Skip to main content

The Courtly World: Sei Shōnagon and Lady Murasaki: Research Resources

This is a research guide for Anna Maria Hong's course The Courtly World: Sei Shōnagon and Lady Murasaki (LIT2379.01)

Finding books at Crossett Library and beyond

Depending on your need, you can access our catalog in one of two different ways. If you are looking for physical items (books, DVDs, CDs, scores, etc.) accessible in either Crossett Library or Jennings Music Library, you can use the following search box. Alternatively, you can leave the box blank and click search for more search options, such as limiting your search by material type (for example, books or DVDs), by location (Crossett only, nothing from Jennings Music Library) or by language.

Search the library catalog only.

You can search more broadly, using the following search box below. This search uses Ebsco Discovery Services, and contains all the physical items in our library, as well as all journals and articles that we receive through our various databases. This is a much more broad and extensive search, and can be modified to search only full-text items, specific date ranges, languages, peer-reviewed, etc.

Search the catalog, databases, journals & articles.

To find materials in other libraries, try using Worldcat. If you find a title in Worldcat that is not held by Bennington College, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the "Request Item" button. Your book will be shipped from the lending library to Crossett Library, and you will receive an e-mail when it is ready for pickup.

If you have never used Interlibrary Loan before, you need to set up an account here.

Interlibrary Loan

You're working through the databases, searching the Internet, or using Worldcat and come across a great resource that has the perfect title and summary. You check our catalog and our other databases and unfortunately this book/article/music score/CD-ROM/8-Track is not owned by Bennington College. Don't worry, we have a plan for these cases - you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. In our databases you can click on the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button, or by filling in the article, book, or other materials request form in Interlibrary Loan. Your item will either be scanned and e-mailed to you, sent to your ILL account, or sent to our library. You will then receive an e-mail when the item is available, and you can begin your celebratory dance. If you have never used Interlibrary Loan before to request an Interlibrary Loan, you can get information and set up an account here.

Databases

You can find a list of all the databases here. The databases below might be of particular help for your research in this course.

Peer Writing Tutors

What happens during a meeting with a peer writing tutor? 

You and a peer writing tutor work together to develop writing at any stage of the draft process. The tutor will assist you to evaluate the draft's strengths and the areas for improvement, and then teach various writing concepts to encourage a more critical, thorough, and realized work. Through conversation and example, the tutor will focus on the following aspects of any assignment: clarifying your thesis, finding persuasive evidence, structuring the essay, and basic instruction in grammar and style. Ownership of the essay's ideas and rhetoric remains with you, as the tutor serves as a guide to help you understand the many available writing choices and resources.

Schedule an appointment

To sign up for an appointment with a Peer Writing Tutor, click here: Peer Writing Tutors Calendar