Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The African American Atlas: Black History and Culture--an Illustrated Reference by This Atlas chronicles important periods in African-American history that have shaped the outlook, lives, and hopes of African Americans today. From the origins in Africa to the transatlantic journey, from slavery to the Civil Rights Movement, this work presents a visual account of African-American culture and history.
Call Number: E185 .A79 1998
Encyclopedia of African American Society by This two-volume reference seeks to capture the ways in which the tenets and foundations of African American culture have given rise to today's society. Approaching the field from a'street level'perspective, these two volumes cover topics of universal interest in America: rap music, sports, television, cinema, racism, religion, literature, and much more.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Black Women in America: a Historical Encyclopedia by This is a comprehensive guide to the lives of 641 individual black women, most of whom are significant on a national level. There are also entries to more than 150 general topics and organizations involving Black women.
Call Number: E185.86 .B542 1993
The Columbia Guide to African American History Since 1939 by This book is a multifaceted approach to understanding the central developments in African American history since 1939. It combines a historical overview of key personalities and movements with essays by leading scholars on specific facets of the African American experience, a chronology of events, and a guide to further study.Marian Anderson's famous 1939 concert in front of the Lincoln Memorial was a watershed moment in the struggle for racial justice.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006-06-27
Databases and Online Resources
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
This online resource showcases a diverse range of primary source material focusing on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas. A vital resource for students, teachers and researchers of African American and American studies.
African American Newspapers 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Ancestry Library This link opens in a new window
Access only available from on campus. Ancestry Library Edition delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, as well as immigration records, family histories, military records, legal documents, and more. An intuitive search interface returns data from more than 7,000 databases. Coverage is most extensive for the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.
Journal of African-American History
The Journal of African American History (JAAH), formerly The Journal of Negro History, was founded by Dr. Carter G. Woodson in January 1916. Since that time the JAAH has become the leading scholarly publication on African American life and history. Now in its second century, the JAAH publishes original scholarly articles on all aspects of the African American experience.
Journal of Black Studies
Journal of Black Studies (JBS), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, for the last third of a century has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience. Poised to remain at the forefront of the recent explosive growth in quality scholarship in the field of Black studies, JBS offers important and intellectually provocative articles exploring key issues facing African Americans.