Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Poets active in the 20th Century who are still living are listed under Poetry, Contemporary.
Vice by From Cruelty (1973) -- From Killing floor (1979) -- From Sin (1986) -- From Fate (1991) -- From Greed (1993) -- New poems.
Call Number: PS 3551 .I2 V53 1999
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
Amiri Baraka / LeRoi Jones, 1934-2014
Maya Angelou, 1928-2014
Phenomenal Woman: Four Poems Celebrating Women by Here, four of Angelou's most highly acclaimed poems are assembled in a beautiful edition that provides a feast for the eyes as well as the heart.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 P48 1994
Publication Date: 1995-01-17
Jill Witherspoon Boyer, 1947-
Gwendolyn Brooks, 1917-2000
Selected Poems by Contains a selection of poems from three earlier books: "A Street in Bronzeville," "Annie Allen," and "The Bean Eaters" as well as some new selections.
Call Number: PS 3503 .R7244 A6 1963
Publication Date: 1982-07-01
Sterling A. Brown, 1901-1989
The Collected Poems of Sterling A. Brown by Sterling Brown was instrumental in bringing the traditions of African-American folk life to readers all over the world. This is the definitive collection of Brown's poems.
Call Number: PS3503.R833 A17 1989
Publication Date: 1990-04-01
Lucille Clifton, 1936-2010
The Collected Poems of Lucille Clifton 1965-2010 by The Collected Poems of Lucille Clifton 1965-2010 combines all eleven of Lucille Clifton's published collections with more than sixty previously unpublished poems. The unpublished works feature early poems from 1965-1969, a collection-in-progress titled Book of Days (2008), and a poignant selection of final poems.
Call Number: PS3553 .L45 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
Countee Cullen, 1903-1946
Countee Cullen by A major and sometimes controversial figure of the Harlem Renaissance, Countee Cullen fused a mastery of the formal lyric with a passionate engagement with themes social, religious, racial, and personal in such books as Color, Copper Sun, and The Black Christ.
Call Number: PS3505.U287 A6 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-21
Aimé Césaire, 1913-2008
Collected Poetry of Aimé Césaire by The surrealist poetry of the noted Martinican author, Aime Cesaire, portrays Africa's fight for freedom from colonialism.
Call Number: PQ3949.C44 A24 1983
Publication Date: 1983-10-03
Paul Laurence Dunbar, 1872-1906
Alice Dunbar-Nelson, 1875-1935
Robert Hayden, 1913-1980
Selected Poems by Hayden’s formal, elegant poems about the Black history and experience earned him a number of other major awards as well. Hayden eventually became the first African American to be appointed as Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress
Call Number: PS3515 .A9363 A6 1966
Publication Date: 1982-01-01
Langston Hughes, 1902-1967
Selected Poems of Langston Hughes by The poems in this collection were chosen by Hughes himself shortly before his death in 1967 and represent work from his entire career, including "The Negro Speaks of Rivers," "The Weary Blues," "Still Here," "Song for a Dark Girl," "Montage of a Dream Deferred," and "Refugee in America." It gives us a poet of extraordinary range, directness, and stylistic virtuosity.
Call Number: PS3515.U274 A6 1990
Publication Date: 1990-09-12
Safiya Henderson-Holmes, 1950-2001
Madness and a Bit of Hope by Poems deal with homelessness, city life, family, women's issues, and the African-American experience
Call Number: PS3558.E495 M3 1990
Publication Date: 1991-02-01
Bobweaving Detroit: The Selected Poems of Murray Jackson by Jackson first published with Broadside Press, Detroit's and the nation's longest continuously publishing Black poetry press, after a long career of public service during which he opened Detroit's first community college and other educational and artistic venues.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
When I Know the Power of My Black Hand by Jeffers might accurately be described as a black nationalist without a movement. While he spanned the decades identified with the Black Aesthetic and writers of the 1960s, he was not included in the circles of those most associated with those militant times. Yet Jeffers's political stances as a poet are culturally nationalistic and informed by a consistent appreciation of the beauty and possibilities in black people.
