Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Letters to the Future: Black Women, Radical Writing by The anthology collects late-modern and contemporary work by Black women from the United States, England, Canada, and the Caribbean--work that challenges readers to participate in meaning making. Because one contextual framework for the collection is "art as a form of epistemology," the writing in the anthology is the kind of work driven by the writer's desire to radically present, uncovering what she knows and does not know, as well as critically addressing the future.
Call Number: PS508.N3 L48 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-17
The Fire This Time: A New Generation Speaks about Race by National Book Award-winner Jesmyn Ward takes James Baldwin's 1963 examination of race in America, The Fire Next Time, as a jumping off point for this groundbreaking collection of essays and poems about race from the most important voices of her generation and our time.
Call Number: E185.615 .F526 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-02
Revolutionary Mothering: Love on the Front Lines by An anthology that gives access to the voices of mothers of color and marginalized motherswomen who are in a world of necessary transformation. The challenges faced by movements working for antiviolence, anti-imperialist, and queer liberation, as well as racial, economic, reproductive, gender, and food justice are the same challenges that marginalized mothers face every day.
Call Number: HQ759 .R486 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
No Tea, No Shade: New Writings in Black Queer Studies by The follow-up to the groundbreaking Black Queer Studies, the edited collection No Tea, No Shade brings together nineteen essays from the next generation of scholars, activists, and community leaders doing work on black gender and sexuality. Building on the foundations laid by the earlier volume, this collection's contributors speak new truths about the black queer experience while exemplifying the codification of black queer studies as a rigorous and important field of study.
Call Number: E185.625 .N59 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-28
Toward an Intellectual History of Black Women by This collection of essays by fifteen scholars establishes black women's places in intellectual history by engaging the work of writers, educators, activists, religious leaders, and social reformers. Dedicated to recovering the contributions of thinkers marginalized by both their race and their gender, these essays uncover the work of unconventional intellectuals and explore the broad community of ideas in which their work participated.
Call Number: E185.89.I56 T69 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-13
Policing the Black Man: Arrest, Prosecution, and Imprisonment by A comprehensive, readable analysis of the key issues of the Black Lives Matter movement, this thought-provoking and compelling anthology features essays by some of the nation's most influential and respected criminal justice experts and legal scholars. Policing the Black Man explores and critiques the many ways the criminal justice system impacts the lives of African American boys and men at every stage of the criminal process, from arrest through sentencing.
Call Number: HV9950 P64 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-11
All the Women Are White, All the Blacks are Men, But Some of Us Are Brave: Black Women's Studies by Originally published in 1982, All the Women Are White, All the Blacks Are Men, But Some of Us Are Brave: Black Women's Studies is the first comprehensive collection of black feminist scholarship. Featuring contributions from Alice Walker and the Combahee River Collective, this book is vital to today's conversation on race and gender in America.
Call Number: E185.86 .A4 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
This Bridge Called My Back: Writings by Radical Women of Color by Originally released in 1981, This Bridge Called My Back is a testimony to women of color feminism as it emerged in the last quarter of the twentieth century. Through personal essays, criticism, interviews, testimonials, poetry, and visual art, the collection explores, as coeditor Cherríe Moraga writes, “the complex confluence of identities—race, class, gender, and sexuality—systemic to women of color oppression and liberation.”
Call Number: PS509.F44 T5
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Words of Fire: an Anthology of African-American Feminist Thought by The first major anthology to trace the development, from the early 1800s to the present, of black feminist thought in the United States, Words of Fire is Beverly Guy-Sheftall's comprehensive collection of writings, in the feminist tradition, of more than sixty African American women
Call Number: E185.86 .W927 1995
Let Nobody Turn Us Around: An African American Anthology by This anthology of black writers traces the evolution of African-American perspectives throughout American history, from the early years of slavery to the end of the 20th century. The essays, manifestos, interviews, and documents assembled here, contextualized with critical commentaries from Marable and Mullings, introduce the reader to the character and important controversies of each period of black history.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009-04-16
Thick by In these eight ... explorations on beauty, media, money, and more, Tressie McMillan Cottom--award-winning professor and ... author of Lower Ed--embraces her ... role as a purveyor of wit, wisdom, and Black Twitter snark about all that is right and much that is wrong with this thing we call society
Call Number: HM479.C68 C68 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
The Source of Self-Regard by The Source of Self-Regard is divided into three parts: the first is introduced by a powerful prayer for the dead of 9/11; the second by a searching meditation on Martin Luther King Jr., and the last by a heart-wrenching eulogy for James Baldwin.
