It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Remote Teaching and Learning: Drama
A guide for finding, accessing, and using resources for remote learning and teaching.
Academic Video OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
More information on how to use the database can be found here: https://proquest.libguides.com/academicvideoonline
Jacob's Pillow Dance StreamThis link opens in a new windowJacob’s Pillow Dance Stream is an ever-growing collection of full-length dance videos from the Jacob’s Pillow Archives.
Jacob’s Pillow is a National Historic Landmark, a National Medal of Arts recipient, and home to America’s longest running dance festival. Each year thousands of people from across the U.S. and around the globe visit the Jacob’s Pillow to experience the Festival with more than 50 dance companies and 200 free performances, talks, and events.
This resource was created by Jacob's Pillow especially for Colleges and Universities to provide unprecedented online access to selected full-length videos previously only accessible at the Jacob's Pillow Archives. Watch historic films of Denishawn Dance Company and Ted Shawn’s Men Dancers; recent performances by top national and international dance companies working in a range of movement styles including contemporary, ballet, tap, and traditional forms; in-depth interviews with artists and experts in the dance field; and more.
Theatre In VideoThis link opens in a new windowTheatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, as well as more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowAccess only available from on campus. Kanopy offers a broad selection of streaming video content including films, documentaries and training videos with new releases launched daily. The database includes more than 26,000 films from many of the leading producers, including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, and hundreds more.
Asian American DramaThis link opens in a new windowAsian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, as well as detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Black DramaThis link opens in a new windowBlack Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 200 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Theatre in ContextThis link opens in a new windowNorth American Theatre Online (NATO) is a major initiative to provide detailed reference information for every theatrical figure, every play, every theatre, every major production, and every production company, from Colonial times to the present, in both Canada and the United States.
North American Women's DramaThis link opens in a new windowNorth American Women's Drama contains 1,174 plays by 275 playwrights, as well as detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Twentieth Century North American DramaThis link opens in a new windowTwentieth Century North American Drama contains 1,122 plays by 170 playwrights, as well as detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary source of more than 10,000 full-text journals and magazines of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an excellent source of full-text articles in scholarly journals encompassing a wide range of disciplines including but not limited to Anthropology, Architecture, Art & Art History, Biological Sciences, Environmental Studies, History, International Relations, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Music, Peace & Conflict Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, and Sociology.
Encyclopedia BritannicaThis link opens in a new windowThe online version of Encyclopedia Britannica combines the authoritative content of the traditional print version, updated by contemporary scholars. It includes the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary as well as links to web sites vetted by the editors of the Britannica.
Oxford ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowOxford Reference offers a single cross-searchable resource of over 50 titles on a variety of topics.
Ebsco E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowThis is a database of digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, as well as 3,400 publicly-accessible titles.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowArticles from newspaper, magazine, business, and legal sources.
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national or international levels. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Includes more than 80 Spanish language newspapers.
Biological ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThis database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides over 3,000 full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
Proceedings of the National Academy of the SciencesThis link opens in a new windowPNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, it continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and Society, Culture, and Thought.
Philosopher's IndexThis link opens in a new windowThis resource contains citation information and author-written abstracts for 560 journals in all major fields of philosophy from 1940 to the present.
PsycArticlesThis link opens in a new windowSearch PsycARTICLES for full text of articles from APA journals and EPF (Educational Publishing Foundation) journals, most from 1985 to the present.
Annual Reviews of the Social SciencesThis link opens in a new windowAnnual reviews of 15 social science topics: Anthropology, Clinical Psychology, Criminology, Economics, Environment and Resources, Financial Economics, Law and Social Sciences, Linguistics, Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Resources Economics, Sociology, and Science and Its Application.
EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020.
To assist the many students, faculty, and researchers who are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic, effective today, Annual Reviews has made our journals available to all (without access control) through Thursday April 30, 2020.
This ground-breaking collection includes the complete catalog of e-books published by Harvard Business Review Press. Contains 600 e-books including 400+ monographs plus newly published e-books and seminal works.
A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
Cambridge University Press is making higher education textbooks in HTML format free to access online during the coronavirus outbreak. Over 700 textbooks, published and currently available, on Cambridge Core are available regardless of whether textbooks were previously purchased. Free access is available until the end of May 2020.
Among the publishers currently opting to make content free on Project MUSE are Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books).
Kanopy has put together a collection of (15 films, to start) that your campus can watch at no cost for the next 30 days (through April 12). PDF with links to the Films: http://bit.ly/KanopyFreeCOVID-19
Bloomsbury Digital Resources are available to institutions, free upon request, through the end of May. If you would like access to a particular collection, email library @bennington.edu and we will request access.
Cengage is offering free unlimited access to all of its online textbooks. Students will be asked to create an account and will have a 14-day free trial (renewable at the end as long as the college is remote teaching.)
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre by Gerald Martin Bordman; Thomas S. HischakThe volume includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, and much more. The book covers not only classic works (such as Death of a Salesman) but also many commercially successful plays (such as Getting Gertie's Garter), plus entries on foreign figures that have influenced our dramatic development (from Shakespeare toBeckett and Pinter). New entries include recent plays such as Angels in America and Six Degrees of Separation, performers such as Eric Bogosian and Bill Irwin, playwrights like David Henry Hwang and Wendy Wasserstein, and relevant developments and issues including AIDS in American theatre,theatrical producing by Disney, and the rise in solo performance.
The Oxford Companion to Indian Theatre by Ananda Lal (Editor)The Oxford Companion to Indian Theatre is the first reference work embracing both rural and urban modes of Indian theatre spanning its entire history of over 2000 years. This accessible and comprehensive volume consists of 750 entries encompassing forms and personalities across Indiageographically and historically, in twenty-two languages, according to their contribution to the tradition. Splendidly illustrated, it includes around 270 black and white illustrations that complement the entries written by specialists and luminaries of the Indian theatre scene.In keeping with the highest standards of international reference publishing, the eidtor has compiled and edited this material from 63 contributors.
Search the catalog using the "OneSearch" box on the library's main page. If you are off campus you will be prompted for your name and password. On the search results page you will see on the left side of the screen a heading "Source Types", if you click "show more" a box will open up. Select "eBooks" to limit the results to only show eBooks.