permaculture (permanent agriculture) is the conscious design and maintenance of agriculturally productive ecosystems which have the diversity, stability, and resilience of natural ecosystems. It is the harmonious integration of landscape and people providing their food, energy, shelter, and other material and non-material needs in a sustainable way.
Bioshelter Market Garden: : a permaculture farm by Darrell Frey
Call Number: S494.5.P47 F743 2011
Topics covered include: ecological soil management and pest control; composting and bio-thermal resources; sustainable agricultural energy systems; wetlands usage; complete design and management of an intensive market garden farm
The Edible Flower Garden: from garden to kitchen : choosing, growing and cooking edible flowers by Kathy Brown
Call Number: QK98.5.A1 B76 2014
A gardening guide and recipe collection offering over 25 planting schemes with accompanying recipes showing how to use the flowers in the kitchen, and including an illustrated directory of 45 edible flowers.
Encyclopedia of Herbs and Their Uses by Deni Bown
Call Number: SB351.H5 B645 1995
Describes and pictures a thousand herbs found both in the wild and in cultivation, and provides tips on growing and harvesting, herb gardens, and herbs in cooking and medicine.
Rodale's Illustrated Encyclopedia of Herbs by Claire Kowalchik; William H. Hylton (Editor)
Call Number: SB351.H5 R58 1987
An alphabetically arranged description of each herb and background historical material, plus coverage of such subjects as medicinal uses, cooking, & gardening. A popular treatment of the history, uses and cultivation of herbs, science and lore, and home cultivation.
The Herbal Tea Garden: planning, planting, harvesting & brewing by Marietta M. Marcin; Sandra Webb (Editor)
Call Number: TX415 .M37 1993
Foodscaping by Charlie Nardozzi
Call Number: SB475.9.E35 N37 2015
Foodscaping is a combination of landscaping and food. This gardening resource is fill of examples, photos, and advice .
A practical reference book covering planting throughout the seasons, detailing plant associations, offering guidance for successful planting and utilizing difficult areas of the garden.
Books about Composting
The Complete Compost Gardening Guide: banner batches, grow heaps, comforter compost, and other amazing techniques for saving time and money, and producing the most flavorful, nutritious vegetables ever by Barbara Pleasant; Deborah L. Martin
Call Number: S661 .P54 2008
Let It Rot!: A Gardener's Guide to Composting by Stu Campbell
Call Number: S661 .C35 1998
Worms Eat My Garbage: How to Set Up and Maintain a Worm Composting System by Mary Appelhof