Call Number: PS3563.O8749 A6 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us: by In an age of confusion, fear, and loss, Hanif Abdurraqib's is a voice that matters. While discussing the everyday threat to the lives of black Americans, Abdurraqib Abdurraqib uses music and culture as a lens through which to view our world, so that we might better understand ourselves, and in doing so proves himself a bellwether for out times.
Call Number: PS3623.I57748 A6 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Feel Free: Essays by A collection of both previously unpublished works and classic essays includes discussions of recent cultural and political events, social networking, libraries, and the failure to address global warming.
Call Number: PR6069.M59 A6 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-06
The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by An introvert braves the cybersex, the pitfalls of eating out alone, the difficulties of weight gain, and other hurdles faced by shy people living in a world that urges us to be cool as "J" humorously recounts her life in all its awkward glory.
Call Number: E185.97.R24 A3 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-12
Meaty: Essays by Samantha Irby's debut collection of essays about trying to laugh her way through failed relationships, taco feasts, bouts with Crohn's disease, and more.
Call Number: PN4587.2.I73 A25 2018
How We Get Free: Black Feminism and the Combahee River Collective by The Combahee River Collective, a path-breaking group of radical black feminists, was one of the most important organizations to develop out of the antiracist and women’s liberation movements of the 1960s and 70s. In this collection of essays and interviews edited by activist-scholar Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor, founding members of the organization and contemporary activists reflect on the legacy of its contributions to Black feminism and its impact on today’s struggles.
Call Number: HQ1426 .H689 2017
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Freedom Is a Constant Struggle: Ferguson, Palestine, and the Foundations of a Movement by In these newly collected essays, interviews, and speeches, world-renowned activist and scholar Angela Y. Davis illuminates the connections between struggles against state violence and oppression throughout history and around the world. Reflecting on the importance of black feminism, intersectionality, and prison abolitionism for today's struggles, Davis discusses the legacies of previous liberation struggles.
Call Number: JC571 .D33275 2016
We Wanted a Revolution: Black Radical Women, 1965-85, New Perspectives by Illustrated volume to accompany an exhibition at the Brooklyn Museum opening April 2017, including an introduction by the exhibition co-curators; three scholarly critical essays; remarks from a symposium held in conjunction with the exhibition on April 21, 2017, consisting of personal reminiscences of the theater group Rodeo Caldonia.
Call Number: HQ1421 .W4 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-05
You Can't Touch My Hair: And Other Things I Still Have to Explain by Being a black woman in America means contending with old prejudices and fresh absurdities every day. Robinson has experienced her fair share over the years: she's been relegated to the role of "the black friend," as if she is somehow the authority on all things racial; she's been called "uppity" for having an opinion in the workplace; she's been followed around stores by security guards; and yes, people do ask her whether they can touch her hair all. the. time.
Call Number: PN2287.R715 A3 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Not That Bad: Dispatches from Rape Culture by In this valuable and revealing anthology, cultural critic and bestselling author Roxane Gay collects original and previously published pieces that address what it means to live in a world where women have to measure the harassment, violence, and aggression they face, and where they are "routinely second-guessed, blown off, discredited, denigrated, besmirched, belittled, patronized, mocked, shamed, gaslit, insulted, bullied" for speaking out. Highlighting the stories of well-known actors, writers, and experts, as well as new voices being published for the first time, Not That Bad covers a wide range of topics and experiences, from an exploration of the rape epidemic embedded in the refugee crisis to first-person accounts of child molestation and street harassment. Often deeply personal and always unflinchingly honest, this provocative collection both reflects the world we live in and offers a call to arms insisting that "not that bad" must no longer be good enough.
