Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Virgin: Poems by Selected by Ross Gay as winner of the inaugural Jake Adam York Prize, Analicia Sotelo's debut collection of poems is a vivid portrait of the artist as a young woman. In Virgin, Sotelo walks the line between autobiography and mythmaking, offering up identities like dishes at a feast. These poems devour and complicate tropes of femininity—of naiveté, of careless abandon—before sharply exploring the intelligence and fortitude of women
Call Number: PS3619.O862 A6 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Cenzontle: Poems by Also available as an eBook https://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.bennington.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1737624&site=eds-live
Call Number: PS3608.E76845 A6 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
MyOTHER TONGUE by [Alcalá] uses empty spaces, hesitations and semantic difficulties to address mothers and daughters, herself as mother and herself as daughter, and the messy emotions and miscommunications that move between languages (in her case, English and Spanish), as well as between and within female bodies.
Call Number: PS3601.L34256 M9 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-15
Diorama by Diorama is both a book of poems and a performance action by the poet Rocío Cerón, who guides the reader on a hallucinatory, spiraling journey through image, language, Mexican history, and soundscapes.
Call Number: PQ7298.13.E76 D4613 2013b
Publication Date: 2014-06-15
White Blood by Kiki Petrosino turns her gaze to Virginia, where she digs into her genealogical and intellectual roots, while contemplating the knotty legacies of slavery and discrimination in the Upper South
Call Number: PS3616.E868 W45 2020
Publication Date: 2020-05-05
Stray Harbor by
Call Number: PS3608.E947 S7 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-23
Whereas by The astonishing, powerful debut by the winner of a 2016 Whiting Writers' Award WHEREAS her birth signaled the responsibility as mother to teach what it is to be Lakota therein the question: What did I know about being Lakota? Signaled panic, blood rush my embarrassment. What did I know of our language but pieces? Would I teach her to be pieces? Until a friend comforted, Don't worry, you and your daughter will learn together. Today she stood sunlight on her shoulders lean and straight to share a song in Din#65533;, her father's language. To sing she motions simultaneously with her hands; I watch her be in multiple musics. --from "WHEREAS Statements" WHEREAS confronts the coercive language of the United States government in its responses, treaties, and apologies to Native American peoples and tribes, and reflects that language in its officiousness and duplicity back on its perpetrators. Through a virtuosic array of short lyrics, prose poems, longer narrative sequences, resolutions, and disclaimers, Layli Long Soldier has created a brilliantly innovative text to examine histories, landscapes, her own writing, and her predicament inside national affiliations. "I am," she writes, "a citizen of the United States and an enrolled member of the Oglala Sioux Tribe, meaning I am a citizen of the Oglala Lakota Nation--and in this dual citizenship I must work, I must eat, I must art, I must mother, I must friend, I must listen, I must observe, constantly I must live." This strident, plaintive book introduces a major new voice in contemporary literature.
Call Number: Upper Lvl PS3612.O5248 A6 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
100 Notes on Violence by Carr, winner of the 2009 Sawtooth Poetry Prize, obsessively researches intimate terrorism, looking everywhere from Whitman and Dickinson to lists of phobias and weapon-store catalogs for answers. Do they lie in statistics, in statements by and about rapists and killers, in the capacity for cruelty that the poet herself admits to? This book is a dream-document both of light and innocence-babies and the urge to protect them-and of giving in to a wrenching darkness, where despair lies in the very fact that no single factor is to blame.
Call Number: PS3603.A77425 A614 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-15
If They Come for Us by From a co-creator of the Emmy-nominated web series Brown Girls comes an imaginative, soulful debut poetry that collection captures the experiences of being a young Pakistani Muslim woman in contemporary America. Orphaned as a child, Fatimah Asghar grapples with coming of age and navigating questions of sexuality and race without the guidance of a mother or father. These poems at once bear anguish, joy, vulnerability, and compassion, while also exploring the many facets of violence: how it persists within us, how it is inherited across generations, and how it manifests itself in our relationships. In experimental forms and language both lyrical and raw, Asghar seamlessly braids together marginalized people’s histories with her own understanding of identity, place, and belonging.
Call Number: PS3601.S46 A6 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
Citizen Illegal by Poet José Olivarez explores the story, contradictions, joys, and sorrows that embody life in the spaces between Mexico and America. He paints vivid portraits of good kids, bad kids, families clinging to hope, life after the steel mills, and gentrifying barrios. Drawing on the rich traditions of Latinx and Chicago writers like Sandra Cisneros and Gwendolyn Brooks, Olivarez creates a home out of life in the in-between.
