It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Remote Teaching and Learning: General Resources
A guide for finding, accessing, and using resources for remote learning and teaching.
Our Databases are restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of Bennington College. When you click on a title of a database or electronic resource from off-campus you will be redirected to an authentication page. If you are unsure whether your patron record is current, please feel free to contact us. Resources that are not available off-campus are indicated in the description like so: **Not accessible off campus**.
Steps to Access:
When you click on a resource with restricted access, a authentication page will appear, prompting you to enter the following information:
Last Name, First Name
Once you have entered this information click the submit button. You will be redirected to the resource.
Academic Search UltimateAcademic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary source of more than 10,000 full-text journals and magazines of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
JSTORJSTOR is an excellent source of full-text articles in scholarly journals encompassing a wide range of disciplines including but not limited to Anthropology, Architecture, Art & Art History, Biological Sciences, Environmental Studies, History, International Relations, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Music, Peace & Conflict Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, and Sociology.
Encyclopedia BritannicaThe online version of Encyclopedia Britannica combines the authoritative content of the traditional print version, updated by contemporary scholars. It includes the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary as well as links to web sites vetted by the editors of the Britannica.
Oxford ReferenceOxford Reference offers a single cross-searchable resource of over 50 titles on a variety of topics.
Ebsco E-BooksThis is a database of digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, as well as 3,400 publicly-accessible titles.
Nexis UniArticles from newspaper, magazine, business, and legal sources.
Access World NewsThis comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national or international levels. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Includes more than 80 Spanish language newspapers.
Biological ScienceThis database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides over 3,000 full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
Proceedings of the National Academy of the SciencesPNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, it continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and Society, Culture, and Thought.
Philosopher's IndexThis resource contains citation information and author-written abstracts for 560 journals in all major fields of philosophy from 1940 to the present.
PsycArticlesSearch PsycARTICLES for full text of articles from APA journals and EPF (Educational Publishing Foundation) journals, most from 1985 to the present.
Annual Reviews of the Social SciencesAnnual reviews of 15 social science topics: Anthropology, Clinical Psychology, Criminology, Economics, Environment and Resources, Financial Economics, Law and Social Sciences, Linguistics, Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Resources Economics, Sociology, and Science and Its Application.
Streaming Video databases
Academic Video OnlineAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
More information on how to use the database can be found here: https://proquest.libguides.com/academicvideoonline
Jacob's Pillow Dance StreamJacob’s Pillow Dance Stream is an ever-growing collection of full-length dance videos from the Jacob’s Pillow Archives.
Jacob’s Pillow is a National Historic Landmark, a National Medal of Arts recipient, and home to America’s longest running dance festival. Each year thousands of people from across the U.S. and around the globe visit the Jacob’s Pillow to experience the Festival with more than 50 dance companies and 200 free performances, talks, and events.
This resource was created by Jacob's Pillow especially for Colleges and Universities to provide unprecedented online access to selected full-length videos previously only accessible at the Jacob's Pillow Archives. Watch historic films of Denishawn Dance Company and Ted Shawn’s Men Dancers; recent performances by top national and international dance companies working in a range of movement styles including contemporary, ballet, tap, and traditional forms; in-depth interviews with artists and experts in the dance field; and more.
Theatre In VideoTheatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, as well as more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all.
KanopyAccess only available from on campus. Kanopy offers a broad selection of streaming video content including films, documentaries and training videos with new releases launched daily. The database includes more than 26,000 films from many of the leading producers, including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, and hundreds more.
EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020.
To assist the many students, faculty, and researchers who are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic, effective today, Annual Reviews has made our journals available to all (without access control) through Thursday April 30, 2020.
This ground-breaking collection includes the complete catalog of e-books published by Harvard Business Review Press. Contains 600 e-books including 400+ monographs plus newly published e-books and seminal works.
A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
Cambridge University Press is making higher education textbooks in HTML format free to access online during the coronavirus outbreak. Over 700 textbooks, published and currently available, on Cambridge Core are available regardless of whether textbooks were previously purchased. Free access is available until the end of May 2020.
Among the publishers currently opting to make content free on Project MUSE are Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books).
Kanopy has put together a collection of (15 films, to start) that your campus can watch at no cost for the next 30 days (through April 12). PDF with links to the Films: http://bit.ly/KanopyFreeCOVID-19
Bloomsbury Digital Resources are available to institutions, free upon request, through the end of May. If you would like access to a particular collection, email library @bennington.edu and we will request access.
Cengage is offering free unlimited access to all of its online textbooks. Students will be asked to create an account and will have a 14-day free trial (renewable at the end as long as the college is remote teaching.)