Call Number: HD6060.3 .N68 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Bad Feminist by A collection of essays spanning politics, criticism, and feminism from one of the most-watched young cultural observers of her generation, Roxane Gay.
Call Number: HQ1421 .G39 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Love for Sale: and Other Essays by The triumph of this deeply satisfying essay collection is its presentation of a whole human being: immensely cultivated, likable because unfailingly honest, reasonable, mature, witty, and never less than eloquent. Clifford Thompson s perspective is that of a humane African-American male who is wary of any condescending sentimentality or group-rant, who loves jazz, movies, books, and the oddities of daily life.
Call Number: PS3570.H59683 A6 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
A Time for New Dreams: Poetic Essays by In 'A Time for New Dreams', Ben Okri breaks new ground in an unusual collection of linked essays, which address such diverse themes as childhood, self-censorship, the role of beauty, the importance of education and the real significance of the recent economic meltdown.
Call Number: PR9387.9.O394 T56 2011
Born to Use Mics: Reading Nas's Illmatic by In Born to Use Mics, Michael Eric Dyson and Sohail Daulatzai have brought together renowned writers and critics including Mark Anthony Neal, Marc Lamont Hill, Eddie S. Glaude, Jr., and many others to confront Illmatic song by song, with each scholar assessing an individual track from the album. The result is a brilliant engagement with and commentary upon one of the most incisive sets of songs ever laid down on wax.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009-12-29
Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches by Notes from a trip to Russia -- Poetry is not a luxury -- The transformation of silence into language and action -- Scratching the surface : some notes on barriers to women and loving -- Uses of the erotic : the erotic as power -- Sexism : an American disease in blackface -- An open letter to Mary Daly -- Man child : a black lesbian feminist's response -- An interview : Audre Lorde and Adrienne Rich -- The Master's tools will never dismantle the Master's house -- Age, race, class, and sex : women redefining difference
Call Number: PS3562.O75 S5 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Everything but the Burden: What White People are Taking from Black Culture by In a collection of essays, editor Geg Tate takes on what his mother used to call "everything but the burden," dissecting the ways in which white culture has misappropriated much of black culture, from music to dance, fashion, sports, and more.
Call Number: E185.615 .E86 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-09
From Class to Race: Essays in White Marxism and Black Radicalism by In From Class to Race, Charles Mills maps the theoretical route that brought him to the innovative conceptual framework outlined in his academic bestseller The Racial Contract (1997). Mills argues for a new critical theory that develops the insights of the black radical political tradition.
Call Number: HX73 .M533 2003
Publication Date: 2003-11-11
We Are the Ones We Have Been Waiting For: Inner Lights in a Time of Darkness: Mediations by A book of spiritual ruminations with a progressive political edge, from the Pulitzer Prize-winner who has devoted her life to befriending the earth. Walker has long been a force for sanity in a chaotic world. Here she draws on her deep spiritual grounding, her political conviction and experience, and her literary gifts to offer a series of meditations filled with wisdom, hope, encouragement, and, at times, serenity to a world in need of all these things.
Call Number: PS3573.A425 W43 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Beyond Katrina: a Meditation on the Mississippi Gulf Coast by eaving her own memories with the experiences of family, friends, and neighbors, Trethewey traces the erosion of local culture and the rising economic dependence on tourism and casinos. She chronicles decades of wetland development that exacerbated the destruction and portrays a Gulf Coast whose citizens--particularly African Americans--were on the margins of American life well before the storm hit.
Call Number: PS3570.R433 B49 2010
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Some of Us Did Not Die: New and Selected Essays by Essayist June Jordan presents this collection that follows the more than 40-year span of her writing career, which includes political essays about the incomplete legacy of the civil rights movement as well as more personal essays about her experience as a single mother, and also as a black feminist bisexual.
Call Number: E839.4 .J67 2002