Call Number: PS3615.L56 C58 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Ignatz by A collection of love poems based on George Herriman's comic strip characters Ignatz Mouse and Krazy Kat.
Call Number: PS3625.O76 I38 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-09
A Lesser Love by Love poems and elegies for those who have fumbled and stumbled and disappointed. These are poems of love and departure for romantic partners, family members, even countries and communities. Raised around diasporic Korean communities, E. J. Koh has descibred her work as deeply influenced by the idea of jeong, which can be translated as a deep attachment, bond, and reciprocity for places, people, and things.
Call Number: PS3611.O3659 L47 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-16
What Have You Done to Our Ears to Make Us Hear Echoes? by Arlene Kim confronts the ways in which language mythologizes memory and, thus, exiles us from our own true histories. Juxtaposing formal choices and dreamlike details, Kim explores the entangled myths that accompany the experience of immigration—the abandoned country known only through stories, the new country into which the immigrant family must wander ever deeper, and the numerous points where these narratives intertwine.
Call Number: PS3611.I4529 W47 2011
Publication Date: 2011-07-19
Anti-Humboldt by In 2010 Hugo García Manríquez set out to work through the North American Free Trade Agreement in Spanish and English. The result is a bilingual artifact that interrupts and re- politicizes NAFTA's neoliberal language, becoming a space of transnational encounter that strangely falls on the same continuum as the work of 19th-century naturalist Alexander von Humboldt—a continuum upon which the institutions of Law and Science dream of stabilizing the flux of contingency into the language of the market. No longer univocal in meaning, the remains in ANTI- HUMBOLDT resist being situated, makes evident the madness of language and rationality words that—to echo George Oppen—"have run mad / In the subways / And of course the institutions / And the banks."
Call Number: PQ7298.A7356 A85 2014
Publication Date: 2015-03-31
A Xicana Codex of Changing Consciousness by A Xicana Codex of Changing Consciousness features essays and poems by Cherríe L. Moraga, one of the most influential figures in Chicana/o, feminist, queer, and indigenous activism and scholarship. Combining moving personal stories with trenchant political and cultural critique, the writer, activist, teacher, dramatist, mother, daughter, comadre, and lesbian lover looks back on the first ten years of the twenty-first century.
Call Number: PS153.M4 M673 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Call Number: PS3619.I56847 C3 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Algaravias by The fifth and most critically acclaimed volume of poetry by Syrian-Brazilian poet Waly Salomão (1943-2003), ALGARAVIAS: ECHO CHAMBER takes its title from an entangled history, referenced in an etymological epigraph: "From al-garb, the West; that language of the Arabs considered corrupted, little understood by the Spanish. Also a name of a plant, given that name for the messiness of its branches." Its ruminations on passage, self-placement, virtual geography, human-electronic interaction, poetic consciousness, and mortality are inflected by Salomão's dual heritage; they also confront the isolating nature of the dictatorship he lived through as well as the aggressively optimistic discourse of post-dictatorship "modernization" efforts: the torrential influx of mass media and multinational corporations, and the sterile, touristic, and militarized landscapes of modern space and spectacle
Call Number: PQ9698.29.A423 A713 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Witch by WITCH by Rebecca Tamás is a raw, strange book of poems that merges feminist exploration with occult expression and ecological language. At turns lyrical, philosophical and obscene, Tamáss astonishing debut evokes the sexual prowess of nature as an organism that swallows and consumes. These are poems that unsettle the reader, taking them to dark, magical places where earth and blood, politics and pornography, intermingle; they celebrate poetry as a small, bright, filthy song.
A visceral, unflinching and darkly witty first collection that introduces a major new voice in British poetry.
Call Number: PR6120.A45 W58 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Black Body Amnesia: Poems and Other Speech Acts by Blending poetry and memoir, conversation and performance theory, Black Body Amnesia: Poems and Other Speech Acts enlivens a personal archive of visual and verbal offerings written and organized by jaamil olawale kosoko. Inspired by Audre Lorde’s concept of biomythography, kosoko mixes personal history, biography, and mythology to tell a complex narrative rooted within a queer, Black, self-defined imagination.
Call Number: N7560.K67 B5 2022
Publication Date: 2022-02-26
Ancestral Demon of a Grieving Bride by
Publication Date: 2021-04-30
Notes from the Divided Country by In her first collection, Suji Kwock Kim confronts a number of difficult subjects―colonialism, the Korean War, emigration, racism, and love. She considers what a homeland would be for a divided nation and a divided self: what it means to enter language, the body, the family, the community; to be a daughter, sister, lover, citizen, or exile.