Call Number: PS 3560 .E37 W4 1974
James Weldon Johnson, 1871-1938
June Jordan, 1936-2002
Directed by Desire: the Collected Poems of June Jordan by Directed by Desire: The Collected Poems of June Jordan gathers the work from Jordan's ten books of poetry and includes many never-before-published poems - including a tender, fierce, and innovative collection of poems written before her death, in 2002, from breast cancer
Call Number: PS3560.O73 A17 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
Etheridge Knight, 1931-1991
The Essential Etheridge Knight by Winner of the 1987 American Book Award The Essential Etheridge Knight is a selection of the best work by one of the country's most prominent and liveliest poets. It brings together poems from Knight's previously published books and a section of new poems.
Call Number: PS 3561 .N45 A6 1986
Publication Date: 1986-12-05
Audre Lorde, 1934-1992
The Collected Poems of Audre Lorde by Collected here for the first time are more than three hundred poems from one of this country's major and most influential poets, representing the complete oeuvre of Audre Lorde's poetry. Lorde published nine volumes of poetry which, in her words, detail "a linguistic and emotional tour through the conflicts, fears, and hopes of the world I have inhabited." Included here are Lorde's early, previously unavailable works.
Call Number: PS3562.O75 A17 1997
Haki R. Madhubuti / Don L. Lee
Claude McKay, 1889-1948
The Passion of Claude McKay: Selected Poetry and Prose, 1912-1948 by The Radical Estrangement, 1912-1925 -- Early Articles, 1918-1922 -- The Russian Experience, 1922-1923 -- Selected Poems, 1912-1925 -- The Expatriate Years, 1923-1934 -- An Article and Letters, 1925-1932 -- Experiments in Fiction, 1928-1941 -- Looking Forward: The Final Search for Community, 1934-1948 -- Letters and Essays, 1934-1948 -- The Move to Catholicism, 1944-1948.
Call Number: PS 3525 .A24785 A6 1973
Samuel Edward Krune Mqhayi, 1875-1945
Iziganeko Zesizwe : Occasional Poems (1900-1943) by Samuel Edward Krune Mqhayi (1875-1945) was the most prominent South African imbongi of his day, a Xhosa oral poet who declaimed his impromptu poetry on occasions of significance to his people. The author of numerous works of poetry, fiction and non-fiction, biography, autobiography, and translation, Mqhayi's contributions to Xhosa-language newspapers remains unparalleled in scope and volume. This book reclaims and assembles a chronological sequence of Mqhayi's occasional poems, for the most part now unknown.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Gabriel Okara: Collected Poems by The first Modernist poet of anglophone Africa, he is best known for The Fisherman's Invocation (1978), The Dreamer, His Vision (2005), and for his early experimental novel, The Voice (1964). Arranged in six sections, Gabriel Okara: Collected Poems includes the poet's earliest lyric verse along with poems written in response to Nigeria's war years; literary tributes and elegies to fellow poets, activists, and loved ones long dead; and recent dramatic and narrative poems.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
G.E. Patterson, 1939-2007
Call Number: PS3566.A819 T84 1999
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
Ntozake Shange, 1948-2018
Reginald Shepherd, '88, 1963-2008
Some Are Drowning by Winner of the 1993 Associated Writing Programs' Award Series in Poetry, selected by Carolyn Forche.
Call Number: PS3569.H3967 S66 1994
Publication Date: 1995-01-06
Melvin B. Tolson, 1898-1966
Harlem Gallery by The poet Melvin B. Tolson (1898-1966) was once recognized as one of black America's most important modernist voices. Playful, fluent, and intellectually sophisticated, his poems stirred up significant praise, and some lively criticism, during his lifetime.
Call Number: PS 3539 .O334 H3
Publication Date: 1965
Jean Toomer, 1894-1967
The Wayward and the Seeking: a Collection of Writings by Jean Toomer by Autobiographical selections / Reflections of an earth-being / The early days / The maturing years / The years of wandering / The cane years / The Gurdjieff experience / Fiction / Withered skin of berries / Winter on earth / Mr. Costyve Duditch / Poetry / And pass / White arrow / Angelic eve / Honey of being / Sing yes / At sea / The lost dancer / Men / Peers / Mended / One within / The blue meridian / Drama / Natalie Mann / The sacred factory / Aphorisms and maxims.
Call Number: PS3539.O478 W3 1980
Publication Date: 1980-04-01