One of our most significant databases, and most frequently used, ArtStor offers off-campus access with an account. To create a FREE account, you need to access the database from on-campus*. On the top right of the opening ArtStor screen is a link to "Register." Create an account and you can access from off-campus. If you have a JSTOR account, you can use those login credentials - you do not need a separate account. If you have any questions or difficulties, contact Jared Della Rocca - jdellarocca@bennington.edu.
*If you have already left campus and need access to ArtStor, contact Jared Della Rocca - jdellarocca@bennington.edu
To Find eBooks: Search the catalog using the "OneSearch" box on the library's main page. If you are off campus you will be prompted for your name and password. On the search results page you will see on the left side of the screen a heading "Source Types", if you click "show more" a box will open up. Select "eBooks" to limit the results to only show eBooks.
A Prehistory of the Cloud by
We may imagine the digital cloud as placeless, mute, ethereal, and unmediated. Yet the reality of the cloud is embodied in thousands of massive data centers, any one of which can use as much electricity as a midsized town. Even all these data centers are only one small part of the cloud. Behind that cloud-shaped icon on our screens is a whole universe of technologies and cultural norms, all working to keep us from noticing their existence. In this book, Tung-Hui Hu examines the gap between the real and the virtual in our understanding of the cloud. Hu shows that the cloud grew out of such older networks as railroad tracks, sewer lines, and television circuits. He describes key moments in the prehistory of the cloud, from the game "Spacewar" as exemplar of time-sharing computers to Cold War bunkers that were later reused as data centers. Countering the popular perception of a new "cloudlike" political power that is dispersed and immaterial, Hu argues that the cloud grafts digital technologies onto older ways of exerting power over a population
Social Relations and Social Exclusion : Rethinking Political Economy by
Examining the rational individual, this book develops a new approach to the theory of social relations. It explores how far we make sense of society on the assumption that people act as independent and free individuals, exercising rational choice. Re-examining the family, community, workplace and state, the author offers a thorough and original critique of the social policies of 'New Labour'.
Collaborative Cognition : Children Negotiating Ways of Knowing by 
International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology by 
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by 
An Oxford Companion to the Romantic Age by 
The Oxford Handbook of Political Science by 
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by 
Encyclopedia of Political Communication by 
Oxford Companion to Emotion and the Affective Sciences by 
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience by 
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy by 
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality by 
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by
The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics is the first reference work to survey the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory.
Encyclopedia of Trauma: An Interdisciplinary Guide by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought by 
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media by 