In settings from New York to San Francisco, from Scotland to Seoul, her poems question “what threads hold / our lives together” in cities and gardens, battlefields and small towns. Across the no-man’s-land between every “you” and “I,” her speakers encounter, quarrel with, or honor others, traveling between the living and the dead, between horror over the disastrous events of the past and hope for the future. Drawing upon a wide range of voices, styles, and perspectives, Notes from the Divided Country bears witness to the vanishing world.
Call Number: PS3611.I455 N68 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-01
Cape Verdean Blues by The speaker in Cape Verdean Blues is an oracle walking down the street. Barbosa interrogates encounters and the weight of their space. Grounded in bodily experience and the phenomenology of femininity, this collection provides a sense of Cape Verdean identity. It uniquely captures the essence of “Sodade,” as it refers to the Cape Verdean American experience, and also the nostalgia and self-reflection one navigates through relationships lived, lost, and imagined.
Call Number: PS3602.A769 A6 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-12
Holding Company by In these poems of broken unions and acute longing, Major Jackson explores art, literature, and music as seductive forces in our lives.
Call Number: PS3610.A354 H65 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-23
Good Stock Strange Blood by From Good Stock Strange Blood: And, yet, each morning a fireheart grief in the body coming out of sleep. The listening to the smoke as if fills and weeps inside the chest, choking strength out hands weighted, dangling. We wonder where else it lives before it fills the body up. We assume it comes inside through the hole that promises invasion.
Call Number: PS3613.A7779 A6 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-25
Still Another Day by The first authorized English translation of Aun, considered among Neruda's finest long poems. More aware than ever of his imminent death, these 28 cantos--written during two intensely lyrical days--launch the poet on a personal expedition in search of his deepest roots. It is a soaring tribute to the Chilean people, their history and survival, that invokes the Araucanian Indians, the conquistadors who tried to enslave them, folklore, the people and places of his childhood, and the sights and smells of the marketplace. As in the best poetry, Neruda's particulars become profoundly universal. With an introduction by translator O'Daly.
Call Number: PQ8097.N4 A913 2005
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Night Sky with Exit Wounds by A haunting debut that is simultaneously dreamlike and visceral, vulnerable and redemptive, and risks the painful rewards of emotional honesty.
Call Number: PS3622.U96 A6 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
You Da One by "Jennifer Tamayo's riotous new book, YOU DA ONE, alarms and entrances me. Alarms because of its take-no-prisoners exploration of how the logic and graphics of the internet, with all its distracting, capitalist garbage, interpenetrates our emotional lives; entrances because of its ENGLUSH, its defiant, often stunning provocations, rejoinders, and reclamations, its wild lunges from sincerity to melodrama to cynicism to 'shimmerwound.' Like it or not, the landscape of YOU DA ONE is where many of us now reckon with our families, beloveds, languages, heritages, desires, and self-images; Jennifer Tamayo here announces herself as a fearless, even reckless guide."—Maggie Nelson
Call Number: PS3620.A65 Y68 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
Floaters by From the winner of the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize come masterfully crafted narratives of protest, grief, and love. In this collection, Martín Espada bears witness to confrontation with anti-immigrant bigotry as a tenant lawyer years ago, and now sings the praises of Central American adolescents playing soccer in an internment camp founded on that same bigotry. He knows that times of hate also call for poems of love--even in the voice of a Galápagos tortoise. Whether celebrating the visions of fallen dreamers and poets or condemning the devastation of Hurricane Maria and official negligence in his father's Puerto Rico, Espada invokes ferocious, incandescent spirits
Call Number: PS3555.S53 F58 2021
Publication Date: 2021-01-19
Gentefication by In his debut poetry collection Gentefication, Antonio Lopez adorns novelty with innovation by rendering the reader-in addition to the objective world-in surprising new ways. As if they were exorcising our demons or, less ominously, assigning us roles that break from the typecast routines of our daily lives, these poems call to the surface aspects of ourselves that we are rarely asked to engage. Poems tender and ironic, earnest and outraged display a mind abundant with knowledge yet desperate for answers. While so much American poetry asks of the reader only their passive attention, these poems work like personal trainers. They call for the kind of mental and spiritual absorption that can make prayer feel productive. Gregory Pardlo, Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry
Call Number: PS3612.O583 G46 2021
Publication Date: 2021-09-15